We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Hart Hotel

Hotels.comUS$114*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$114*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The White Hart Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We booked a Secret Escapes deal. Bed, breakfast, three course evening meal x2 people X 2 nights £190. We were given room ONE, not the prettiest of approaches in bad weather but the room was very nice with a French feel to it,just lacking a few draws. This room has its own outside space, subject to weather. I could point...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAW400
Ted D, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you PAW400 for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed everything. We do run the same deal a few times a year, do keep an eye out so you can come back again or why not give our other hotel a try?

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We thought it would be nice to get away from the city for a night and booked this place. We got a great deal which included a 3 course meal. Right from the start the service was top quality and we were made to feel welcome. The food was even better. Definitely recommend this place if you are looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElliotEmma
Ted D, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you ElliotEmma for such a glowing review. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do run the same sale deal a few times a year, do keep an eye for it so you can come back to see us again.

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We had a table of 10 people, for a Sunday luncheon /birthday /Canadian visitor at the White Hart in Nettlebed Oxfordshire. We thoroughly enjoyed the carvery 5 meat choices, Yorkshire pudding, vegetables, and simply awesome deserts, would absolutely recommend them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilary L
Ted D, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Hilary L, I'm so glad to hear that you and your party enjoyed our Sunday Carvery. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff.

WARBOROUGH
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Party of four for lunch yesterday - appalling meal - my main has obviously been cooked for some time which is not good for 'traditional fish & chips' - still trying to work out what was traditional about the coating of the fish - what was it exactly? Vegetables were cold - the only saving grace was that apparently the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WARBOROUGH1
Ted D, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch at The White Hart. I'm so sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion, I will address the points you have raised with the chef to avoid this happening again. If you would like to discuss this further, please feel free to drop me an email on sinead@tmdining.co.uk

Cardiff
Reviewed 28 January 2017

We booked a three night stay in order to explore the local area. When we arrived we were checked in and were shown to our room. He kindly offered to assist us with our luggage. Our room was spacious, clean and well presented. The package that we took out when booking the break included breakfast and a three course evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnubisDragon
Ted D, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review AnubisDragon. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed everything while staying with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Hampshire
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Booked the trip through Secret Escapes. On arrival, very luke warm reception by young man who showed us to our room without any further conversation. Avoid Room 3 (Cinnamon) - it is right at the front and on the busy main road which is the only road running through Nettlebed. You're unable to open any windows due to constant traffic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sevansdesign
Ted D, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review sevens design. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and the service. We will certainly look into the points you have raised and hopefully rectify them. If you would like to come back and stay with us again in the future, you are more than welcome to request a room away from the High Street to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We decided to go there for a meal, the last time we went we had great service. Your experience on the 24th January could not have been further from our first experience of this place. Upon arrival we were told that the kitchen was backed up and we would not be able to order for another 30 minutes. To us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan135
Ted D, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Jan135. I'm very disappointed to hear that your second visit didn't match your first. I will be investigating this with the management team to ensure this doesn't happen again. If you would like to discuss this further, please do drop me an email: sinead@tmdining.co.uk We certainly don't want to lose you as a customer and...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Booked this hotel through secret escapes last minute. Hotel set in pretty village of Nettlebed, on arrival were informed we had been upgraded free of charge.we were shown to a suite of two rooms tastefully furnished and clean and warm. We had dinner booked for 1900 hrs the staff,service and choice of menu was excellent as was the taste. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Derek C
Ted D, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us Derek C. I will pass on your kind words to the team, it really helps us to keep our team motivated. Thanks again!

Royston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Our room was in a separate building at the back of the hotel. And very nice it was. A big bedroom and a stand-alone style bath in the bathroom. The evening meal was really good, as was the full English breakfast the following morning. We would happily have stayed for longer...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gah1963
Ted D, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you gah1963 for such a lovely review. We do flash sales a few times of year so you are more than welcome to come back anytime.

Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We have just returned from a one night stay at The White Hart, booked through Secret Escapes. We wanted somewhere that was not too far from home where we could just have a night away after the hustle and bustle of Christmas. We stayed in Room 9 (Olive) which was a large and well presented room, at the rear of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cassie2801
Ted D, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Cassie2801. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we get to see you again soon.

244 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (101)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Second Superior Room (18)
Viewed
Superior Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Third Superior Room (23)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nettlebed
14.3 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
679 reviews
3.2 km away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
255 reviews
7.4 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
182 reviews
17.2 km away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
7.4 km away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of the pretty village of Nettlebed and close to Henley on Thames and Marlow, The White Hart is a stylish and comfortable country inn that dates back to the 14th century and still retains a traditional charm. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Address: High Street, Nettlebed RG9 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Nettlebed
Price Range: $177 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Hart Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
England
Chocmonkey77 England
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

LOL, yeah 4 terrible reviews versus 102 excellent ones, yeah your right, sounds like a right dump! get a life 'restingengland' , and btw 'jujicam' , there are no single rooms at the WH , only doubles, which hotel are you talking about?

over a year ago
Surrey
7 months ago
Keith M Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

Free Wifi is available in all the rooms, code is supplied in the hand book

7 months ago
Croydon, United Kingdom
Alan H Harlow, United Kingdom Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

We actually stayed on the ground floor, but there were some steps to negotiate. Not sure if there are other rooms with level access.

Not sure on the gluten free, possibly best to contact the hotel direct

8 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The White Hart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only ate there”
224ma, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you like it a bit quieter ask for a room away from the main road.”
1959bazza, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Caramel has a big bed and bathroom, with a separate shower and deep bath. Right next to the car park and outdoor drinking area though.”
  • The bath in Caramel (room 8)
  • A great big bed in Room 8 (caramel)
613MarkG, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 2 which was facing the high street. Traffic noise was not a problem”
pitstop007, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't book into Saffron if you want to see yourself in a mirror, dry your hair in a mirror or need peace and quiet and not overheat!”
sunlover520, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$114* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.com
Orbitz.com
TripAdvisorUS$114
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates