We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We arranged the reunion of our school function at the hotel on the 14th October - a dinner for approximately 23 people. The meal - a 3 course dinner was a big disappointment.At a rate of R180 pp one would have thought that according to the menu it was going to be good. What a disappointment. The starter was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ezettem
EGICAR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Ezettem, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Protea Hotel Worcester Cumberland. We normally pride ourselves on delivering a memorable experience to our guests however it is quite clear that we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal on this night. Please accept our sincere apologies for the problems you experienced during your reunion...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We went through from Cape Town to Worcester for a wedding on Sunday the 2nd of October 2016. We had breakfast at Cumberland Hotel and it was excellent. When you open the door to the Hotel the staff is friendly and very accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nstoltz
EGICAR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear N Stoltz, Thank you for sharing your experience at our Gallery Restaurant. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued customer, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Thank you to the staff of Protea Cumberland, Worcester. The service received was of a high level, spent the week in Worcester for work and all my requirements were attended to at all times. The room was comfortable and well maintained. I can't fault the hotel in any area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djbonez11
EGICAR, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

THANK YOU 1 Dear Dj Bonez11, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Worcester Cumberland through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, your feedback will be shared with the team...

Reviewed 29 July 2016

Really enjoyed my time here in worcester! Staff is really great and love the new gym! Special thanks to reception team and manager you guys rock! Will definitely see you guys again, next time will be with the family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric v
EGICAR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Eriv V, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Worcester Cumberland through Trip Advisor. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to...

Reviewed 12 July 2016

Awesome staff, Awesome food, Awesome room, and Awesome facilities!!! Thank you Cumberland you guys made our weekend very special will definitely see you again soon! Will definitely recommend this hotel to all friends and family!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terence B
EGICAR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Terence B, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Worcester Cumberland. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Never thought id enjoy rustic, but it was amazing... The hospitality was top class, we really felt like the only guest in a fully booked hotel. The room was on the smallish side (which really means intimate).... Crisp clean sheets that felt like Egyptian cotton. Hotel's location is literally 5 feet away from the city centre so it is ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette M
EGICAR, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Nicolette, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Worcester Cumberland. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to...

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 1 May 2016

I need to disclose that I have platinum loyalty card for this chain. This means that when I book, I qualify for discounts. In this case a pay for a day and get a day free offer. We arrived and checked in during Friday. The hotel has not lifts and so stairs are the way to go, in our case...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nico K
EGICAR, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Good Morning Mr and Mrs N Kleinhans Herewith I wish to thank you for your comments regarding deviation of standards. We apologize most sincerely, and we appreciated very much you spending your valuable time to inform us of your unhappiness. It is GUESTS like yourself that makes the PH Cumberland a great Hotel due to the fact that we always...

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 20 April 2016

centrally situated in Worcester, the hotel has nice comfortable rooms which appear nice and clean, however carpets weren't vacuumed properly as I kept getting little thorns and grape stalks in my feet, by the end of night one i had binned them all. The window netting in my room was torn. Secure parking for a fee. nice lounge and pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
EGICAR, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. It is very much appreciated in bringing the deviation of standards that you have experience to my attention. It is GUESTs like yourselves that make the PH Cumberland great.

Struisbaai, South Africa
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Stay here with my wife and my son and had a blast. When we checked in we received a very warm and friendly welcome from the ladies at reception. They offered my boy some sweeties and had a colouring book at reception and really appreciating the extra mile! There is also a very nice swimming pool, very nice gym, squash...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
EGICAR, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for your positive comments it is highly appreciated.

South Riding, Virginia
Reviewed 7 April 2016

First this hotel is laid out very strangely. You get 1 room key - regardless of how many people are staying in the room. When we asked for another key, we were charged for it. The rooms are ok but very dated. The doors to the hotel rooms are very old, hollow doors and with one good kick would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TKrobath
EGICAR, Owner at Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thanks for your comments but we wish to inform you that we follow strict instructions from the Tour Guide regarding the BBQ, I have personally checked your comments and I am satisfied that our staff performed all duties in a very dignified manner.

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
38.0 km away
Cascade Manor
Cascade Manor
#3 of 14 in Paarl
147 reviews
0.0 km away
Aan De Doorns Guest House
Aan De Doorns Guest House
#1 of 17 in Worcester
115 reviews
2.7 km away
19th Hole Golf Villa
19th Hole Golf Villa
#2 of 17 in Worcester
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
Leipzig Country House
Leipzig Country House
#3 of 17 in Worcester
63 reviews
1.7 km away
Uitvlugt Guest House
Uitvlugt Guest House
#12 of 17 in Worcester
3 reviews
2.9 km away
Rendez-vous De Golf
Rendez-vous De Golf
#4 of 17 in Worcester
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Cumberland - Experience the best hospitality in the Boland. The Protea Hotel Cumberland is located in the charming Boland town of Worcester, the heart of the Breede River Valley. Accommodation ranges from standard to deluxe, all fully air-conditioned, or you could spoil yourself and enjoy the luxury of the Presidential Suite. Wining and dining at the hotel is traditional, homestyle and elegant. We offer a variety of leisure facilities at the hotel, with a fully-equipped gym, pool, spa, sauna and steam bath, tennis court and a glass-backed squash court. Venture out of the hotel and explore the Kleinplasie Open Air Museum, Karoo National Botanical Gardens or the Worcester Winelands Wine Tasting Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland

Address: 2 Srockenstroom Street | City Centre, Worcester 6850, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Worcester
Price Range: $89 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Worcester Cumberland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only had dinner there - so did not see the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ezettem, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get room with patio”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“perhaps something over looking the courtyard...”
 of 5 bubbles 32nicolettem, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“ask for rooms which do not involve walking two flights of steps.”
 of 5 bubbles nicok410, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Book a family room.”
 of 5 bubbles davepS2324VQ, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay