We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Howard Johnson Phoenix North

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Phoenix North
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Phoenix North
See the most recent reviews
Showing 340: English reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2015

This is a dreadful place, in general Super 8 is great, this one is not worthy of the Wyndham name. Shower didn't work, the hotel has a very unsavory crowd, the rooms are very tired and in desperate need of a renovation. It was good that the front desk didn't ask how my stay was, he probably didn't want to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CheMatt
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

We are very sorry about how you felt during your stay with us. We certainly don’t want any of our customers to feel that way and we would like to make it up to you. If you’ll give us another chance we will show you that we listen to your comments and that we act on them immediately. We do...

Las Cruces
Reviewed 20 May 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

Glendale, Arizona
Reviewed 20 May 2015

This place was disgusting. Holes in the curtains, internet put a Trojan on my tablet, room smelled,door looked liked it was kicked in, got a smoking room no ashtray had to het one myself, no batteries in remote when got batteries the remote did not work, looked people doing drug deals in parking lot, I can keep going.DONT EVERY GO...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacy H
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. It's our ambition to give you a five star experience, and it's disheartening to discover that this is not the impression we left you with. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make...

Kingman, Arizona
Reviewed 14 May 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean A
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

Show Low, Arizona
Reviewed 12 May 2015

Stay was okay; free breakfast was more like continental breakfast; ice maker was out, room lighting wasn't that good, pretty quiet place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 145bcn
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review you have of our hotel. We are sorry about the issues you had during your stay with us. Your comments are very important to us and we will make sure that these issues will be looked into and worked on immediately. We hope that you’ll visit us again...

Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

This is my second chance for this hotel. It IS a Super 8 so I don't expect much, but rm 102 has a broken shower, no hand towels, no remote for TV, no hairdryer, and when I wanted to bring a bowl of cereal to my room for my disabled son (very small eating area)they told me I couldn't. (Did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean A
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

We are very sorry for the issues you had with your room during your stay with us. We will make sure that these are corrected immediately. We do apologize that some policies may have prevented us from making your experience a better one but rest assured that we will look into this and make amendments if need be. We hope...

Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

This hotel is by far one of the worst in the valley. Upon making it through the night I was glad to leave this place. Exposed wires missing smoke detector are just some of the goodies you can expect when booking a room here. Oh and don't try to make any calls to anyone because the rooms phone is just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph P
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

We are so sorry about the issues you had during your stay with us. We recognize that there are things that we can still improve on and rest assured that these issues you raised will be looked into and worked on immediately. We hope that you’ll give us another chance and we will prove to you that we listen to...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 9 May 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 69lewisl
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

Nothern Arizona, Arizona
Reviewed 5 May 2015

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelle9876542015
Dipesh P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 29 April 2015

They were very nice. The bed is comfortable and the room has all that the average person would need. No complaints. Nice and straight forward. I am laying in the comfortable bed now writing my review. I was pleasantly surprised by the cost. This room offers more than what I recently paid almost double for. Consider this hotel a low-cost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandy W
Dipesh P, Manager at Howard Johnson Phoenix North, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words regarding the five star service and accommodations that you received during your most recent stay with us! We are very happy to hear that you were very pleased with the value of our hotel and we appreciate your acknowledgment of the efforts of our staff to make you feel at...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Deer Valley
Fairfield Inn & Suites Phoenix North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Mountain
Quality Inn Phoenix North I-17
Deer Valley
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Deer Valley
North Mountain
Comfort Suites Phoenix North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Low-rise Motel with adobe-brick exterior located in north Phoenix at Bell Road & I-17. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Phoenix North

Address: 17211 N Black Canyon Hwy, Phoenix, AZ 85023-2249 (Formerly Super 8 Phoenix)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Deer Valley
Price Range: $65 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Phoenix North 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Howard Johnson Phoenix North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Bell Hotel Phoenix
Best Western Phoenix
Phoenix Best Western
Howard Johnson Phoenix North Arizona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Phoenix North staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Phoenix North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 567triciav, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“save your money and to go a better hotel. these rooms are not pretty”
 of 5 bubbles 554kaceyr, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“closer to the lobby”
 of 5 bubbles zaiao, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“all rooms in the back are quiet and the second floor”
 of 5 bubbles rayd779, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“what pool? it was drained and had holes in it looked like it hasn't been used for decades.”
 of 5 bubbles alexcW6534JP, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay