We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gwbert Hotel

Save
Share
Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP Wales
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
FindHotel
StayForLong
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (188)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Cardigan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
600Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 338
  • 193
  • 54
  • 9
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Wills71 wrote a review 18 Nov
Southampton, United Kingdom13 contributions28 helpful votes
We stayed here last weekend for 2 nights. On check in we told due to COVID. Restrictions we would have to book a time for breakfast. Which we duly did for 0945hrs. The following morning we arrived for breakfast and although the service was a bit shoddy, it was OK. The next morning we arrived for breakfast @ 0940, only to be told we were too Late, as the kitchen closes at 0930. Why the Hell would they book us in for 0945 ?? On check out , we queried this only to be told , we should of known breakfast ends at 0900 on Mondays. To our amazement , she still proceeded to charge us for Bed and BREAKFAST. As we had a 5 hour journey ahead of us, we had to stop in Cardigan to eat. We have since emailed the hotel, but we haven’t even had an acknowledgment never mind a reply. This situation has obviously arose due to a lack of staff training, or they simply don’t care. The way the whole episode was handlled was appalling. Hospitality has gone through a tough time, but to simply rip of the customers is totally unacceptable . I would definitely not recommend .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Gwbert Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for comments on your stay, we sincerely apologise for the issues with breakfast and do hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay with us. I understand that a limited breakfast was offered and accepted before you departed the hotel for your long journey. We have received your email and have responded directly, if you have not received this, please do let us know and we would be happy to resend. With best wishes, The Gwbert Hotel Team
Read more
vineta_krone wrote a review Sep 2021
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom1581 contributions31 helpful votes
The location is ideal for us. Free parking place. Great place to stay. The view from the hotel terrace is absolutely stunning. The room was not big but enough for a couple. The food was good and tasty but a little overpriced and the same with drinks. We ordered a full British breakfast but was too salty for me (black pudding and mushrooms). I understand this difficult time (covid), but the staff looked too tense and a little hurried or rush, especially during the evening when we ordered dinner for two. This atmosphere didn't relax me and we can't fully enjoy the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Stuart T wrote a review Sep 2021
Llanelli, United Kingdom83 contributions28 helpful votes
Stayed one night in room 11, which looked out over the estuary and we were able to watch dolphins feeding. The room was large with a queens bed. We found sleep difficult as the quilt was too heavy meaning we were far too hot. The big disappointment was the quality of the food. The enchiladas were just filled with chicken in a sweet BBQ sauce and no chilli. It was served with dauphinois potatoes, which was more like scallops with a bit a cheese between them. My wife had halloumi and salad but the halloumi was cut too thin and so leathery.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with the estuary view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Gwbert Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear stuartt333, We appreciate hearing your feedback and sorry that parts of your stay fell below expectations. It is great to hear that you got to watch the dolphins in the bay. With regards to the quilt, had this of been brought to our attention during your stay we could have changed this resolving the situation. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your food, again we encourage all guests to let us know at the time in order to allow us the opportunity to rectify the situation, your meals could have been replaced or substituted. We have since launched our new winter menu where we have taken guest feedback on board and we hope that you make a return visit. Kind regards, The Gwbert Hotel Management Team
Read more
Nathan S wrote a review Sep 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a family holiday with the dogs as we do every year in West Wales we stayed in the holiday house run by gwbert hotel what an amazing hotel, location, views. The house had everything plenty of bedrooms bathrooms 2 living rooms both spacious. And the added bonus of a 6 person hot tub that was basically a mini swimming pool it's huge. House was spotless on arrival so big you can get lost with all the rooms. Shower pressure is something else basically massaging really haven't got a bad word to say about the place. All of us enjoyed it and will definitely be returning here in the near future. Walking the dogs along the cliff hotel gold course you find some hidden gems like mini beaches we stopped for and early morning swim refreshing and if lucky enough spot some dolphins or seals.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Gwbert Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Nathan S, Thank you for taking the time to review one of our Gwbert Holidays, coastal cottages. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thought so highly of the holiday home. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, The Gwbert Hotel Management Team
Read more
Helen S wrote a review Sep 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom88 contributions75 helpful votes
We had a wonderful traditonal sunday lunch here. The hotel has a beautiful location and fantastic views across the bay. The food was traditional but really tasty and well cooked as in just right! The restaurant was busy and crowded which was a wee concern but they had opened windows and doors which kept it ventilated. I was really impressed with the service. They were very busy with lots of large family celebrations going on and yet they organised it like a military operation. The ordering was accurate and the food arrived in a timely manner and the attitude of the staff was friendly and warm even though they were working very hard. I can only congratulate the team both cooking and waiting staff. Thanks for an excellent job.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Gwbert Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 395Helena, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our team here really do appreciate receiving such great feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, The Gwbert Hotel Management Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gwbert hotel cardigan
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesCeredigionCardigan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Gwbert Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Gwbert Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mwnt Beach (3.8 km), Poppit Sands Beach (1.5 km), and Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Gwbert Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Gwbert Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Gwbert Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Gwbert Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Copper Pot, El Salsa, and Crowes.
Are pets allowed at The Gwbert Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Gwbert Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Dogmaels Abbey (4.0 km) and Y Felin (3.9 km).
Does The Gwbert Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Gwbert Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.