We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sa'Moana Resort

Expedia.comUS$104*
View Deal
#9 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$104*
US$104*
US$104*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sa\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 188: English reviews
Start your review of Sa'Moana Resort
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our visit to Sa'moana was exactly what we needed. My friend and I had been working in Apia for 10 days prior to coming and it was a great place to unwind and relax. The resort has a great deck for drinks and dinner, very nicely decorated. Each fale has exactly what you needed and nothing more, perfect to make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank b_koning
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had an unforgettable time at this place! The location is unique. The views are beautiful and the activities (kayaking, snorkeling) help you make one of the best vacations. The resorte is out of the main roads close to a village, and it is run by its people, that I specially like. They are nice and friendly. The rooms also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaDelCe
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Maria Thanks for the review and appreciate your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay @ Sa'Moana and hopefully see you back here again soon! All the best Daniel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we loved it here! we only booked 4 nights initially because of the mixed reviews but ended up extending our stay for the rest of our trip to Samoa because the staff is super kind, the room was really nice and big and homey (the outdoor shower - with hot water! - was our favourite), it was serviced every day,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leona T
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Leona Thanks for the great review - was great fun having you guys stay with us and sharing some laughs. Appreciate your detailed comments and will help future visitors to the resort who need all the extra info before booking. Wahoo is definitely a must try special dish. See you guys back here again. All the best Daniel

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great friendly hosts with the perfect accommodation for a large family of 7. The beach house is affordable, spacious and has s great deck with perfect views. Loved the laid back feel of the resort, pool was fab and plenty of outside space in sun or shade to relax. My boys are surfers and the break in front wasn't breaking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rachelq536
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

HI Rachel Thanks for the great feedback and we really enjoyed hosting your family here. Sorry about the break but its out of our hands - hopefully better for your next visit - great to meet you guys anyway and thanks for the comments. Our menu is local - with a western twist (taco's, burittos , spag bol) , tuna,...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. The location of the resort is great. A lot of lounge chairs under the palm trees, free kayaks and free snorkel gear. The water is very clear and the pool is directly by the ocean (natural salt water pool). The bungalows are pretty new and in very good shape. They have an outside shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2sunflower
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for review - appreciate your comments. Yes you were here in high season and we do go through those staple foods quickly and running out of burrito's unfortunately an island wide problem. All the stores were waiting for the next cargo delivery! But hey its made us look at local alternatives and were speaking to a local bakery...

Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here (2adults, 2 kids) three nights having spent the earlier part of our holiday at Coconuts and Savaii. The location is possibly the best island beach I have ever been on. Spectacular coral and bluest water you can imagine. The Samoan staff were lovely - particularly Simi who really tried to engage with us. The food was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JBA2013
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Firstly thanks for taking the time to review us - you are clearly an avid Tripadvisor Reviewer so appreciate any feedback. Yes we were away for a few days picking up supplies - the husband and wife team managing the resort had explained to all guests that some things had ran out due to it being the Easter break and...

Reviewed 7 April 2017

Loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves.The beautiful Samoan people and Danial and Allie made our stay a lot of fun hope you will call in when passing through NZ . This resort is so kiwi with its outside bathrooms and casual life style trust us you,ll love it .With snorkeling just metres from your front door and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megsk2014
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Guys Thanks for the comments and feedback - was great having you here. Hopefully see you soon and dont forget to direct message for return guest discounts! Best wishes Daniel

Encinitas, California, United States
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Such a great vibe. Locals and owners are so friendly. Loved Allison, Daniel, Furani and Nayh!! Safe. Beautiful. Happy. Heard and fell asleep with the sound of the waves every night. Would go back in a heartbeat!! Loved the cozy bungalow with outdoor shower, and natural pool. Food was great. Waters had such beautiful colors and the colors of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shelley M
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Shelley Thanks for the review - was great having you stay and get involved with us all. Love hearing guests who have made the most of their stay with us and we would love to have you back. Best wishes Daniel

Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Taken me a while to post this but I have only joined Trip advisor now. Got collected from the airport at night whisked away to the resort. Woke up the following morning to paradise. By the end of the 10 days my 3 young kids felt like they had an extended family. He staff were fantastic food was great but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Garon B
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the great comments and really glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for the feedback re the menu - we are looking at this! Although fresh local seafood and a bit of Samoan mixed with western is great for a 5/6 days stay but yes 10 days can maybe become repetitive. Our foo=d...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We stayed 3 nights in a two bedroom bungalow. Apart from the slow road into the property the location is wonderful: the picture book tropical island beach with crystal clear water, a reef straight out in front and breaking (apparently surfable) waves beyond that, the views down the coast were spectacular, and the snorkelling off the beach was the best...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robyn088
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi guys Thanks for taking the time to do the review - appreciate your detailed comments as this is really helpful for a resort of our size in Samoa and gives people a true picture of what to expect from a holiday here. Off the grid adventure fun in a gorgeous spot - hopefully see you guys here again soon!...

329 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (232)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
25.2 km away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
47.3 km away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
199 reviews
24.3 km away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.7 km away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
13.3 km away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
13.0 km away
Coconuts Beach Club
Coconuts Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Maninoa
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small 3.5 star remote, idyllic beach resort located at the end of the long, windy Salamumu beach road (about 6km track off main road). Our simple colorful wooden bungalows are all absolute beach front with their own private outdoor lava rock bathroom, private deck and of course fabulous beach and Pacific Ocean views. We are the perfect location for active families, couples and singles who want to totally switch off from the World for the length of their stay and be "Off The Grid" and see the real Samoa and maybe want something a little different from the standard "out of the brochure" vacation. We have an all-day bar and restaurant with comfortable seating for a sunset cocktail, good music including traditional Samoan tunes and great vibes. All our staff are local so can share their knowledge of the best places to visit, and the stories of the real Samoa. We do a weekly cultural show and a traditional Samoan Fire Dance and Haka display every Thursday - free to our guests. Guests are welcome to surf out front - its intermediate to advanced level and you need to bring your own board. Surf Tours can be arranged with local operators when you are here. There are several within 20/30 minutes of our resort. Car hire is highly recommended so you get to see the best of our beautiful island and discover your own magical parts of it - we can recommend lots for you to do and provide a map and some local advice. Please note we are not near any public transport, shops or other resorts / restaurants - we are literally a tropical island hideaway! If this is what you seek - you won't be disappointed! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sa'Moana Resort

Address: End of Salamumu Beach Road | Salamumu Village, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Price Range: $107 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sa'Moana Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sa'Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Moana Hotel Apia
Sa'Moana Resort Samoa/Apia
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Apia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Apia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sa'Moana Resort staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sa'Moana Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any beach facing fale. They're all lovely”
b_koning, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“All bungalows face out to the sea view. The best one looked to be the last one on the pool side as it had a deck over the water.”
Robyn088, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are beach front and the sea can be quite loud but worth it!”
  • Our balcony of our accommodation
lorettaschmidt19, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Every room is fantastic, with beach frontage, private outdoor showers, verandah.”
910hazels, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the bungalows are beach front”
siaosi45, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$104* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$104
Hotels.comUS$104
TravelocityUS$104
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates