We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Milhouse Hostel Hipo

Hostelworld.comUS$29*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$51*
US$29*
Great Deal
US$51*
US$43*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Milhouse Hostel Hipo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

741 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 301: English reviews
Start your review of Milhouse Hostel Hipo
 Click to rate
Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our stay at hipo hostel was very cool. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They organise a lot of activities for you , for example visiting futbol games of the big teams in BA, walking tours etc. There are a lot of young people in the hostel making party so sometimes it can be loud. But its a hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanspeter123333
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's everything you expect from a party hostel. Wild parties, easy to meet people and plenty of booze. Staff was friendly and the facilities were acceptable. Lockers in the rooms were big enough to put your bag which was nice. Bathrooms were okay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyD_899999999
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent private rooms , very clean and comfortable - better than usual in this price range for BA - could hear music from bar (alternative nights) on second floor so earplugs very useful. Good location for San telmo. Good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Basic kitchen, luggage storage. Wouldn't recommend la Boca tour - about 10 minutes of bare minimum\...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sirojo2013
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I unfortunately just stayed there for one night (Saturday), but I wish to go again as soon as I can. Staff is great, very helpful, rooms are good and they offer several options of entertainment and trips around Buenos Aires. The Saturday party I went to was awesome. And even though my flight was only late at night, I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabi F
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I'm glad I began my long trip in South America in the Milhouse hostels. I got to easily meet new friends from all over the world in these two hostels. They are hosting hostel parties every night (in Milhouse Hipo and Milhouse Avenue). The parties are kind of relaxed though, don't expect something too crazy. Overall it was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Omer R
Paris, France
Reviewed 11 March 2017

This place is a perfect starting point in Buenos Aires. You'll meet a lot of people from all around the world doing long trips in South America and able to help you in the city and for the rest of your own trip. I recommand this place. Only one bad point, the wifi is not that great. It's better to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tommy G
Silkeborg, Denmark
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

This hostel was so much fun and very nice to stay at. I am travelling with a group of 12, and the Milhouse Hostel Hipo was the perfect place to meet other backpackers like ourselves . There are lots of activities every day, young people and good vibes. The rooms are nice and super clean, and the staff is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank albertedam
Reviewed 11 February 2017

If you want a party hostel where you can make friends, stay at Milhouse. They have parties every night, and because they pair up with the other Milhouse hostel, there are always plenty of people. Don't worry, you can't hear the noise from your room if you do want to sleep. The staff are friendly. There's a large variety of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kakarotGringo
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Had an extremely horrible experience with this hostel. I came a day late for my booking due to some mishaps and explained my situation to the staffs during check in and I was assured that I'll be only paying for 4nights and not 5. I've cross check with the staffs every single day during my stay on my check out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 279gracies
Milhouse H, Gerente at Milhouse Hostel Hipo, responded to this review

As we explained to you in private (and I'm sorry that you are still not satisfied with the answer), if you were not aware that you would be charged for 1 night penalty in case of non show (and without contacting the hostel at all), it means that you did not read the conditions of Hostelworld, the channel YOU chose...

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Great hostel with well organised tours and events to help socialise with other guests. Staff helpful and welcoming. Works with the other milhouse hostel for events which is just down the road. For such a large hostel it is keep quiet clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane H

401 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
2:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Dorm (8 Beds) (33)
Viewed
Double Suite (28)
Viewed
Four Person Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)
Viewed
Twin Suite (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#60 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,353 reviews
Montserrat
HTL 9 de Julio
HTL 9 de Julio
#50 of 447 in Buenos Aires
466 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 453 in Buenos Aires
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Telmo
America del Sur Hostel
America del Sur Hostel
#3 of 453 in Buenos Aires
651 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#5 of 453 in Buenos Aires
684 reviews
San Nicolas
Hostel Suites Florida
Hostel Suites Florida
#8 of 453 in Buenos Aires
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Montserrat

Neighbourhood Profile
Montserrat
As part of the historic quarter of Buenos Aires, Montserrat is defined by the historical events that took place there and the landmarks that have stood the test of time. The Plaza de Mayo is at the center of this connection to history: countless public demonstrations have passed through this square, going back to the May Revolution of 1810. Walking the streets of Montserrat allows us to imagine what Buenos Aires may have looked like in the past: the Cabildo takes us back to the late 16th century, while the Palacio Barolo and the traditional cafés carry us to the early 20th. Nowadays, the neighbourhood is inundated every day by office workers, buses, and taxis; still, the cobblestones, narrow sidewalks, and subway stations from the 1910s remind us that we are surrounded by history everywhere we look.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Milhouse Hostel Hipo is housed in a stunning 19th-century colonial-style property that offers clean and spacious dorms as well as beautiful ensuite private rooms. The hostel caters for the solo traveler, group of friends and young couples who look for a lively and fun hostel and yet with great and well decorated facilities. The hostel has a charming atrium with a courtyard, perfect for socializing and relaxing outside with friends. Other facilities include a chill-out terrace, a popular bar area, free internet and Wi-Fi, a TV, a big screen for major world sport events, a pool table, laundry service, in-house travel agency and a luggage room. The friendly and helpful staff want to help make your visit to BA an unforgettable experience, whether that be learning to strut your stuff to the tango, experiencing the electric atmosphere of a football match, consuming copious amounts of delicious steak and red wine from the wide range of parrillas, obtaining tickets to some of the hottest, most exclusive nightclubs the city has to offer or simply getting to know the city with our fabulous walking/biking tours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Milhouse Hostel Hipo

Address: Hipolito Irigoyen 959, Buenos Aires 1086AA0, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Montserrat , El Centro
Price Range: $19 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Milhouse Hostel Hipo 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Milhouse Hostel Hipo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milhouse Hotel Buenos Aires
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Milhouse Hostel Hipo staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Milhouse Hostel Hipo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't come here on a weekend if you like to sleep at one point”
durbs2015, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The room "Maradona" (1st floor) is next to a storage room. Wifi was poor insight the room + sometimes loud when they use the storage room.”
OnkelSimon, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Hipo is better than Avenue”
M9382YEdanielp, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Party hostel”
554paulineeeee, 28 Feb 2016 | Read review
“If you want a quite room I reccomand the 4 bed dorm”
MaxPower1988, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$29* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$51
PricelineUS$43
Orbitz.comUS$51
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates