We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Townhouse Hotel \/ Hostel Manila
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila
See the most recent reviews
Showing 101: English reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here as a couple for one night. If you need a place to stay close to airport it's cheap. Yellow metered taxi costs 140p from airport each way. They had WiFi only downstairs it broke up a little but when it worked it worked well. Nice little kitchen they had where they cooked breakfast (not included). However it was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank petejack84
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

Thanks so much "petejack84" for taking time to wite a review and give us advice from your experience Nov 2 only 4 days ago. Yes you are correct we have 5 person construction crew busy doing stage 4 of our renovation. Today we took out 21 of our jealousy windows where insects very common in tropical climates especially during rainy...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 17 October 2015

basic rooms no frills you get what you pay for , great restaurant reasonable prices friendly staff , close to airport and transport links around manila the cook elena is very cheerful all the time :) simple hostel/hotel for transiting through manila for a few day .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matt a
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

Thanks "matt a" for your short and well put review; maybe 80% of our guests since 1986 only stay 1 or 2 nights before taking off to explore the beaches in the south or mountains in the north of the Philippines islands and then come back once or twice before leaving the Philippines. We are presently in the middle of...

Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

I am malaysian..I stayed townhouse many times..i feel safe cos people i met here just like my family..staff are friendly..my room is fine..the food is good here..and cheap..i will always come bck here..esp..very close to airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glema
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

Thanks "Malaysian" for your short and to the point review, the 3 rules of real estate,Our Townhosue Hotel / Hostel Manila's location location location is perfect for most budget travelers especially those who plan to travel 3 weeks to 6 weeks in the Philippines and need a safe, clean place to stay in Metro-Manila with 12+ million and growing population...

Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Travelers can be cruel on the reviews and it can hurt a business. But as you know as well as I, some people you can not please. They want luxury and catering service at a hostel for free. I was there twice and was treated very nice. I am returning for a month's stay last of October. My rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PhilsJourney
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

Thanks Philly for your detailed review. Our staff often do not close our rooms with problems as instructed so we suffer many hateful, negative reviews and shows the closest nearest rooms which should have been closed. Such is life of small business owners; we share ourselves, experiences, travel and lifestyle tips, positive energy and common sense wisdom with 3000 to...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Dirty place and we had booked two dorm beds but when we arrived the dorm was being renovated. This meant we got to share a private single bed.. Awful night. No discount or anything. There was even a playboy cover from 1998 hidden in the room. WHEN WAS THIS PLACE LAST CLEANED???? hahaha 😔 dos not enjoy. Also airport transfer...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Benddc
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

We have started the 3rd stage of our renovation in our main building. Down the street in Unit 11 where the dorm is will be demolished next year and we should be able to finish a new 5 floor building with 2 new 4th floor well ventilated 8 bed dorm rooms with private bath with common kitchen and roof garden...

Rome, Italy
Reviewed 23 May 2015

I stayed there for a period due to personal problem. Often loud music with Karaoke until late night ( 1 am). Noises of other customers and staff during the night and early in the am (5:30 am). Very dirty and old rooms, unprofessional staff. Full of old expats with young filipina girl. I runned away and I found a better...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank yomi K
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

All through the year we have parties and though my wife and I are not fans of Karaoke either we encourage the celebration of birthdays among our Filipino staff and guests. If you had requested our check-in counter staff to lower the volume making it easier for you to sleep and deal with your personal problems they would have lowered...

Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

Bed bugs in room. No 24 hour reception. Walls with holes in, so very dirty, unhelpful staff, rip off airport service. Do not stay here! You get what you pay for!! I am backpacking around South East Asia and this is the worst place I've stayed in and from now on will be sacrificing some of my food budget and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Chris199519
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

I am guessing you stayed in our $4+ dormitory; we have 38 private rooms with 5 rates from $8+ to $22+ / night / 1 or 2 persons. We encourage our staff to close any room with problems. If you haven't experienced insects in tropical S.E. Asia you have been extremely lucky. Manila has among the worst air pollution in...

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2015

Stayed in dorm room on first night which was dark and dingy, couldnt sleep at all to eventually realise i was covered in bed bugs and bites. In the morning we found the bugs all in our bags and a cockroach fell out of my hanging towel... Moved to a new private room on request which was not much better...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jules P
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

We are nearly finished with our third phase of renovation and will have a lechon ( traditional Philippine roasted pig ) party for guests and staff to celebrate the opening of our new 4th floor roof garden with panoramic view of Manila Bay,, The City of Dreams Casino complex, the 15,000 sqm neighboring ancestral property with dozens of coconut palm...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2015

I have stayed at this hostel several times on my various trips to the Philippines. It is a hostel as opposed to a hotel and it serves its purpose well being conveniently close to the Airport and Mall of Asia. At the current time there is obviously building work going on, which will be to the good. On this occasion...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PS1472
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review; Please remind me the next time you stay with us so I can treat you to free drinks and airport service.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 28 March 2015

I was recommended this place by a friend who lives in Palawan cause I needed somewhere close to the airport at a cheap price but while I wasn't expecting much, it was still quite a disappointment, I wouldn't go as far as nightmare or hell on earth, but it is certainly not a cheerful place. While the room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 25Marc56
AsiaBill, Owner at Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but there are more than a dozen "beer houses" located just a 15 minute minute / 1/2 mile away on Airport Road between Quirino and Roxas Blvd. Most budget travelers( especially those living in rural areas in their own countries of origin ) and foreign expat residents living all over the provinces in the Philippines...

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (105)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (61)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paranaque
0.8 km away
DG Budget Hotel Salem
DG Budget Hotel Salem
#13 of 31 in Pasay
189 reviews
0.4 km away
Go Hotels Manila Airport Road
2.1 km away
Stone House Hotel Pasay
Stone House Hotel Pasay
#25 of 31 in Pasay
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Red Planet Aseana City, Manila
0.5 km away
Nichols Airport Hotel
Nichols Airport Hotel
#11 of 16 in Paranaque
316 reviews
2.1 km away
Kabayan Hotel Pasay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our Townhouse was opened as a hobby, after we'd traveled, worked and were lucky with business in Asia, Europe, and the U.S.A. for almost ten years. We'd stayed in bamboo, beach huts, Asian guesthouses, Spanish pensionnes, American and European campgrounds, hostels, Korean yeogwans and Japanese ryokans on shoestring budgets. We hooked up 'on the road' while traveling in Hong Kong, Korea and Japan in Dec 83, got married 2 years later in 85, decided to have a baby and knowing we'd miss the energy, excitement and adventure of world travel opened the door of our 3 bedroom 2 bath townhouse for travelers as a hobby in 86 which has grown and evolved to the present 35 private rooms with 8 rates from P300 to P950 and 4 bed dormitory. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila

Address: 31 Bayview Drive | Villa Caroline Townhouse, Paranaque, Luzon 1700, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Paranaque
Price Range: $14 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Manila
Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila Metro Manila/Paranaque, Philippines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Townhouse Hotel / Hostel Manila staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can remember but aircon room I always choose as I am not well in the heat”
 of 5 bubbles J0selynC, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bedbug free room if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles KarolaRS, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
“if you want good room pay the extra get aircon , if not stay simple , if only 1 nite stay in dorm cheap and cheerful”
 of 5 bubbles matta460, 16 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The single rooms on the third floor are the best, Compact, Cosy and Comfortable and at a price you cant beat anywhere else in Manila ... unless you want to stay in Squatland :-D”
 of 5 bubbles petersU6057WS, 27 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Air con is useful in the hot season”
 of 5 bubbles PS1472, 12 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5