We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Milhouse Hostel Hipo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

728 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 295: English reviews
Start your review of Milhouse Hostel Hipo
 Click to rate
Silkeborg, Denmark
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hostel was so much fun and very nice to stay at. I am travelling with a group of 12, and the Milhouse Hostel Hipo was the perfect place to meet other backpackers like ourselves . There are lots of activities every day, young people and good vibes. The rooms are nice and super clean, and the staff is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank albertedam
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want a party hostel where you can make friends, stay at Milhouse. They have parties every night, and because they pair up with the other Milhouse hostel, there are always plenty of people. Don't worry, you can't hear the noise from your room if you do want to sleep. The staff are friendly. There's a large variety of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kakarotGringo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had an extremely horrible experience with this hostel. I came a day late for my booking due to some mishaps and explained my situation to the staffs during check in and I was assured that I'll be only paying for 4nights and not 5. I've cross check with the staffs every single day during my stay on my check out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 279gracies
Milhouse H, Gerente at Milhouse Hostel Hipo, responded to this review

As we explained to you in private (and I'm sorry that you are still not satisfied with the answer), if you were not aware that you would be charged for 1 night penalty in case of non show (and without contacting the hostel at all), it means that you did not read the conditions of Hostelworld, the channel YOU chose...

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Great hostel with well organised tours and events to help socialise with other guests. Staff helpful and welcoming. Works with the other milhouse hostel for events which is just down the road. For such a large hostel it is keep quiet clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane H
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Out of all the hostels in South America I've stayed in, this was by far the worst. First of all, don't waste your time with La Boca tour provided by the hostel. It was TERRIBLE. We got taken to the one tourist strip of shops and then to a restaurant where we were specifically given a more expensive menu than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al D
Milhouse H, Gerente at Milhouse Hostel Hipo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate the time you took to write a review of our hostel, specially to gives us your honest opinion. We are always looking forward to improve both our hostels and to make guests have an amazing experience with us. If I may, I would like to answer you as well to all your complains. But first of...

Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Comfortable beds, wifi in rooms, great shower. Slept in a 6 bed female dorm which was spacious and lovely. A nice breakfast was included and the hostel is offering many activities tours and parties. Friendly staff:)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank מאיה ש
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Great hostel in good location, the tour opportunities they provide are fantastic. We did the la Boca walking tour with Juliana and she was fabulous, very knowledgeable and funny. Great overall atmosphere but rooms are a bit basic and can can get very hot. Would recommended to other travelers, great place to meet other people :) xo

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeganOconnor
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Milhouse after hearing a lot about it, the hostel is what people described with a different party either at the hostel or at their brother hostel Avenue down the road. The hostel offers a variety of tours, from walking tours, to trips to the tango or to watch football games. I did a tour to the area of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LaurenFisher77
Shanghai, China
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

We unfortunately arrived late at the hostel tonight after our bus from Iguazu was delayed by several hours. Our friends were staying at the hostel & we had read the amazing reviews so this was top of our list of places to stay. My girlfriend needed food after the long journey she so went to a restaurant nearby while I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lesstewart82
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 4 nights and the staff are fantastic and incredibly helpful! They organise and run loads of tours from the hostel. We did the walking tour with Macarena as our guide and she was great! She is a local from BA and is able to really teach you a lot of things about Argentina's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linley S

401 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
2:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Dorm (8 Beds) (33)
Viewed
Double Suite (28)
Viewed
Four Person Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)
Viewed
Twin Suite (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#63 of 449 in Buenos Aires
1,279 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#48 of 449 in Buenos Aires
396 reviews
Montserrat
Tango de Mayo Hotel
Tango de Mayo Hotel
#24 of 449 in Buenos Aires
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 481 in Buenos Aires
845 reviews
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#3 of 481 in Buenos Aires
626 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 481 in Buenos Aires
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Montserrat

Neighbourhood Profile
Montserrat
As part of the historic quarter of Buenos Aires, Montserrat is defined by the historical events that took place there and the landmarks that have stood the test of time. The Plaza de Mayo is at the center of this connection to history: countless public demonstrations have passed through this square, going back to the May Revolution of 1810. Walking the streets of Montserrat allows us to imagine what Buenos Aires may have looked like in the past: the Cabildo takes us back to the late 16th century, while the Palacio Barolo and the traditional cafés carry us to the early 20th. Nowadays, the neighbourhood is inundated every day by office workers, buses, and taxis; still, the cobblestones, narrow sidewalks, and subway stations from the 1910s remind us that we are surrounded by history everywhere we look.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Milhouse Hostel Hipo is housed in a stunning 19th-century colonial-style property that offers clean and spacious dorms as well as beautiful ensuite private rooms. The hostel caters for the solo traveler, group of friends and young couples who look for a lively and fun hostel and yet with great and well decorated facilities. The hostel has a charming atrium with a courtyard, perfect for socializing and relaxing outside with friends. Other facilities include a chill-out terrace, a popular bar area, free internet and Wi-Fi, a TV, a big screen for major world sport events, a pool table, laundry service, in-house travel agency and a luggage room. The friendly and helpful staff want to help make your visit to BA an unforgettable experience, whether that be learning to strut your stuff to the tango, experiencing the electric atmosphere of a football match, consuming copious amounts of delicious steak and red wine from the wide range of parrillas, obtaining tickets to some of the hottest, most exclusive nightclubs the city has to offer or simply getting to know the city with our fabulous walking/biking tours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Hipo

Address: Hipolito Irigoyen 959, Buenos Aires 1086AA0, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Price Range: $20 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Milhouse Hostel Hipo 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Milhouse Hostel Hipo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milhouse Hotel Buenos Aires
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Milhouse Hostel Hipo staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Milhouse Hostel Hipo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't come here on a weekend if you like to sleep at one point”
 of 5 bubbles durbs2015, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The room "Maradona" (1st floor) is next to a storage room. Wifi was poor insight the room + sometimes loud when they use the storage room.”
 of 5 bubbles OnkelSimon, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Hipo is better than Avenue”
 of 5 bubbles M9382YEdanielp, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Party hostel”
 of 5 bubbles 554paulineeeee, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If you want a quite room I reccomand the 4 bed dorm”
 of 5 bubbles MaxPower1988, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5