We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Panoramas (42)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,565 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,548: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Incredible group of people running this place. Very clean, very accommodating. The views from every angle are breathtaking. Well manicured. Staff are friendly and helpful. Very quiet and very luxurious, perfectly serene. Very much a place to relax. Did not frequent the restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica V
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sanctuary. We are delighted that you had such a fantastic visit and honored that you think so highly of our team. It is great to hear that our staff helped make the property that much more memorable. Glad you were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful setting. Thank you for...

Shark River Hills, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Every year I visit family in Scottsdale and every year this is the first place I want to go to! Every year this venue seems to be better than the last. The cocktails, food and service are exemplary. And, did I mention the view. Perhaps that prettiest place I've had to good fortune to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us again this year. We are delighted that the experience surpassed previous years. It is a huge compliment and great to hear that we are continuing to provide you with better and better experiences each visit. We are honored that you think so highly of us and that you continue to return and stay with...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 24 March 2015

My wife and I stayed at Sanctuary for the first time in March 2015. We've done Spring Break in Scottsdale/PV for several years, but always at lower-end accommodations. Sanctuary is a very peaceful and private place. Our Mountain Suite, Room 219, was quiet and relaxing. Sitting on our balcony in the mornings was a serene, private experience. Our sense was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T-BoneMN
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sanctuary for your recent getaway with your wife. We are very happy you both had such a relaxing, wonderful experience. We are glad you enjoyed the views and privacy that our mountain suite’s offer. It is great to hear that our staff provided you with friendly and attentive service throughout your stay. Glad you were able...

Plymouth Meeting, PA
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Anyone can build a great property but the staff makes it exceptional. From check in to check out, the staff makes the stay great. Beautifully landscaped and meticulously maintained property. We are going back again next year.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BusyTraveler_10
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. It is great to hear that they provided exceptional service all around and helped make your stay that much more memorable. It is always a huge compliment when our guests say they will be returning, so thank you. We really appreciate you choosing Sanctuary and taking the time to...

New Jersey
Reviewed 17 March 2015

My mom and I had a wonderful 4-day break at the Sanctuary. Rooms were spacious, spa services were great, I wish I could take the chef from Elements home with me, the food was that good. The staff was extremely helpful -- one of the concierges actually drove us into town on a night when the taxis were at a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelDNewJersey
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sanctuary and taking the time to write a review about your experience. We are delighted that you and your mom had such a fantastic getaway. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your room and had such a great time dining at elements. It is good to hear that our...

Goleta, California
Reviewed 10 March 2015

very nice, good food, our room had wonderful view[ 272] very comfortable, real fireplace was nice choose room with care, upper levels and casitas are great be sure to eat at on site ELEMENTS for dinner, or any meal. awsum steak, but all dishes were wonderful

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brent K
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sanctuary. We are very happy you had such a wonderful visit. It is great to hear you enjoyed your room and the view of the Valley it offered. Glad you were able to enjoy a meal at elements during your visit. We really appreciate you recommending dining there as well. It...

Turner, Maine
Reviewed 9 March 2015 via mobile

The place is over priced. Rooms are small. Waited a long time for our meal. Rather spend our hard earned money at a resort with better services. Meals were tasty. I don't understand tho paying $500 a night and then paying $30 in resort fee when there was nothing great about the resort.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vnplummer
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sanctuary and taking the time to provide us with feedback about your recent stay. We are so sorry that everything did not live up to your expectation and that you felt the resort did not offer you the right value for your money. We sincerely apologize that the room was a disappointment and that our service...

Elliestar
Reviewed 4 March 2015

I visited the Sanctuary spa on my visit to Scottsdale in February, 2015. I also visited the Four Season Spa and can tell you - SKIP the Four Seasons and go to Sanctuary -- so much nicer than the Four Season. The spa at Sanctuary was so nice and well run from the minute you step foot in the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elliestar
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Sanctuary Spa on your recent visit to Scottsdale. We are very happy to hear you had such a wonderful time and that we provided you with a much better experience than Four Seasons. It is great to hear that our team made you feel welcome from the moment you stepped on the resort grounds. We are...

Michigan
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We didn't stay at the Sanctuary but visited for a spa treatment. It provided everything you would think of for a "sanctuary" experience. The spa was serene, the staff were quiet and kind, there were plenty of hydrating beverages and healthy snacks. You can enjoy lunch in the spa if you like. All amenities were provided. If you enjoy a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Doymo
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to do a spa treatment with us and taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you had such a wonderful spa experience and enjoyed your treatment so much. It is great to hear that the staff provided great, friendly service. Glad you were able to finish off a relaxing day and...

SAINT LOUIS
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Was there this past weekend with friends who have not met up in years. No kids- just ladies. Wonderful service above all. Stayed in a casita and though spacious with great ammenites and well appointed, a bit dated. Pool and pool staff wonderful. Spa services were out of the world. Though the nail technician was lovely and friendly and good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelstl2
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to take a girls getaway with us here at Sanctuary. We are delighted that you all had such a fantastic experience and that our staff provided a wonderful service experience throughout your stay. We appreciate your feedback about the casitas and are in the process of renovating this year them based on our guest’s feedback. It...

932 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (602)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (143)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (125)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (55)
Viewed
View from Room (64)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (166)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (215)
Viewed
Amenities (53)
Viewed
Exclusive King Suite with Mountain View (37)
Viewed
Pools (27)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (115)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Valley
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Elements at Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover your sanctuary at the best Arizona resort...a luxury boutique hideaway on Camelback Mountain. Overlooking the spectacular views of Paradise Valley, relax in a mountainside or spa casita. Retreat to Sanctuary Spa for Asian-inspired treatments and exhilarating classes. Taste the award-winning cuisine of elements' by Food Network star Chef Beau MacMillan. Savor the sunset at jade bar or on edge, raising the bar for happy hour. Play tennis or hike in a fabulous setting, lounge by the infinity-edge pool, or indulge in Scottsdale's hottest shopping, cultural attractions and championship golf just minutes away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanctuary Camelback Mountain

Address: 5700 E McDonald Dr, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253-5218
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Paradise Valley
Price Range: $459 - $1,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Camelback Mountain 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Camelback Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Hotel Paradise Valley
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain Paradise Valley
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Family Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Spa Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Business Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paradise Valley
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sanctuary Camelback Mountain staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sanctuary Camelback Mountain staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to stay near the main building to avoid walking downhill or having to request golf cart.”
 of 5 bubbles kimbN7735KQ, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a view. And they will take you in the golf cart to any of the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Luckyladyh, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't go for the Terrace Suites...limited views. Call hotel and request room w better view?”
  • no handle to get out of bathroom!!
  • no handle to get out of bathroom!!
  • back of broken divider wall
  • coffee rings on side table in freshly serviced room
  • broken mirror on other side of divider wall
  • missing handle off divider wall
  • broken handle to exterior shower
 of 5 bubbles metooze, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check your budget and book in advance.”
 of 5 bubbles PJDuck, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not miss out on visiting the spa! Views from the restaurant/lounge are unbeatable. Catch the sunset from up there.”
 of 5 bubbles B6257FZannam, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5