We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Cantera Boutique Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

879 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 287: English reviews
Udine, Italy
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

You might ask why did I write "near the centre". Well because there are very few hotels in the centre of El Calafate. Most of them are in the out skirts. Don't be put off when your bus/taxi drives you up a a hundred metres of dirt track. Don't worry most of the hotels on the out skirts are on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EarthtravellerUD
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is extremely expensive and definitely not worth the money. The photos of this hotel on booking.com all looked gorgeous, but they were all taken without showing the actual surroundings, which was ugly. This hotel uses very deceiving photos on booking.com and other sites. Please refer to my attached photos. THIS HOTEL IS 4 BLOCKS UPHILL AWAY FROM THE...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank committedmacysfan
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was exactly as shown on the internet great size rooms bright and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, really don't know how anyone could be "disappointed"! Being a chef in a well know London restaurant I found the evening meals in the hotel superb. There are fantastic views of the lake and the hotel organises...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George B
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms are a good size, the breakfast and service was very nice. Our room had nice view of Lago Argentino, especially sunrise. While the hotel is a little out of town, the hotel provided a very good courtesy transfer into town (see their details), which allowed us to enjoy the very good restaurants of El Calafate. We did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aquiva
Radlett
Reviewed 1 week ago

Built on a hill above the city, with views overlooking Argentino Lake. Large bedroom with Jacuzzi and a great view. Takes about 15mins to walk down to the small, quaint town and about 25 mins to walk back up! A taxi service and shuttle is available. Meals and breakfast (and cocktails) were excellent. Fab cakes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barmiteacher
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very disappointed and shocked with this hotel. The photos do not depict the rooms or hotel well at all. We were in the older section, and every aspect of the room was extremely worn. The carpet seams were unraveling, large portions of porcelain coming off of the toilet, ceiling stained with something, stains on the chairs, curtains had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlaree
cantera c, Gerente at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your attention, we will immediately work on all the aspects that you have pointed out to us. We hope to live up to your expectations on your next visit best regards Dario Rostagno

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

La Cantera was the perfect spot for a short stay in La Cantera. We only stayed long enough to spend a day on the Big Ice trek of Perrito Moreno glacier. So that the hotel was situated right next to a grocery store and provided free rides to and from the main tourist area in town was ideal. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
cantera c, Gerente at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing us. Best regards Dario Rostagno

Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had booked a "mountain view" room with views of Lago Argentina. It was not clear to me from the promotional pictures how the hotel was laid out. We were in a separate building below the main building, and our view of the lake was obscured by a two story building immediately in front of us. The room was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cgh7688
cantera c, Gerente at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for being with us As you well express your reservation was a mountain view room, which does not have a view of the lake. The hotel has 2 category of rooms one with mountain view and the other with view to Lago Argentino. We regret the misunderstanding and hope that your stay with us was to your...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pros - close to downtown about a 15 minute walk but it is on a steep hill so the walk back is not easy. The staff is great. You can order a packed lunch for your day trips and the lunches are fabulous!!!! The bathrooms have a heated towel rack which was great to dry my wet clothes Con -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjnomad4ever
cantera c, Gerente at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for being with us regards Dario Rostagno

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Location of the hotel not in downtown, and for the price I felt you could get a better value near the city center. Takes about 15-20mins to go down/up the hill. Shuttle for 7:30pm-11pm was definitely good but the driver only drops you at a certain point before downtown street so you still have to walk. Pick-up can be anywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buzzlightyear182
cantera c, Gerente at La Cantera Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for being with us, we have already solved the problem with the radiator you to reference. Our property is at the top of a hill, which allows us to obtain excellent views of Lake Argentino. Best regards Dario Rostagno

579 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (562)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (134)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (213)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Calafate hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Mirador del Lago
Hotel Mirador del Lago
#8 of 70 in El Calafate
955 reviews
1.0 km away
Posada Los Alamos
Posada Los Alamos
#10 of 70 in El Calafate
1,003 reviews
3.2 km away
Design Suites Calafate
Design Suites Calafate
#21 of 70 in El Calafate
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
Los Ponchos Apart Boutique
#3 of 70 in El Calafate
316 reviews
0.9 km away
Santa Monica Aparts
Santa Monica Aparts
#1 of 70 in El Calafate
433 reviews
0.3 km away
Esplendor El Calafate
Esplendor El Calafate
#17 of 70 in El Calafate
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With the amazing environment of Argentine Patagonia and its Glaciers, La Cantera Boutique Hotel Calafate is built on the top of the city, ensuring a seamless perspective and having access to both the city's shopping center and any attraction you may want to visit. Inaugurated in 2004, it was the first Patagonian Boutique hotel in the area. The building was thought to provide such a cozy feeling that our guests can intermingle with the environment without isolating themselves from it. Let us guide you along the Hotel, we want to provide you with hospitality and an exclusive service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Cantera Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle 306 #173, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Price Range: $184 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Cantera Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cantera El Calafate
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#7 Family Hotel in El Calafate
#8 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Cantera Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from La Cantera Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book with them at all.”
 of 5 bubbles committedmacysfan, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the upper level.”
 of 5 bubbles 333georgeb, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best views are in the hotel complex itself. Some rooms are in a chalet style building just below the main building”
 of 5 bubbles barmiteacher, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Maybe on the end- I heard everything everyone did or watched on TV in the two rooms next to me”
 of 5 bubbles coreyd946, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Fitz Roy Room!”
 of 5 bubbles rbusi88, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay