We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cliff House Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Cliff House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cliff House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,565: English reviews
Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having been countless times to the bar in the Cliff House over the past couple of years, I feel I am in a good position to comment on a really poor experience this past Saturday. My family and I called in for some drinks and since then the whole experience has been nagging me, I think in part by my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niamh27
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Niamh27 Thank you for your review and for your visit. It is a pity indeed that you had a poor experience and for this I must apologise. However we always prefer to hear our criticism directly so that we can actually do something about it at the time. This way the guest can leave someway satisfied that their complaint...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent rooms are very luxurious. The beds are the best beds I've ever slept in. Tip: sleep with the balcony door open so can hear the sea and the seagulls. The room maids will not bother you with it but the close the curtains, dim the lights, move your blankets without you noticing it. You feel like a queen. Excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ariane K
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ariane K Thank you so much for your great review and great advice too! Hope to see you back soon, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

FIVEMILETOWN
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have just returned home from a stay here and it was outstanding, superb location but what really makes the Cliff special are the staff. The staff are always happy and very helpful and make one feel at home. Can't wait to return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hrfmt
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hrfmt So nice to hear, thank you. My team will be delighted to read that you enjoyed you visit with us. We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

First time 3 day visit and hotel, food, staff, and accommodation were what we anticipated; EXCELLENT++. However, for us the real gems were found in exploring Ardmore, the cliff walks and historical interests. Outside of hotel and Ardmore the real gem was the Waterford Greenway. Hotel reception staff recommended O'Mahony Cycles who kitted us out with natural pleasure in delivering...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PMacS
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PMacS Thank you so much for your great review - we are delighted that you discovered all the delightful things to do in the area , especially the new Waterford Greenway. Look forward to welcoming you back again some time, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an excellent hotel. The views from the rooms are outstanding with ocean views from every room. The staff however is what makes the place. The entire staff that we came in contact with were phenomenal from the front desk, to the bar and restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike K Thank you so much - my team will be delighted to read your lovely comments about them. We all hope to see you back soon, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Grand Cayman
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a phenomenal property with outstanding staff. We were there for one night and the views are outrageous. I could have stayed for a week. The staff are amazing, very attentive,nice and accommodating. We will be back if we come back to Ireland. The restaurant has innovative cuisine with outstanding staff.

Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gail K Thank you so much for your review and your comments. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel plays at the higher end of the market in the bracket with luxury hotels like Ballynahinch Castle in Connemara. While the food is absolutely excellent we were very disappointed with the hotel, and particularly the service. It felt more like a Best Western. Everyone was very friendly, but either they were understaffed, are having trouble hiring good people...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MikeKellyIE
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MikeKellyIE Thank you for your review and your comments. I take them on board - we can easily rectify the service issues you encountered but unfortunately the design of the hotel is what it is and not much we can change there. Try us again and you will see the difference, Kind regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have visited the Cliff house twice on two separate visits home to Waterford. The views are spectacular, and Ardmore itself is gorgeous and buzzing with activity. On both visits we were lucky to have glorious weather making the views across the ocean even more appealing. My First visit was for lunch with my husband last September, we done the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 857travelbug02
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear857travelbug02 Thank you so much for your review and for your visits and we hope to see you back for longer next time, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Group of 4 of us had dinner on Saturday night in The Cliff House Restaurant. The food was exceptional. Every course was completely thought out by the chef and explained by members of staff. Worth every penny, such a treat!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BMaria89
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BMaria89 Thank you so much. Really kind of you. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at The Cliff House on two occasions and I have to say both were extremely memorable. It's a top quality hotel in a beautiful location. The hotel is built into the cliff which gives a panoramic view of the surrounding sea which is really breathtaking! The rooms are immaculate with a modern contemporary feel with extremely comfortable beds....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yv0nnek
Adriaan_Bartels_13, General Manager at Cliff House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear yv0nnek Such a great review - thank you! Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime, Kindest regards Adriaan Bartels General Manager

969 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (652)
Viewed
View from Room (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (101)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (261)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (312)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Balcony Suite (51)
Viewed
Deluxe Seaview Room (44)
Viewed
Deluxe Terrace Room (45)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Terrace Suite (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardmore
24.3 km away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,593 reviews
17.4 km away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
8.8 km away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Round Tower Hotel
Round Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ardmore
75 reviews
88.9 km away
Dunmore House Hotel
Dunmore House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Clonakilty
383 reviews
40.0 km away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cliff House Hotel.A Hotel For Seaside Luxury Regarded as one of the finest small luxury five-star hotels in Ireland, The Cliff House Hotel is a 39-room Irish seaside boutique hotel in the traditional fishing village of Ardmore. Our privately owned hotel also features an intimate Irish destination spa as well as the only Michelin-starred restaurant in Ireland outside Dublin. The building seems to defy gravity, clinging to a cliff on the south side of Ardmore Bay where there has long been a fishing village. From sun-drenched terraces and private balconies it is possible to see Ardmore’s golden sands, lobster pots and dolphins that play out on the water. All our luxury rooms and suites are sea facing while many are interconnected to provide family-friendly configurations. Our intimate destination spa, The Well, is a key attraction. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliff House Hotel

Address: Middle Road | Ardmore Bay, Ardmore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Ardmore
Price Range: $300 - $692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cliff House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Ardmore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cliff House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a balcony room for a fantastic view”
620richiem, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Book sea view room with balcony”
PMacS, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a room near reception so you don't have to deal with the warren.”
MikeKellyIE, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with sea view”
yv0nnek, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Terrace suite has two balconies. All rooms have sea view”
LovesToGoPlaces, 2 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
Relais & ChâteauxUS$566
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates