We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sa'Moana Resort

Expedia.comUS$69*
View Deal
#9 of 30 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$113*
US$69*
Great Deal
US$113*
US$72*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sa\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 185: English reviews
Start your review of Sa'Moana Resort
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Great friendly hosts with the perfect accommodation for a large family of 7. The beach house is affordable, spacious and has s great deck with perfect views. Loved the laid back feel of the resort, pool was fab and plenty of outside space in sun or shade to relax. My boys are surfers and the break in front wasn't breaking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachelq536
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. The location of the resort is great. A lot of lounge chairs under the palm trees, free kayaks and free snorkel gear. The water is very clear and the pool is directly by the ocean (natural salt water pool). The bungalows are pretty new and in very good shape. They have an outside shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2sunflower
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for review - appreciate your comments. Yes you were here in high season and we do go through those staple foods quickly and running out of burrito's unfortunately an island wide problem. All the stores were waiting for the next cargo delivery! But hey its made us look at local alternatives and were speaking to a local bakery...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here (2adults, 2 kids) three nights having spent the earlier part of our holiday at Coconuts and Savaii. The location is possibly the best island beach I have ever been on. Spectacular coral and bluest water you can imagine. The Samoan staff were lovely - particularly Simi who really tried to engage with us. The food was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JBA2013
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Firstly thanks for taking the time to review us - you are clearly an avid Tripadvisor Reviewer so appreciate any feedback. Yes we were away for a few days picking up supplies - the husband and wife team managing the resort had explained to all guests that some things had ran out due to it being the Easter break and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves.The beautiful Samoan people and Danial and Allie made our stay a lot of fun hope you will call in when passing through NZ . This resort is so kiwi with its outside bathrooms and casual life style trust us you,ll love it .With snorkeling just metres from your front door and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megsk2014
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Guys Thanks for the comments and feedback - was great having you here. Hopefully see you soon and dont forget to direct message for return guest discounts! Best wishes Daniel

Encinitas, California, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such a great vibe. Locals and owners are so friendly. Loved Allison, Daniel, Furani and Nayh!! Safe. Beautiful. Happy. Heard and fell asleep with the sound of the waves every night. Would go back in a heartbeat!! Loved the cozy bungalow with outdoor shower, and natural pool. Food was great. Waters had such beautiful colors and the colors of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shelley M
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Shelley Thanks for the review - was great having you stay and get involved with us all. Love hearing guests who have made the most of their stay with us and we would love to have you back. Best wishes Daniel

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Taken me a while to post this but I have only joined Trip advisor now. Got collected from the airport at night whisked away to the resort. Woke up the following morning to paradise. By the end of the 10 days my 3 young kids felt like they had an extended family. He staff were fantastic food was great but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Garon B
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the great comments and really glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for the feedback re the menu - we are looking at this! Although fresh local seafood and a bit of Samoan mixed with western is great for a 5/6 days stay but yes 10 days can maybe become repetitive. Our foo=d...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights in a two bedroom bungalow. Apart from the slow road into the property the location is wonderful: the picture book tropical island beach with crystal clear water, a reef straight out in front and breaking (apparently surfable) waves beyond that, the views down the coast were spectacular, and the snorkelling off the beach was the best...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robyn088
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi guys Thanks for taking the time to do the review - appreciate your detailed comments as this is really helpful for a resort of our size in Samoa and gives people a true picture of what to expect from a holiday here. Off the grid adventure fun in a gorgeous spot - hopefully see you guys here again soon!...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I had the pleasure of stumbling across this hidden treasure and enjoying the warm hospitality of Sa'Moana Resort during our recent visit to beautiful Samoa. We were fortunate enough to be able to check in early after a long and exhausting trip from Australia and every part of our experience that followed was nothing short of wonderful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raynahk2017
Daniel M, Owner at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi guys Thanks for the great review. Was really great having you stay at the resort and make the most of your trip to Samoa. Thanks for the recommendations also to your mates back home - we've already had some contact from one of them which is great. Like-minded people who are keen to visit a new country and see...

