We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A Sunset Chateau

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (962)
Room & Suite (230)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 11 B&Bs in Sedona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
A Sunset Chateau is a 25 room Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of West Sedona. We have a quiet, hilltop setting with unparalleled views of the red rocks. The property has lush gardens, several patios with tables/chairs, swings and hammocks, a pond/ stream/ waterfall, a heated salt water pool, outdoor Jacuzzi, and fire pit. Each suite includes organic soaps, shampoos and lotions as well as Starbucks(R) coffee. The B&B is owned and run by two artists, which give it a unique, artistic charm, with original paintings and murals throughout the property and individually decorated rooms. We additionally offer a free complimentary concierge services for setting up tours, dinner reservations, and day planning, as well as in-room massage for our guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Highchairs available
Couples massage
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
2,185Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,896
  • 210
  • 51
  • 20
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
ccsfamily wrote a review Yesterday
Geneva, Illinois317 contributions196 helpful votes
What a wonderful place to stay while exploring Sedona. This is a nice size boutique hotel where the rooms are small little apartments. You have a small living/dining area with a kitchen area including a refrigerator and microwave. There is a separate bedroom area with a nice soaker tub, large shower, and a comfortable bed. Outside your door is a front porch area with chairs to admire the views of the beautiful red rock formations. Each morning, a hearty breakfast is provided in the main lobby dining area. You can either order the special of the day or get regular eggs and bacon. We highly recommend the special of the day for breakfast! Each morning it was a gourmet treat with a southwest flair which was delicious and started our day off right before hiking the trails. The staff were all wonderful and we enjoyed our stay. One morning after breakfast, we were standing outside the dining area admiring the view before walking back to our room. Another guest noticed us and took our photo and shared it with us so now we have an actual photo of our mental snapshot.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jennyclark8675309 wrote a review Aug 2022
West Friendship, Maryland12 contributions4 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
My daughter and I were on a cross country road trip to celebrate her graduating college and I booked the Sunset Chateau for our stay in Sedona after reading the reviews. Boy am I glad I did. This place is fantastic! The room was well appointed and beautifully decorated with artwork and furnishings. The place was spotless and cozy. The beds were comfortable and everything was updated. And the view from our room was unbelievable (see picture)! The inner courtyard was spectacular. Everywhere you walked there were flowers, metal sculptures, water features, fire tables, and comfortable sitting areas. It was stunning! The salt pool was refreshing after a hike too. The cafe where breakfast was served was so nice and the breakfast was amazing. We tried the daily specials and they were so flavorful. The owner/staff stopped at our table and gave excellent suggestions for our morning hike (we saw a roadrunner during it!). The Sunset Chateau was conveniently located for hiking the airport mesa loop and easy to get in and out of. Their thoughtful attention to detail was truly amazing. The Sunset Chateau truly was a magical place that I cannot recommend enough. I will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jean Buillet, Owner at A Sunset Chateau
Responded 18 Dec 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at A Sunset Chateau with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your daughter had a fantastic stay with us and that you enjoyed the well-appointed and beautifully decorated room, as well as the stunning inner courtyard with its flowers, sculptures, and water features. We are also glad to hear that you found the beds comfortable and that the view from your room was breathtaking. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the delicious breakfast and appreciated the excellent suggestions for your morning hike. We are glad to hear that A Sunset Chateau was a magical place for you and that you found it convenient for hiking and easy to access. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your positive experience with others. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Suzanne wrote a review 1 Apr
3 contributions
My husband and I stayed in a suite with a view of the red rocks for our anniversary. We found the space to be very comfortable and convenient to activities. The concierge made excellent activity and restaurant recommendations. Highly recommend!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Paige S wrote a review Mar 2024
32 contributions5 helpful votes
We cannot speak highly enough about our recent stay. Breakfasts were excellent - I would go to this hotel just for this! There is a special of the day but also eggs/toast if you didn’t want the special. We had a suite which was plenty of room for our family of 4 - 2 adult kids stayed comfortably on the Murphy bed. The hot tub was an awesome feature that we used every day - and the pool was a nice cold plunge alternating with the hot tub. The hotel is very near all of the hiking trails and west Sedona amenities (grocery stores and restaurants all nearby, Tlaquepaque a short 10 min drive away). Nice, small, welcoming atmosphere- gardens are also lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Blondie wrote a review Mar 2024
6 contributions
I was expecting more from reading the reviews. When I booked the room she suggested a higher up room with better views and said she would make note of the room, but when I checked in I didn’t get that room and basically dismissed my request. The check in girl was not friendly. The room was fine, bed was comfortable. The pool was very small. Looked nothing like I thought it would. Things looked dated and the pool area was one of them. Breakfast was fine, location ok. But there are industrial buildings behind the Sunset Chateau. Also, The view of the red rocks looked so much closer than they actually were.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jean - Christophe Buillet, Owner at A Sunset Chateau
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, this is the owner Janet responding to your review and I am sorry to hear you were not thoroughly satisfied with your stay.  I am the artist who created the pool mural and all the other murals and sculptures on the property, as well as creating original paintings for many of the suites, which apparently you did not appreciate, stating that the pool area and other aspects of our B&B were “dated”.  Most of our guests truly appreciate the fact that our B&B was done with love, originality and extreme attention to detail, (from the room décor to the lush gardens and our unique gourmet breakfasts, which were created by our son) and find their experience with us to be anything but generic. My husband and I are both artists (painter/sculptors) who moved from Paris France to the U.S. who adore what we do and have literally poured our heart and soul into making our B&B an exciting, creative, and restful experience for our guests.  You commented that our salt water pool was very small, however, in proportion to the number of suites we have, our pool size is actually quite normal. And you suggested that the photos are not accurate regarding the proximity of the mountains to our hotel, which baffles us, as our views are beyond spectacular and there are no discrepancies between the photos and reality.  It also appears that you were anticipating a certain suite and were not placed in that specific suite, however our reservationists do not guarantee an exact suite, just a suite type, as all of our suites have their own unique appeal.   We hope will enjoy the remainder of the year and thank you for taking the time to review your stay.  
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jsilve824598 wrote a review Mar 2024
Peoria, Arizona1 contribution
Centrally located to great dining and shopping. In-house breakfast was very impressive both food and service. The room was very clean and comfortable. The views are stunning and gave way for some great photo opportunities.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
gotoAZ86 wrote a review Mar 2024
10 contributions2 helpful votes
Our stay was just okay. The reception at check-in was nothing special. Felt more welcomed at the Home2Suites. The room was nice but not special enough for the price. Our balcony door did not lock. Breakfast seemed like a concoction of everything they had left in the kitchen. Not appetizing at all. Check-out nothing special either. Kind of, okay, see ya! Disappointing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from A Sunset Chateau, Owner at A Sunset Chateau
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are surprised by your comments about our staff as they are so very personable, exuberant and provide so many helpful services for our guests with a smile. Regarding your balcony door, if it did not lock, that is an easy repair but if you did not call the front desk, we would have no way of knowing there was a problem. Regarding our breakfasts, our son created a selection of very creative menu options, using only the finest local ingredients, which definitely depart from the standard American breakfast (omelets/scrambled eggs and bacon). We are sorry that you did not appreciate these personalized touches which are always executed with much love and intentionality. We are a family-run business that takes great pride in providing quality services and unique amenities for our guests. Have a wonderful remainder of the year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
afkenner wrote a review Mar 2024
New Rochelle, New York4 contributions
Private yet convenient to everything in Sedona. Wonderful and knowledgeable staff, lovely property. Spacious and comfortable 1BR suite. Plenty of outdoor seating with glorious red rock vistas. Delicious hot breakfast selection daily.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jean Buillet, Owner at A Sunset Chateau
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at A Sunset Chateau and found our location to be both private and convenient. It's wonderful to hear that you appreciated our staff's knowledge and hospitality, as well as the spacious and comfortable accommodations in our 1BR suite. We're thrilled that you were able to take advantage of the outdoor seating and enjoy the beautiful red rock vistas. We're also glad you enjoyed our delicious hot breakfast selection. We hope to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jennifer S wrote a review Mar 2024
Chetek, Wisconsin1 contribution
100% wonderful stay! This place is gorgeous, relaxing, has everything you need & more! Relaxing yet close to entertainment of many kinds! Thank you to the hard-working staff for providing us with a clean, comfortable place. The food was exceptional!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jean Buillet, Owner at A Sunset Chateau
Responded 2 weeks ago
That's fantastic to hear! We're thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay at A Sunset Chateau. Our team works hard to provide a relaxing and enjoyable experience for all our guests, and we're delighted that you found everything you needed and more. It's great to know that you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and the proximity to entertainment options. Thank you for your kind words about our staff's hard work and the exceptional food. We hope to welcome you back for another fantastic stay in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TeeKay1971 wrote a review Mar 2024
Scottsdale, Arizona1 contribution
About 5 yrs ago I found Sunset Chateau last minute on a Saturday evening after hiking in Sedona, I was lucky to get a room as they're usually booked. I spoke to one of the owners and they made special arrangements as the front office was closing for the night. This place has better views than the majority of high end resorts that I've stayed at in Sedona. No matter the weather you wake up to beautiful views out your window and patio. I have now been there 5 + times and have referred family and friends who also had an amazing experience. It's low-key, every room has it's own vibe and unique decor. The couple who own the place mingle with patrons in the breakfast room.. I live in AZ and there's nothing quite like this.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jean Buillet, Owner at A Sunset Chateau
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us at A Sunset Chateau! We're thrilled to hear that you had another awesome experience with us and that our views continue to impress you. It's great to know that you've enjoyed the unique decor of our rooms and the low-key atmosphere we strive to provide. We appreciate your loyalty over the years and for referring your family and friends to us. It's always a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable stays in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sedona area.
PRICE RANGE
S$498 - S$761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
a sunset chateau hotel sedona
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaSedona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

A SUNSET CHATEAU: UPDATED 2024 B&B Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,018 Photos (Sedona, AZ) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about A Sunset Chateau
Which popular attractions are close to A Sunset Chateau?
Nearby attractions include Sedona Airport Overlook (0.6 km), Wilson Canyon Trail (1.0 km), and Mexidona (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at A Sunset Chateau?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at A Sunset Chateau?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at A Sunset Chateau?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at A Sunset Chateau?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to A Sunset Chateau?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Jose Restaurant, Senor Bob's Hot Dogs, Burgers & Subs, and Dahl & Di Luca Ristorante Italiano.
Are there opportunities to exercise at A Sunset Chateau?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at A Sunset Chateau?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to A Sunset Chateau?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Honanki (15.5 km).
Does A Sunset Chateau have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.