We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dernwood Farm

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heathfield
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Dernwood Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Start your review of Dernwood Farm
 Click to rate
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

This place is absolutely everything I hoped it could be and more. Amanda and Emma were fantastic right from my pestering then with emails, to checking us in and more. If you want luxury camping where you can park your car next to your tent and pump your beds up from the cigarette lighter then go elsewhere. However, if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Domble
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We came here for a friend's reunion and stayed in the safari tent. The location was fantastic. A 2 minute walk from the car park. The shop was adequate and had everything that we needed, although we brought quite a lot of items with us and did not require much else. The lighting was very good with Victorian oil lamps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Daughter & I treated my friend & son to a glamping experience for her 40th and had a brilliant time. The cabin is amazing and Amanda kindly allowed us come for just the one night (normally 2 nt min) which worked perfectly. Who wouldn't love a cabin with a wall that turns into an outside patio! You are completely in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brownamanda977
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

This was our second visit to little dernwood and I can honestly say it was brilliant!! Amanda was great, beyond helpful and made us feel very welcome!! I cannot understand why people would post negative comments on here, if you don't want to participate in Wild camping then don't come here, it's really simple!! Everything (including the walk) is on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mell D
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Negatives: Poor toilet/shower cleanliness, expensive firewood, disengaged staff, long walk from car park (which you have to pay for) to camp site. Positives: Plenty of space, safe for kids to play, nice local pub. What needs improving: Regular checks (and action) on toilet and shower facilities. Lights not working, lack of hot water. Better, more hygienic facilities for washing up....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisajanegooch
Amanda N, Owner at Dernwood Farm, responded to this review

I would just like to clarify a point from this review.. yes there is a walk from the carpark - I make this abundantly clear on our website (if you don't want to walk then PLEASE, DON'T COME AND STAY WITH US) but I'm not quite sure what the 'which you have to have to pay for' comment as if...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We checked into this campsite for the whole of the August Bank Holiday weekend from Friday 26 till Monday 29 August. In that whole time, in the main camping area, the toilets were left uncleaned. I finally saw a woman sweeping out the main area of the toilets where, as well as wash hand basins, there were two sinks to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yeu-Ing
Amanda N, Owner at Dernwood Farm, responded to this review

HI, thanks for your review, I ( Amanda - the owner) cleaned the toilets every day over the bank holiday, one of them was blocked on the Saturday am, and by 10.30 it was sorted. At no point - in my sweeping duties - did I ignore the toilets. Firewood is for sale at a price inline with all other...

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Second visit to this beautiful location with family. Site is much improved by the addition of the shower block. Wild camping made easy. This will probably become an annual event for us. So relaxing being in the woods. A blanket of stars in the sky and bats circling overhead while we grilled top quality meat from the farm shop. Highly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zaid G
London, UK
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Really enjoyed our camping this weekend at Dernwood Farm. The little shop at the entrance is useful - and the camping field we were in (Wild Camping) was just right - not too busy, but plenty of people around enjoying the sunshine. The loos are not brilliant - and it is quite a trek when you have a little child...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank francesl
UK
Reviewed 7 August 2016

This is a great way to experience 'wild camping' with a few basic extras. We stayed in our own bell tent in the wild camping field: and it's just that, a field for camping. Perfect.Toilets a short walk away, hot showers 400m away, a shop selling meat from the farm and firewood on which to cook it. Just a really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agoodtrip
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

If you could sort out the cleaning of the showers and toilets then this would be a lovely campsite to visit. We were camping over a weekend and they did not appear to be cleaned at all on sunday with one of the toilets being blocked and the bin over flowing all over the floor.We are regular campers and these...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kirstiw792

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heathfield
5.1 km away
The Forge
The Forge
#1 of 1 in Halland
159 reviews
22.7 km away
Woodside B&B
Woodside B&B
#1 of 2 in Staplecross
166 reviews
2.1 km away
May Garland Inn
May Garland Inn
#1 of 1 in Horam
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Thimbles
Thimbles
#2 of 8 in Heathfield
65 reviews
0.0 km away
Horam Manor Touring Park
5.5 km away
Iwood Bed & Breakfast
Iwood Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Heathfield
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Dernwood Farm

Address: Little Dernwood Farm Dern Lane, Heathfield TN21 0PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Heathfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dernwood Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If it's windy, stay away from the main Wild Camping field - There are no trees to protect you.”
 of 5 bubbles nicksfault, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Entrance side of the Wild Camping ground (East Side) sees the longest sunset.”
 of 5 bubbles Plyers69, 8 Jun 2015 | Read review
“There is an option to go camping 'wild' with basic facilities but there are also options for boutique camping.”
 of 5 bubbles nissevisser, 10 May 2015 | Read review
“The encampment is worth booking over the wild camping field.”
 of 5 bubbles Liebfrau, 18 Aug 2014 | Read review
“arrive early to get a good pitch”
 of 5 bubbles Beanroundtheworld, 21 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5