We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cliff House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Cliff House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,504 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,466: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went for 2hr pure bliss treatment at the spa. Treatments were fab-pure heaven-therapist was lovely. Disappointed with relaxation room-a bit cold so we didnt say there long-went back to sauna/steam room to heat up!! The changing rooms are fine but be careful of the showers-the temperature of the water can go from freezing to scalding hot in seconds. Overall an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I brought my mum recently to the Cliff House for her birthday and the staff could not have been more helpful in making it a very special experience for her. We had a wonderful meal in the House Restaurant and enjoyed pre (and post!) dinner cocktails in the bar. The breakfast is almost like afternoon tea and should be enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed just one night recently. Cliff House met all expectations. Wonderful location, beautiful decor. Friendly and helpful staff. The House Restaurant deserves its Michelin star and that second star may not take long arriving.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fionn2000
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two nights at the Cliff House hotel over New Year's in 2016/7. What a perfect place for a quality, relaxing and peaceful few days. The hotel is beautiful and decorated is a contemporary style and is perfectly nestled into cliff side overlooking the Ardmore bay. From the moment you turn up you are made to feel very welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerard O
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place for a night away. Fantastic welcome from the door and reception staff who couldn't be more helpful. Car was unloaded at the door and valet parked. The well appointed suite was very spacious and comfortable. Well decorated bathroom with big bath and shower. Sumptuous towels and bath robes. Very comfortable bed good nights sleep with the sound of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin H
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect night away, amazing location, amazing service, food unbelievable, service excellent.ate in bar and Michelin starred restaurant, both excellent so if you don't fancy full Michelin star dining, you won't be disappointed by bar food/menu. Nothing more to say, excellent.

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 28years
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 28years Thank you so much for visiting us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely place. We were staying further down the cliff road but managed to secure a booking in the Cliff House Bar. The kids and 2 adults (us) were seated down the rear of the bar/restaurant which was perfect. It was a quiet Friday. The head of the wait staff, a lovely man from Porto called Nelson, was so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo20152015
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo20152015 Thank you so much for your very kind review. My team will be thrilled to read it as it was our pleasure to look after you and your lovely family. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon for longer the next time, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has to be experienced to fully appreciate it - what I write cannot do justice. Superb location, well designed modern building perfectly fitting into the landscape. A fantastic Michelin Start restaurant and another eating area in the bar - the best 'barfood' you are likely to taste in Ireland. Superb staff. Exquisite rooms. Lovely spa/leisure area. We met...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NoelPrendiville
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NoelPrendiville Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back the next time, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Dublin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a very special few days here after Christmas. Loved the friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere. Restaurant food was a gastronomic journey where all of the senses were engaged. Quite exceptional. Hotel's design is very clever as it blends into the environment and is sympathetic to the natural scenery surrounding it. Cliff walk only adds to the experience. Cant wait...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeanGeal
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SeanGeal Thank you so much for visiting us and for your very kind review. We hope to see you back soon, Kind regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is quite boring and way over priced. The staff are so over the top posh it makes you so uncomfortable unless your into that act. The restaurant while have some very tasty dishes is filled with a lot of put on decoration which is like eating play dough or dust. It's way over done in my opinion. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Damien O
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Damien O Very sorry that we were not your cup of tea and apologies for the oversight on the in room delivery. Kind regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

931 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (614)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
View from Room (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Dining (68)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (238)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Balcony Suite (51)
Viewed
Deluxe Seaview Room (44)
Viewed
Deluxe Terrace Room (45)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Terrace Suite (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
24.2 km away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,513 reviews
17.4 km away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.9 km away
Round Tower Hotel
Round Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ardmore
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
278 reviews
9.3 km away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#1 of 8 in Youghal
333 reviews
0.0 km away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Clonakilty
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cliff House Hotel.A Hotel For Seaside Luxury Regarded as one of the finest small luxury five-star hotels in Ireland, The Cliff House Hotel is a 39-room Irish seaside boutique hotel in the traditional fishing village of Ardmore. Our privately owned hotel also features an intimate Irish destination spa as well as the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland outside Dublin. The building seems to defy gravity, clinging to a cliff on the south side of Ardmore Bay where there has long been a fishing village. From sun-drenched terraces and private balconies it is possible to see Ardmore’s golden sands, lobster pots and dolphins that play out on the water. All our luxury rooms and suites are sea facing while many are interconnected to provide family-friendly configurations. Our intimate destination spa, The Well, is a key attraction. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Price Range: $298 - $604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ardmore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth spending the bit extra for a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles D4456EWemmad, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book dinner early. The restaurant is always busy”
 of 5 bubbles MartinH325, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for the deluxe rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 23jasono, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Delux Balcony Rooms are worth the extra cost.”
 of 5 bubbles 360martinaf, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All have great views anytime we stayed”
 of 5 bubbles 424carolek, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay