We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Art Factory Hostel

3.3 km from Buenos Aires centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Piedras 545 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

654 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Art Factory Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 291: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a private room, very clean, good size and very confortable. Only problem with it was the window on top of the door (which cannot be closed), because early in the morning our room would be very bright. Breakfast was good, with option of scrambled eggs, dulce de leche, beverages. I was a bit disapointed with the receptionits,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucasCoelho_Brasil
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had double room with own shower. It was looking very good. Staff was very helpful and friendly. They give you good tips and they know a lot. Andddd... they speak very good english. We had a lot of stays in Argetinia, so that was unique. Also I was happy with the breakfast. Fresh bread out of the oven with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nathalie7219782017
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly and helpful reception. Excellent Vibe. Clean beds. Great location. Nice rooftop with affordable drinks price. I enjoyed my stay very much. Highly recommended for backpackers and solo travelers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed B
Pucon, Chile
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly, helpful staff, great location, good accomodations, I was quite happy to have chosen Art Factory as my first hostel on my Argentinean trip. Their open rooftop bar and sitting area is lovely, and the artwork throughout the entire hostel gives it the feel of San Francisco in the 1960's hippy days. Very fun, creative and coloful. I would stay...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank saywarda
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love the idea of Art Factory! Location of the hostel in San Telmo is very comfortable. It s easy to reach everywhere.The guys in reception are professional and they have answer to any question you have. They speak english and are very helpful. They have maps and different events to introduse local highlights for every day. The hostel is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ele K
Busto Arsizio, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived in Baires just after NYE,everbuyone was asleep but the guys at Art Factory welcomed me in tu best way ever and help me with suggestions to use at best my limited time in the city (walking Tours high reccomended). The rooms (4 girls) are spacious enough, while baths are not the best you can find. Shared spaces are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlotta M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

With its incredible location in one of the most beautiful place of Bs As, San Telmo, the hostal is a wonderful old house nicely painted and accommodated for backpackers. Plenty of diverse activities, for everu day and every budget. The must is the staff, very welcoming and friendly, always willing to help you with their lovely latin spirit (special thx...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu B
Juan P, Gerente at Art Factory Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks Mathieu!!!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in a private double room. Overall we had a good stay with a good price and a central location. Most of the staff were ok (answering questions) but I wouldn't say any of them were particularly forthcoming with energy/ enthusiasm/ information. Bruno was actually quite rude to us when we arrived and gave us incorrect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _kruti_thakrar
Juan P, Gerente at Art Factory Hostel, responded to this review

Hi guys! thank you for the review. We are very surprised because Bruno used to be a great host for travellers! Always in a good mood and helping guests with any requirement. Anyways, he quit the job last week to continue with his studies so maybe he was not in his best days the last time. We are glad that...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

In general great hostel: good location, fair price and friendly staff that helped a lot. However once you spend some time within the hostel, you have to face several problems and issues due to the age of this place. The internet is barely working and extremely slow, the aircon fails from time to time, the beds are a joke, even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James_Supertramp_Th
Juan P, Gerente at Art Factory Hostel, responded to this review

Hello James, thanks for the review. We constantly work in making this a better place for guests. It's funny what you said about internet and hot water because these are 2 things most travelers always put on the good side. In fact, we have signs in showers saying "careful with the hot water". Besides, it's summer here and the weather...

Napa, California
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I stayed in the female dorm one night and a private room one night. The dorm was an alright deal, but the bathrooms were not particularly clean. The private room, however, I booked in person at the desk, and they charged me an exorbitant rate (I know pricing in Buenos Aires and it was ridiculous). I only paid it because...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren H
Juan P, Gerente at Art Factory Hostel, responded to this review

Well Lauren, this is clearly a bisaed opinion/review. Fortunately, you ended the review admitting it: "All that is my fault, I know". But it's a shame that you put us 2 stars, really unfair. In our defense, I would like to say: - the rate was high because it was NYE weekend and all the city was in the same...

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#62 of 449 in Buenos Aires
1,282 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#3 of 480 in Buenos Aires
627 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 480 in Buenos Aires
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
#5 of 480 in Buenos Aires
728 reviews
Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
#13 of 480 in Buenos Aires
290 reviews
San Nicolas
Hostel Suites Florida
Hostel Suites Florida
#8 of 480 in Buenos Aires
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Montserrat

Neighbourhood Profile
Montserrat
As part of the historic quarter of Buenos Aires, Montserrat is defined by the historical events that took place there and the landmarks that have stood the test of time. The Plaza de Mayo is at the center of this connection to history: countless public demonstrations have passed through this square, going back to the May Revolution of 1810. Walking the streets of Montserrat allows us to imagine what Buenos Aires may have looked like in the past: the Cabildo takes us back to the late 16th century, while the Palacio Barolo and the traditional cafés carry us to the early 20th. Nowadays, the neighbourhood is inundated every day by office workers, buses, and taxis; still, the cobblestones, narrow sidewalks, and subway stations from the 1910s remind us that we are surrounded by history everywhere we look.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Art Factory is a lively, affordable, fun and diverse hostel in the heart of the historic San Telmo neighborhood in Buenos Aires, Argentina.We want to make you feel happy and enjoy one of the best kept secrets in the world: Buenos Aires!Our TOP FIVE features voted by our guests: 1) The staff!2) A huge and colorful old mansion with an elegant touch3) The best terrace in San Telmo4) The funkiest bar with friendly prices and daily events5) There’s art everywhere! Even in the kitchen and bathrooms!You can choose between private rooms with private or shared bathrooms and dorm rooms with 4, 6 or 8 beds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Art Factory Hostel

Address: Piedras 545 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat
Price Range: $16 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Factory Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Art Factory Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Factory Hotel Buenos Aires
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Art Factory Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Art Factory Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good for making new friends!”
 of 5 bubbles BeccaRickard, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our private room was perfect. ”
 of 5 bubbles janthequeen, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All fine, cages in room for security, day sack size, bring padlock. ”
 of 5 bubbles actionmanhq, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in a four-bed dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles saywarda, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The one with the little terrace!”
 of 5 bubbles AngelinaJhones31, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5