We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,543 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,050: English reviews
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a 4-night stay at this property. From check-in to check-out, it was a good experience. The room were clean, spacious, and supplied with ample towels. The food was great, but I actually preferred the buffet over the sit-down restaurant. The bar staff was great and drinks were definitely watered down. The general staff was attentive, informative, and friendly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amore M
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have been to this hotel numerous times and have enjoyed each visit, some of the rooms do need upgrading but this is an ongoing process. We normally stay in the Ocean terrace but it is under going refurbishing so we were in the main hotel which was still nice. I have not found a problem with any of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Myrna C
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Myrna C, Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your stay with us. We are so pleased to see you have been to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort numerous times, we always appreciate it when our guests keep coming back. Thank you for pointing out the friendliness of our staff, and great quality of our... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Went down for a wedding with friends and stayed from Thursday - Thursday. Here is the no-bull breakdown, The Good, The food is excellent, best in have ever had at an all inclusive. Everything had flavour,good variety. One night they did a Caribbean barbecue by the beach. Delicious. Rooms were clean and the beds were super comfy, which was a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sharrisa S
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Sharrisa S, Thank you for your honest and constructive review. We really appreciate your comments, because it is through these reviews that we can meet our challenges head on. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food, and believed it was the best you have had in an all-inclusive Resort, along with pointing out the comfort and cleanliness of... More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

In my previous review I was raving about this hotel. I returned 6 months later and this hotel is awful. It is in poor condition. The hotel needs a complete overhaul...carpet, the bucket taped to the cracked ceiling, the rooms....I was told I had a renovated room but they failed to mention the only thing new was the headboard o... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline P
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Caroline P, Thank you for taking the time out to write your review about our property. First of all, thank you for choosing to stay with us for the 2nd time, but we don’t like to see that your time with us wasn't as good as you would have liked it to be. We are currently in the beginning... More 

Cambridge, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Better than I expected for a large place, all inclusive, friendly service. Food was great, rooms were beautiful in the Sky Tower (we were on 9th floor, good view, could see the planes landing over the beach). Water was beautiful as well as the beaches. Great time with friends!

Helpful?
4 Thank sso1001
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear sso1001, Thank you for taking the time out to write your positive review about your experience at our property. We always love to hear when our guests enjoyed their time with us, and it’s always a bonus when we exceed your expectations. Thank you for pointing out how good the food is and how much you liked our Rooms.... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

What a great resort! My wife and I really needed to get away, if even for a few days. I have always wanted to see the planes land at Princess Julianna Airport, and since it was my fiftieth birthday, my wife finally gave in. We're budget conscious and had never stayed all inclusive (plus we've always heard the food was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack A
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Jack A, Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort. First of all, Happy Belated Birthday, and thanks for coming to spend it with us. We’re happy you got to check seeing the airplanes land at Princess Juliana International Airport off of your bucket list. It’s truly a site that never... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Good 1. DELICIOUS FOOD! We were truly surprised at the level of quality and variety, given that this is an all inclusive. My friend and I ate like ravenous beasts and looked forward to every meal. The buffet was open for long stretches, with a la carte service in between, so we never went hungry. We especially loved the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn J
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Robyn J, Thank you very much for your positive comments about your recent stay to Sonesta Maho Beach Resort. We have been working extremely hard to earn reviews such as yours, and we really do appreciate the feedback. Thank you for highlighting, the quality and variety of food presented, because our Chefs work very hard to make sure our... More 

Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Dear Sirs: My vacation spent at the Sonesta Maho from May 1 through May 10 was outstanding. Unfortunately, due to a delay from Jet blue I lost was one and fortitude that day and monies. I think the monies spent $480.00. The booking number was GW/5489y. I have rebooked another vacation for November 7th -November 14. I am requesting an... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joan R
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Joan R, We’re so glad to hear that you had an outstanding time with us this past month, and we are looking forward to seeing you again in November. In regards to your request to upgrade your room, we would love to do so, but it all depends on our occupancy at the time. Could you please email this... More 

Mossley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and myself have just returned from 10 nights at the sonesta maho beach. I am sceptical about reviews, because for every good one, there is a bad one. I believe some people pay for a 3* hotel! yet expect 5*. We paid £3180 (approx $5000) for 10 nights. We didn't opt for the extra £300 for a room... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank sam517y
Brampton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My boyfriend, my daughter and I stayed at Sonesta from May 8-15. We did not receive a pleasant welcome from mother nature upon arrival as it rained not only the night we got there but for the next several days :( . After a quick check-in we went up to our 1st room which was dated and not to my... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Mags_1709
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Mags_1709, Thank you for sharing your valuable review about your stay with us. The weather surely wasn't as nice as we would have hoped it would have been when you arrived, but at our Resort we make sure to have things for you to do inside, like games for the whole family, activities, shop, plan a tour for another... More 

3,076 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2570)
Viewed
View from Room (195)
Viewed
Room/Suite (168)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (482)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (423)
Viewed
Dining (189)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (1060)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (426)
Viewed
Amenities (126)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (43)
Viewed
Pool (28)
Viewed
Pool-Ocean View Room (39)
Viewed
Premier Island View Room (33)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maho
11.0 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
10.3 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,657 reviews
0.6 km away
Alegria
Alegria
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
0.3 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.1 km away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With its limitless all-inclusive meals, drinks, Kids Club and scheduled activities program, Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino is a destination within a destination, offering exhilarating fun with the island's most exciting nightlife, a variety of accommodations and first-rate amenities for singles, couples and families. The 10-acre, 395-room beachfront property is conveniently located on St. Maarten's southwest shore just minutes from the airport and features a large signature Oasis pool area with swim-up pool bar, cascading waterfalls and separate kids pool, oceanfront wedding gazebo, five restaurants and bars, fitness center, four tennis courts, and more than 24,000 square feet of meeting space. Enjoy other amenities including Maho Serenity Spa and the destination's largest gaming emporium Casino Royale as well as access to motorized water sports for an additional fee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino

Address: 1 Rhine Road, Maho, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Maho
Price Range: $380 - $780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, West Indies, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Maho Beach Hotel
St Martin Sonesta
Sonesta St. Maarten/St. Martin
St Maarten Sonesta
Maho Beach Hotel
St. Maarten/St. Martin Sonesta
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Maho
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Maho
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Maho
#2 Spa Hotel in Maho
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
362 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (362)

Questions? Get answers from Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“On one side of one wing from floors 4 to 10 there is a roof top bar playing music until after midnight, neither ocean nor pool view.”
 of 5 bubbles H1471CXdavidm, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Depending on your budget I would suggest an ocean view room. It oversees more of the pool then ocean but still an amazing view.”
  • My room faced away from pool and grounds, but still amazing view
 of 5 bubbles giacobellis, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“upper levels are much better with the views in the 6th to 9th floor !!!”
 of 5 bubbles Maria243, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the best rooms are in a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jimsY6034TB, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 691 with a view of the plane's taking off for a short time .”
 of 5 bubbles travellerHamilton, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay