We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Custom House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Custom House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

531 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Old Custom House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 530: English reviews
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016

After popping in while local in 2015, we decided to stay for a night in 2016. Reception was friendly and welcoming, and the rooms are very well comfortable. Getting to the rooms is a maze of corridors, but it's an old building. We didn't eat in the evening here as we were booked in elsewhere. But breakfast was very good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Doug T
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful review! I am glad you stayed with us and found our staff friendly, and rooms comfortable. We are proud of our selection of award winning real ales, for which we have won Best Cask Ale Pub in the managed estate twice in a row. We will ensure we have plenty...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2016

This is a great spot to base yourself in Padstow, right next to the harbour. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished, and the staff are all very helpful. A bit of noise filters up from the bar, but this usually stops around 11.00, and then the silence, comfy bed, and thick curtains will see you through until the seagulls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review, we are fortunate to have such a wonderful location and are glad you enjoyed it! We hope you choose to stay with us again next time you visit Padstow!

Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

In Padstow for Easter week and ate here twice, good food, Tribute ale what more could you want. Even though it got busy on Bank Holiday Monday we still got a table for 7 of us and the food came together. Good flavour and quality. Definitely go back when back in Padstow. Have to say my partner said the fish...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craig M
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate your lovely comments, which I will of course pass onto our teams. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Having stayed here before, I considered myself lucky to get a booking for the Easter bank holiday. Let me start by saying, the location is what this Inn is all about. The harbour area is literally outside the door. Although the Inn has no parking, there is a car park opposite but you better get there early or very late....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary O
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments that help us improve the service we offer. I am very disappointed that this time you did not enjoy your stay as much as you had hoped. We will take on board your feedback regarding breakfast, and will look into improving consistency and speed of service. I very much hope you...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Had a few drinks, it's got a great atmosphere and feel! Lovely cosy sofas and a roaring fire :) staff seemed very friendly and food looked nice (but we didn't have any). Looking to return to Padstow for longer and will come here for sure..... :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James D
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am very pleased you found your visit comfortable and staff friendly, and we look forward to welcoming you back! We have some rooms with lovely views over the harbour that might make lovely accommodation for your next visit!

Portland
Reviewed 29 March 2016

All the staff here were exceptionally warm, friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a superior room with a view without asking. The breakfast was really good too. Dinner in the restaurant was above average, I'd like to say it was better but it was just not very hot. However they were extremely busy the two nights that we stayed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PortlandNicki
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! I appreciate your kind comments about our staff and service, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

We visited this pub a couple times during our stay in Cornwall. The food was very good indeed, and being able to have the dog with us was a major plus. Definitely recommend for a nice relaxed lunch. My only gripe is my mussels were a little gritty, but these things happen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethP1989
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! I am glad you enjoyed your meals, and well behaved dogs are always welcome! We hope you choose to return in the near future!

Kent
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Recently returned from 3 nights stay at the Old Custom Inn. The hotel was perfect it was very clean and the rooms were modern, we had a lovely view over looking the harbour. The hotel is in an amazing location on the corner of the harbour. There is no parking however the pay and display opposite is £7 for 24hours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K B
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am delighted you felt your stay here was a perfect one! We are very fortunate to be in so beautiful a location, and I am glad you enjoyed it. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2016

Excellent location, right on the harbour, some building works going on, which is about to be finished next week, but didn't bother us. Breakfast on the first day was a bit hit and miss, lady seemed to get confused. But the second and third day, perfect. the room was on the first floor and overlooked the harbour out of two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank M2bfx
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased you enjoyed your rooms harbour views, and found your bed very comfortable. I apologise about the Wi Fi, we understand this can be an important need for many of our guests and we have undertaken an audit to locate any poor signal areas and will be ensuring this is corrected as...

Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

I booked 2 nights here as a Christmas present for my fiancé. We were both extremely happy with the choice. The beds and rooms are very comfortable. The location is great if you want to explore Padstow. And Rick Stein's seafood restaurant is a 30 second walk away. My only gripe, and this is minor, is that I wish there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David W
StAustellManagement, Manager at Old Custom House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It is very pleasing to see you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the our location ideal! We appreciate your comments about breakfast and we will be looking to expand upon your choice in the near future. We very much hope to welcome you back soon!

172 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padstow
0.2 km away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,378 reviews
5.5 km away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
375 reviews
3.1 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Old Mill House
The Old Mill House
#4 of 58 in Padstow
197 reviews
3.2 km away
Molesworth Manor
Molesworth Manor
#1 of 2 in Little Petherick
250 reviews
4.0 km away
The Harlyn Inn
The Harlyn Inn
#25 of 58 in Padstow
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling within sight of the open sea at the mouth of the tranquil Camel Estuary, Padstow, in Cornwall, has always been a thriving fishing port and commercial centre for north Cornwall. At the heart of the town and overlooking the medieval harbour is the Old Custom House, now a stylish and intimate place to stay. Standing on the quayside, the Old Custom House is still one of the finest buildings in the town. Today it is famous for its fine food, award winning ales, elegant, intimate accommodation and for its luxurious Beauty Studio. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Custom House Inn

Address: Inn South Quay, Padstow PL28 8BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow
Price Range: $207 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Custom House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Custom House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Custom House Hotel Padstow
Old Custom House Padstow
Old Custom House Inn Padstow, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Custom House Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
West Drayton, United Kingdom
12 days ago
1 month ago
West Sussex, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Old Custom House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early.”
Wookie1957, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“request one at the front for the view”
274maggig, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have views of the harbour and some do not. Choose carefully from the options rather than on price only.”
  • Narrow WC access
christopherm94, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for one overlooking the harbour”
stephencharless, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the front can be affected by noise from boats early in the morning.”
Q4450TZpaulb, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5