Wollongong
Reviewed 21 March 2017

When we arrived at Sa'Moana, we were very excited to see that the resort was true to all the pictures we'd seen. It was just as stunning, if not more, than we expected. We hired a car for our week in Samoa, which I highly recommend if staying at Sa'Moana, due to it's secluded location. We visited in March 2017,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CourtneySteltenpool
Daniel M, Manager at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hi Courtney Was great having you and Danni here at the resort. Yes we were a little quiet and would have been great for you guys to have a few more groups to party with. Your did seem to enjoy your sports bar karaoke though! :-) Please come back and visit and bring your friends - The Beach House would...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

I absolutely loved this place. Gosh the views were so breath taking, it was soooo beautiful! My family and I spent Xmas here and we absolutely loved it ! The staff are amazing, the food was delicious and amaze balls ! We loved our beach bungalows and the outdoor showers too. I would definitely recommend this resort to anymore. You...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phee N
Daniel M, Manager at Sa'Moana Resort, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for the lovely review. Great to hear you had a wonderful holiday and loved our staff and the food. Thank you for recommended us and please stay in touch directly for your next trip back to Sa'Moana as we always like to give our returning guests the best deals. Best wishes for the rest of your travels...

327 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (48)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (103)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apia
25.2 km away
Sheraton Samoa Aggie Grey's Hotel & Bungalows
47.3 km away
Aga Reef Resort
Aga Reef Resort
#5 of 30 in Apia
197 reviews
24.3 km away
Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.7 km away
Litia Sini Beach Resort
13.3 km away
Sinalei Reef Resort & Spa
13.0 km away
Coconuts Beach Club
Coconuts Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Maninoa
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small 3.5 star remote, idyllic beach resort located at the end of the long, windy Salamumu beach road (about 6km track off main road). Our simple colorful wooden bungalows are all absolute beach front with their own private outdoor lava rock bathroom, private deck and of course fabulous beach and Pacific Ocean views. We are the perfect location for active families, couples and singles who want to totally switch off from the World for the length of their stay and be "Off The Grid" and see the real Samoa and maybe want something a little different from the standard "out of the brochure" vacation. We have an all-day bar and restaurant with comfortable seating for a sunset cocktail, good music including traditional Samoan tunes and great vibes. All our staff are local so can share their knowledge of the best places to visit, and the stories of the real Samoa. We do a weekly cultural show and a traditional Samoan Fire Dance and Haka display every Thursday - free to our guests. Guests are welcome to surf out front - its intermediate to advanced level and you need to bring your own board. Surf Tours can be arranged with local operators when you are here. There are several within 20/30 minutes of our resort. Car hire is highly recommended so you get to see the best of our beautiful island and discover your own magical parts of it - we can recommend lots for you to do and provide a map and some local advice. Please note we are not near any public transport, shops or other resorts / restaurants - we are literally a tropical island hideaway! If this is what you seek - you won't be disappointed! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sa'Moana Resort

Address: End of Salamumu Beach Road | Salamumu Village, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Region: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Price Range: $107 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sa'Moana Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sa'Moana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Moana Hotel Apia
Sa'Moana Resort Samoa/Apia
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Apia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Apia
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Apia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sa'Moana Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sa'Moana Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All bungalows face out to the sea view. The best one looked to be the last one on the pool side as it had a deck over the water.”
Robyn088, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are beach front and the sea can be quite loud but worth it!”
  • Our balcony of our accommodation
lorettaschmidt19, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Every room is fantastic, with beach frontage, private outdoor showers, verandah.”
910hazels, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the bungalows are beach front”
siaosi45, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hibiscus room was great for a family of 4. one double bed and 2 singles”
892leanneh, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$69* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$113
Orbitz.comUS$72
Hotels.comUS$72
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates