We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shearwater Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Shearwater Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

685 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Shearwater Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 656: English reviews
Malahide, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were part of a large group of families with children and adults with special needs to stay at the Shearwater for 3/4 nights. The staff were amazing and friendly. Nothing was a bother to them, the service was great and the facilities perfect. We couldn't fault them on anything. Thanks for a super mid term break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aideen111
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aideen11, Thank you so much for the Great review. We too had much fun dealing with your diverse event. Thank you for choosing us and I believe we may see you again next year. Kind regards Michael

dublin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A huge thank you to the personel,in particular The Manager, the front office staff and the amazing barman who looked after a group of 48 french tourists and the excellent service provided.Rooms-fabulous, very spacious and some with balconies. Beautiful Bar / restaurant with fabulous food,an excellent menu diverse and modern. Its refreshing and innovative. The Hotel itself is very modern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allison_omara1
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Allison, Thank you for the great review.. We are delighted your group enjoyed your stay and that it was all that you needed. I'm glad I had an opportunity to speak with them but the french is a little rusty since I last used it. Hope to see you again next year. Kind regards Michael

Durham, UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a group of friends who were cycling from Galway to Dublin. This was our first stop-off. There was a wedding going on when we were there but we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff, including the GM. We were allowed to keep our bikes in the business centre overnight. Food was great, bar busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bordinel
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bordinel, Great Review thank you so much. It was a pleasure to meet with you too and I'm glad everyone made it safely to Galway. We do host a lot of Charity Cycles due to our proximity to the routes used by the cyclist groups so we are used to storing bikes and washing and drying Kit with our...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We attended a wedding at the Shearwater Hotel, this is a wonderful venue for a wedding. This was a very large party, the food was wonderful, service excellent and I would recommend this hotel to any one having a larger than 400 guests. The buffet served on arrival was plentifuland varied.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbarbar63
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear barbarbar63, I am delighted you enjoyed the day and that all the aspects that go into making a wedding great were all to your satisfaction. The wedding segment of our business is growing all the time as we see the fruits of our investment in the product and service showing a definite return. Next year we still have some...

Reviewed 24 October 2016

Was staying with my two children. Room smelt of stale smoke, receptionist stated it was not a smoking room. She said someone must have smoked in it, if this was true why did smoke detectors not go of. Even the bed clothes and our own clothes smelt of smoke,this was definitely a smoking room. Breakfast was terrible , will not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Patricia N
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patricia, Thank you for your review. Allow me to apologize for what seems to have been a sub standard stay. The hotel has a no smoking policy which we strictly enforce as best we can. We do not even allow vaping in the hotel to try to make sure we do not have issues of the nature you comment...

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner as we were visiting a friend in the local area. An ideal location in Ballinasloe and I found it very modern, fresh and would highly recommend. The check in process was smooth, friendly and professional. I cannot fault the outstanding service that we received from staff members. Sue Haskett who is one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J H
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JH, Thank you for the kind review. I am delighted that you found our team so helpful especially sue who is often mentioned on here. its great when team members are singled out for special mention. Thanks again for taking the time. Kind regards Michael

monasterboice
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is the fourth time we have stayed in this hotel over the last three months while visiting the area and friends,the staff could not be more helpful and friendly,we have had the bar meals and ate in the restaurant a few times,there is every choice for breakfast and again the staff are again great,we used the leisure center every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alison c
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Alison, Thank you so much for the great review and your kind comments regarding the facilities here at the hotel. Its great to see regulars coming back again and again. Kind regards Michael

Berkeley, CA
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting family in the surrounding area. Hotel was very accommodating and comfortable. Staff were very attentive to set us up in a room away from all the various parties, weddings and other celebratory groups that were there at the same time. Room was very comfortable, clean and quiet! Perfect for us to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAMermaid
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CAMermaid, Many thanks for the great review. We look forward to your next visit.. when I hope to be able to say helo in person. Kind regards Michael

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

A little pricey, £148 for one night B&B on a positive note the room had a Big comfortable bed, it was very clean and we ate a good breakfast, friendly staff although the service at breakfast wasnt brilliant and we had to ask two or three time for our pot of tea. Saying that we would more than likelt stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cathy C, Thank you for the kind review and the great comments about Cleanliness,the bed and the breakfast. Thank you also for the observations about breakfast service which we will take on board. We pride ourselves on the complete package so the areas that our guests highlight as not up to scratch we re-double our efforts on. Thanks Again...

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Attended a friend's wedding here a month ago, was such a lovely place. Staff couldn't do enough for guests and for the wedding party and the food was fantastic. The wedding arrangement was fab and I wouldn't hesitate to let someone else know about it. Room we stayed in was lovely too. Would love to come back to stay again,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiflower90
Michael H, General Manager at Shearwater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fiflower90, I am delighted like many more you enjoyed your stay and the wedding you attended. Our wedding business has gone from strength to strength over the past year with continued investment in this area and an up grading of our service style. We hope that we may see you again in the not too distant future. Kind regards...

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballinasloe
0.5 km away
Gullane's Hotel & Conference Centre
21.8 km away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,671 reviews
28.0 km away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
1,848 reviews
21.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
18.4 km away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#8 of 9 in Athlone
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Shearwater Hotel

Address: Marina Point, Ballinasloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Ballinasloe
Price Range: $74 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shearwater Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Shearwater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Shearwater Ballinasloe
Hotel Carlton Shearwater
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shearwater Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Shearwater Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Use the free underground car park”
 of 5 bubbles PatW798, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure it's not a smokers room”
 of 5 bubbles 102patrician, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If not part of a big event there, ask for a room away from where the groups are lodged. Higher up floors might have some view of area.”
 of 5 bubbles CAMermaid, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to check the security of your doors”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewPellowe, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Overnight truck deliveries to stores on the front side. Perhaps quieter in the rear!”
 of 5 bubbles mmi6, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay