We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Saguaro Scottsdale

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Saguaro Scottsdale
Saguaro Scottsdale
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

815 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Saguaro Scottsdale
See the most recent reviews
Showing 756: English reviews
Incline Village, NV
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Wanted to find a hotel close to the Scottsdale Stadium to catch some games. Loved the uniqueness of this hotel. We could walk to the stadium and to old town which was full of great bars and resturants. When we arrived our room was ready early so we were able to check in and make it to the 1:00 game....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mauimom6
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review

Dear mauimom6, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Saguaro, and greatly appreciate the feedback! We hope to welcome you back next year for Spring Training. Sincerely, Morgan K

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 18 March 2015

I don't know how this got a four star rating. The place is shabby and run down. The furniture is cheap looking and the linens threadbare. The patio has 2 undersized plastic chairs and one forlorn and dirty chaise. Asked for a king size bed, got two queens. No towels in the room until I called housekeeping. Had a drink...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrice B
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review

Hello Patrice B, Thank you for taking some time out to review your recent stay with us. I apologize about your recent experience here; it is very upsetting to read. This is not a normal occurrence. We take each guest's feedback into consideration and hope to make each stay more memorable than the last. We do hope you give us...

Oakland, California
Reviewed 17 March 2015

This was the second year we stayed at the Saguaro for our annual Spring Training trip and we'll definitely be back. The location can't be beat - right behind the stadium and steps from Old Town. It's Arizona, so it's not like cities are designed for walking but there is Old Town Scottsdale at least! The property is nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sectravels
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review

Hello sectravels, Thank you taking some time out to review your recent stay with us .You hit on some great points that we offer such as the coffee bar, pools and location. Spring Training is the perfect time of year here in Scottsdale too. I will be sure to pass along your wonderful compliments to Tim and the team, we...

Costa Mesa, California
Reviewed 9 March 2015

This place is a total miss. This hotel promised high end and didn't deliver in any way. The room was not what we were told it would be, very run down and cheap. The food disappointing in the restaurant and room service. We paid $20 for a movie, and the tv picture was pixelated and grainy.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jill G
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review

Dear Jill G, Thank you for comments in regard to your recent stay. I was dissapointed to learn that we did not provide an outstanding visit for you. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss personally with you. My email is mkunse@jdvhotels.com at your convenience. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Morgan K

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 5 March 2015

The room was not huge, but we liked the colorful and stylish decorations. Sheets were nice. The exercise facilities are a plus: there were decent machines in the gym and the pool was long and good for lap swimming. The hotel is not spotless - for example the elevator floor needed new carpeting. We had a couple of minor issues...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dan S
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review

Dear Dan S, Thank you for taking the time to post your review from your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Saguaro, and greatly appreciate the feedback! We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Scottsdale. Sincerely, Morgan K

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 3 March 2015

Booked on Orbitz for over $320/night. Arrived to find an old building complex with chipped paint, stained desktops and rusted bathroom fixtures. The renovation uses garish colors & loud music in attempt to create a hip atmosphere. It doesn't achieve the effect. Staff sense of hospitality was not much better. Checked in with wife and 3 year old, and they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 15herve2015
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review

Dear 15herve2015, Thank you for comments in regard to your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service issues you encountered. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss personally with you. At your convenience, my email is mkunse@jdvhotels.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Morgan K

Reviewed 1 March 2015

Or just cheesy. Lots of bright paint colors do not make for a great hotel. Nor does outdoor carpeting in the room. Maybe it is a good deal based on the prices of other resorts but, a not in my book. Nice fitness center. Great location for Scottsdale though.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DBR12345
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review

Hello DBR12345, We appreciate you reviewing your stay with us. I am very saddened that you did not enjoy our property. Guests rave about the colors and design! The property was designed by Peter Stamberg and Paul Aferiat. The twelve bright colors actually represent indigenous flowers in the desert. Some flowers include the Staghorn Cholla, Sunflower, California Poppy, and the...

Reviewed 25 February 2015

Hotel had character - no complaints. Staff was incredible especially bell boys - always eager to help and became my friends by the end of the trip. Joey in particular was amazing! Hotel location cannot be beaten especially with the golf cart taxis.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review

Hello Laurie B, Thank you taking some time out to review your recent stay with us. Sounds like you had a great time during your stay! I will make sure to pass along your compliments to the team. We hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Morgan K

Corsica, France
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Maybe a good value at $60 per night. Terrible value at $300 per night. Old, filthy and way, way, way overpriced. Four star rating has to be fueled by employees and pd marketers. Stay away if you are expecting a nice four star hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank VCC-C
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review

Dear VCC-C Thank you for the feedback from your recent visit with us. I was disappointed to learn that we did not provide an outstanding visit and that you did not enjoy the property. This is not of the norm. We do hope you'll give us another try in the future. Thank you again for sharing your comments. Sincerely, Morgan...

Northeast
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Stayed 4 nights on family visit with young adult daughters. We all really enjoyed our stay. Location is great- walking distance to restaurants, bars. Hotel is fun boutique quirky. Nice pool, nice grounds, good fitness center, nice hotel bar/restaurant. Rooms large, well laid out, clean. Staff very pleasant. Free basic wifi ok. Issues: a bit worn around the edges- bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 50sNewEnglander
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review

Dear AOC59, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Saguaro, and greatly appreciate the feedback! We take each guest's feedback to heart in hopes to make each stay more enjoyable than the last. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Scottsdale....

750 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (299)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (103)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (397)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Calma Pool (16)
Viewed
King Room (Pool View) (52)
Viewed
King Suite (Pool View) (80)
Viewed
Pool (39)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (70)
Viewed
Two Double Room (Pool View) (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,541 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
#50 of 75 in Scottsdale
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there's a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it's a fresh face amid Scottsdale's buzzing downtown scene. Guestrooms & Suites: The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room's primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress even further. When it's time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2016• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It's the weather. The golf courses: The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting and event space, with wraparound patios, fireplaces, and a fire pit. We're ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale's business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang's, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Saguaro Scottsdale

Address: 4000 North Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Price Range: $176 - $683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saguaro Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Saguaro Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#41 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Saguaro Scottsdale staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Saguaro Scottsdale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from Building 6 where we were.”
 of 5 bubbles akcache, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the highway”
 of 5 bubbles HenryH993, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was in building one which I wouldn't recommend but not sure if there were nicer rooms elsewhere...”
 of 5 bubbles MH2014747, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“First floor rooms have a great outdoor seating area.”
 of 5 bubbles stephaniedZ122PH, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The hotel has three floors and elevators are not convenient to all rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles marksC1990SO, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5