We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballachulish Hotel

Just off the Main A82 Glasgow To Fort William Road What3words: ///innovator.pardon.fortress, Ballachulish PH49 4JY Scotland
3 people are viewing this hotel
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/10/21
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/10/21
Official Site
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (879)
Room & Suite (357)
Dining (105)


#3 of 3 hotels in Ballachulish

Finding an ideal charming hotel in Ballachulish does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Ballachulish Hotel, a nice option for travellers like you.

For those interested in checking out Ballachulish Slate Quarry (2.3 mi) while visiting Ballachulish, Ballachulish Hotel is a short distance away.

Rooms at Ballachulish Hotel offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

24 hour front desk is one of the conveniences offered at this hotel. An on-site restaurant will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Ballachulish Hotel, free parking is available.

Travellers looking to enjoy some fish and chips can head to The Laroch Restaurant & Bar or Quarriers Kitchen. Otherwise, you may want to check out a pub such as The Laroch Restaurant & Bar.

Ballachulish Hotel looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Ballachulish.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Historic Hotel
Great View
Languages Spoken
1634Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 427
  • 582
  • 329
  • 183
  • 113
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kevin T wrote a review 7 Oct
1 contribution
Don't be suckered into paying for dinner in advance; I was and my £16 fish and chips cost £25. The £9 I didn't spend on food, but thought I'd spend instead on a pint of beer and a latte, transpired that I didn't; the beer and coffee can't be paid for by the advance payment on dinner. Slightly miffed to say the least, and not at all the receptionists fault.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Response from Crieff Hydro, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback kevintX1479VA. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment with the terms of the freedom dining package. We do aim to make our guests aware of any terms and conditions in advance with full details included on our website so that they can be viewed at the time of booking. Although we are not currently offering the freedom dining package, it was our version of dinner, bed and breakfast with an allowance to be offset against food in the evening. We can only apologise if you were not aware of the finer details prior to your stay but we do hope that you otherwise enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return and visit us again in the future.
Read more
saintfromtesco wrote a review 3 Oct
galashiels19 contributions57 helpful votes
Views are spectacular, food matches the views, even better. All the staff are fantastic, especially Chris & laura who were both extremely helpful during our stay. Great place's around to visit. Even when wet couldnt complain, plenty to do. Definitely worth a visit, will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Response from Crieff Hydro, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review saintfromtesco. We are delighted that you had a pleasant visit and really appreciate your kind comments regarding the team which will be a pleasure to pass on, especially to Chris and Laura. It's great to hear that you plan to visit us again and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
clodagh d wrote a review 1 Oct
Newmarket, United Kingdom28 contributions21 helpful votes
My family and I had a very pleasant week at the Ballachulish hotel. The staff were delightful. There were a couple of teething problems but Chris, the manager dealt with these very professionally. The a la carte menu is delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Response from Crieff Hydro, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for posting a review clodaghd917. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and particularly liked the a la carte menu. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.
Read more
OldiePlymouth_UK wrote a review Sep 2021
Alnwick, United Kingdom73 contributions41 helpful votes
We stayed here for three nights as part of a Great Rail Journeys Highland tour. We loved the old-world ambience of the place: warm wood, well-worn comfortable lounges, creaking floorboards and all. Our well-appointed room was splendid with amazing views over the loch. Sadly, all of this was entirely negated by the appalling meals - especially dinner. On two occasions an attractive menu was offered in unheated metal self-serve containers and left to congeal there. This applied to both meat and vegetable dishes. My wife, who passed her professional life teaching food preparation and presentation, used the single word, 'disgusting' to describe the results. For my part, I wondered if things might have begun to contravene the Safe Food Act.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Try for a room facing the loch.
See more room tips
Response from Crieff Hydro, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review OldiePymouth_UK. Although it was great to hear of the things that you enjoyed about your visit we are very sorry to hear that you were so unhappy with the food during your stay, especially dinner. Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with the Hotel Manager so that he is aware of your comments. We have, however, very recently introduced our new a la carte dinner menu and have received very positive comments regarding this. I know this is of little help to you after your stay but we do very much hope that you will feel able to visit us again in the future and perhaps sample the new menu options.
Read more
123sausage wrote a review Sep 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
My wife and I are just back from a lovely weekend having stayed in the Ballachulish Hotel for the first time. We stayed in room 105 at the front which provided beautiful views over the loch. "Hats off" to the management team who due to a Covid isolation case, organised dinner on both evenings with a carvery hot plate buffet, and a splendid variety of choice from starter through to sweet. Breakfast both mornings again was a hot plate buffet with a wide variety of options, all too tempting and delicious! The local scenery is just "out of this world", spectacular mountains behind the hotel, stunning sea loch in front and a scenic 9 hole gold course next door, which I managed to play and would recommend. On Saturday lunchtime we booked a table at the Loch Leven Seafood restaurant located on the loch side about 5 miles from the hotel serving fresh shell fish from the loch. I would certainly recommend a visit there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Room Tip: Room 105 facing the loch.
See more room tips
Response from Crieff Hydro, General Manager at Ballachulish Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Many thanks for the fantastic feedback 123sausage and for the recommendation. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will stay with us again in the very near future.
Read more
US$88 - US$278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ballachulish hotel
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsGlencoeBallachulish
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ballachulish Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Ballachulish Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Lost Valley Trail (5.7 km), Glencoe Lochan (5.3 km), and Loch Linnhe (4.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ballachulish Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Ballachulish Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ballachulish Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ballachulish Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Glencoe Cafe, Lochleven Seafood Cafe, and The Laroch Restaurant & Bar.
Are pets allowed at Ballachulish Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ballachulish Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Ballachulish Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dun Deardail fort (15.6 km).
Does Ballachulish Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.