We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Hart Hotel

PricelineUS$107*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The White Hart Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The White Hart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 264: English reviews
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

The White Hart is a smart old coaching inn right in the centre of this pleasant little town. There is no hotel parking but there is a good sized car park just further along Station Road. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and our room (number 4) was a good size and nicely decorated and furnished in typical market hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnhouston2
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. The White Hart is an ancient listed building and every room is different and has its own quirks! Unfortunately, Room 4 does have a height issue in the bathroom. However, some guests do prefer a bath to a shower. Provided we have an alternative room available, we are happy to...

Warfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

6 of us stayed there on a Saturday night after a party locally. We all stayed in the Mews, which was ideal. Polite & friendly staff, clean & comfortable rooms with nice decor, which were all a good size. The Full English breakfast was great - particularly the black pudding!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJ_Frida
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review and we are delighted that The Mews suited your requirements, it is always popular with groups. Our black pudding, like our Scotch eggs, seem to be proving a very popular choice on our menu! We hope you will come and see us again soon.

Reviewed 17 September 2016

Stayed at the hotel whilst attending a family wedding in Bovey Tracey. Our room was no. 8 - the only negative comment, but totally out fault for not requesting a lower level as my husband uses a walking stick. The room was great and lovely to have a big deep bath! We didn't have an evening meal but the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The White Hart is an ancient, listed building and some of the stairways and corridors could be described as 'quaint'! We always like to try and make our guests as comfortable as possible and, had we had an alternative room available to better suit your husband, we would have gladly moved you. We always ask...

Reviewed 15 September 2016

We stayed here for Widdicombe Fair in September. Well what can I stay a lovely hotel full of charm and great staff. The Hotel has a lovely feel and decor We stayed in the mews 50 yds from the hotel and the room was clean and tastefully decorated, We enjoyed a fabulous 3 course dinner in the restaurant and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do like to support local suppliers and use local ingredients wherever we can in our menus. We hope to see you again soon.

South Zeal
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Eighteen of us booked in for a three day walking holiday with a few dogs. We were all made very welcome in this excellent hotel. Karen Kitshoff the manager had been enormously helpful organising ordering the food in advance for everyone. Small changes which could have been irritating to the staff were handled with aplomb and a smile. The bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tommydickydougie
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review! We do appreciate customer feedback and it is great to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Dartmoor is a fabulous place for walking and Moretonhampstead is an ideal base from which to explore. Many walkers have their dogs with them and we always make them welcome. The team here does...

Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Birthday, Sunday lunch for 6 booked on the day a bit last minute, no room in restaurant so booked a table in the bar. two lamb, two beef, two sea bass. All food was really nice, and all came out together. scotch egg starter was very tip top. sea bass also went down well. food all very well presented, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cupoftea6969
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. Sunday lunch is a very popular time for us, so it is always best to book, but delighted we were able​ to accommodate you in the bar and that everything was to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

South Glous
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

This is our second visit , even better than the first. Small bedroom but has all you need. Under £100 including breakfast, the staff and service is exceptional. Three stars but service better than four, even five. Small touches like bringing drinks to your table in the lounge and offering to then take them to your dinner table are above...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weebaldy
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, it is much appreciated! The team does work hard to ensure guests have a great stay and it is heartening to hear your comments about our levels of service. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Was booked in by the firm I was working for, as a place close to Exeter.... It's actually about 45 mins on country roads... But the hotel is lovely and immaculate , there is no parking but that's often what you get in small villages, My room was a budget double , lovely en-suite All the normal bits and bobs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcolm g
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and we are pleased to hear that we got it (mostly!) right for you. We do have quieter rooms, so when you stay with us again, do please request one. We invest a lot in having quality beds and are frequently told how comfy they are, sorry yours kept you...

Wallingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Although some rooms can be a little noisy (as are many hotels I stay in, which is why I always pack ear plugs) just ask for a quieter room and you will not be disappointed. I have been staying here for well over 25 years. When Peter Morgan and his poodles left for the sun over 20 years ago, various...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy D
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review - we really value customer feedback and your comments are wonderful. We work hard to ensure the White Hart retains and welcoming feel while always maintaining high standards in food and housekeeping. It is especially heartening to know you have been staying at the hotel for such a long time and feel we...

London
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stopped here for (originally) cream teas but after seeing the menu we ordered lunch. Never had a foot long panini and proper chips, clearly came from the local farm, that tasted so good! Very reasonable in pricing as well, family of four and drinks was around £44.00 and you got a lot of food for your money and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GagaOohLaLa
Karen K, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your meal with us. We do feel we offer excellent value and are renowned for our generous portions! Do come and see us again soon... and maybe enjoy a cream tea next time.

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moretonhampstead
5.2 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
462 reviews
2.7 km away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,171 reviews
7.8 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
455 reviews
18.9 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
149 reviews
10.2 km away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
White Hart Hotel Restaurant
White Hart Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Hart Hotel is a traditional old posting house at the centre of the small moorland town of Moretonhampstead set within the spectacular Dartmoor National Park. Under new ownership since early 2012, the White Hart Hotel dates back to 1639 and this historic Grade II listed building is being sympathetically refurbished to provide all modern comforts within a traditional setting. Our comfy sofa-filled lounge has a roaring log fire where you can relax and combine the delights of a traditional cream tea with the convenience of free wifi. An ideal base from which to explore this beautiful area of Devon, the White Hart has 20 well-appointed bedrooms in the main hotel and a further eight in a separate mews building. Our restaurant features the freshest local, seasonal produce cooked in a style that lets the quality of the ingredients speak for themselves. A free house, we stock a range of local real ales and have a handpicked wine list. DOGS - Dogs and Dartmoor go together. Dartmoor is great walking country and dogs are welcome everywhere in the hotel, except in the dining room. CYCLING - Dartmoor is a great area for cycling and we can offer secure bike storage, and have a drying room. SHOOTING - The area is popular for the sport of shooting and the Hotel is used regularly by shooting parties and we have a gun safe and have a drying room. GOLF - There are a number of good golf courses nearby and we can offer special rates with Bovey Castle Golf course, just 2 miles away, and Okehampton Golf Course, 12 miles away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: The Square, Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Moretonhampstead
Price Range: $149 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Hart Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The White Hart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the Main Hotel seem better than the courtyard or Mews”
robn598, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 2 has super views up onto the Moor”
DAVIDV747, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All of our group liked their rooms!!!”
tommydickydougie, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request a quiet room, facing away from the road”
JeremyD596, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Good place to eat after a long walk.”
GagaOohLaLa, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$107* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Agoda.comUS$108
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates