We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ghan House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ghan House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 305: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful location for walks, exploring boutiques and local history. We were there on Thursday and Friday nights. Tasting menu on first night (available Mid week) and a la carte Friday. Quality, presentation and taste all first class. Service friendly. 3 doubles and one single in main house. Well appointed. Old fashioned hospitality. Go and enjoy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been recommending Ghan House and Carlingford to anyone who'll listen since my two night break there. It does all the important stuff well: comfortable bed, crisp linen, large bathroom and great shower; excellent breakfast and outstanding dinner in a glorious setting. And welcoming friendly hospitality. What sets it apart is the location: Carlingford is a delightful surprise with history,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fs001
Belfast
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had heard a friend gush about this place for years, so decided to book 1 night as a brief getaway from Belfast in the lead up to Xmas. We would definitely return thanks to the location, friendly but non-intrusive service, and good intent of the staff. It is by no means a flawless property. If you prefer the perfection of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flipsakenoneleft
Newry, N Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment I stepped into my room where music was playing, until I got back into the car to go home, I felt so relaxed amd welcome at Ghan House. Really comfortable bed, beautiful bar and lounge, gorgeous 4 course meal and lovely breakfast. This is a very special place. All the staff were friendly and helpful. This was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fiona3141
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Thank you for returning Fiona - it's the most common attribute guests associate with us - 'relaxing'. Most important, as you say, is to have a 'really comfortable bed' - sets you up for the day! I'm glad you enjoyed all that we have to offer - our welcome, being friendly & helpful, a 'gorgeous 4 course dinner & breakfast',...

Reviewed 27 November 2016

We took over Ghan house for a wedding and it was superb. A beautiful house in a serene setting. The staff were friendly and efficient, thanks especially to Paul and Orla. The food was delicious. Lovely homemade preserves were served with breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. The bedrooms were comfortable and remote button for turning on the shower was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

To have Ghan House exclusively for your very own wedding is the only way to go. Glad you enjoyed us - as much as we enjoyed looking after you and your guests! Thanks for taking the time to write about us and enjoy all we have to offer.

bray ireland
Reviewed 23 November 2016

I was really looking forward to dinner here after hearing about it for years. I had lamb. It was fairly cold and was served with one small piece of onion and a small lamb sausage. Very peculiar. No vegetables on side except some nice mashed potato. The gravy was insipid and looked like very thick Bisto. The table top was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank michaelsheridan
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Yes, you are correct - our reputation is based over many years – 23 years now. As you say, you heard many good things about us over many years from many different people. We value consistency and quality of food and service. We value all our guests, many of them returning time & again. You visited us, once. I’m sorry...

Ratoath, Ireland
Reviewed 17 November 2016

My wife and I had a wee break up here recently. We have wanted to stay here for quite a while having been regular visitors to the beautiful village of Carlingford. The house did not disappoint at all. From the moment we drove in the gate and the walked through the green door until we left, was very enjoyable. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun K
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Well Shaun It's amazing how people like you can really dig what we do. We love the character of Ghan House and glad most of our guests like you do too! And yes, you are correct - it's great to have the grand piano played - however - guests who used to sit near the piano - could not hear...

Reviewed 16 November 2016

I don't know why I've never got around to write a review of Carlingford and Ghan House before now. Maybe it's because I've been to the village so often, and enjoyed so many great nights in Ghan House that it feels like second nature. Whatever the reason, there's no time like the present to make amends. Everyone who knows me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc C
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Well Marc If Carlsberg could write reviews - they should contact you! You're appreciation of all that we do - it's the little details that really do matter to us also! You are obviously able to enjoy your self when you go away. And enjoy the finer things in life. Thank you for taking the time to write about us....

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

We booked here for our first wedding anniversary. We wanted somewhere from the blue book that was not too far from Dublin and had open fires as we both love to relax by a fire. We had the same issue that I now see other reviewers referred to-the cold welcome we received from the front of house gentleman. He wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CaitDublin_Ireland
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

“We have found that the welcome from the House is always genuine and each member of staff there seems to take personal & professional pride in their role.” “The rooms are incredibly comfortable and you can tell that each piece of furniture has been chosen with care to compliment the overall feel of the room. I particularly love the bed...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 November 2016

My husband and I have visited Ghan House 3 times in a little over a year, most recently last week, and hope to revisit soon after Christmas. That's how much we've come to love this family run country house. It has proven a haven for both of us during challenging times and has allowed us to relax in style. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mvron
Paul C, Owner at Ghan House, responded to this review

Isn't is amazing how most guests who stay with us really do understand that we enjoy working and being here as much you do staying here! We are continually looking at ways of improvement and that is why we are recognised over a long period of time - since 1998 - by many of the professional guidebooks who benchmark us...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlingford
0.3 km away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carlingford
606 reviews
0.5 km away
Oystercatcher Lodge
Oystercatcher Lodge
#2 of 2 in Carlingford
61 reviews
11.4 km away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
15.7 km away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#4 of 7 in Dundalk
185 reviews
2.6 km away
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
MourneView Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 13 in Carlingford
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Ghan House

Address: 2 Ghan Road, Carlingford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Carlingford
Price Range: $225 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghan House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ghan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghan House Hotel Carlingford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ghan House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ghan House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Each room is a different size. Rooms also in lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles KateL816, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“In the main house ask for the queen bed. It's not their premier room, but we liked it better: larger bed, big bathroom & mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles flipsakenoneleft, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay in front facing rooms for the best views”
 of 5 bubbles MarcC601, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles C1579MVbrianc, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Vire form our room in the main house was beautiful - looking out to the MOurne Mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles gwalshom, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay