We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Gwbert, Cardigan SA43 1PP Wales
Lowest prices for your stay
US$96
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$96
View deal
Booking.comUS$101
TravelocityUS$96
ZenHotels.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1072)
Room & Suite (152)
Dining (106)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Cardigan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This renowned hotel boasts one of the most breathtaking views and marine locations in Wales, overlooking Cardigan Bay, the rugged coastline, the Teifi Estuary and the broad sweep of Poppit Sands. The Cliff Hotel & Spa offers guests luxurious accommodation, with all rooms having en suite facilities and many having a view over Cardigan Bay and the hotel's golf course. Guests are able to relax and enjoy the view in the bar or lounge. Luxurious spa facilities are ready to offer guests a perfect relaxation zone in which to unwind and indulge. The health spa hosts a salt water hydro spa, steam room, sauna, hot tub, gym along with treatment rooms including a couple's treatment room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Golf course
Hiking
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English
1493Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 768
  • 456
  • 155
  • 60
  • 54
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ieuan Griffiths wrote a review Nov 2022
Aberaeron, United Kingdom2 contributions
I went to the Cliff as a business weekend and I would definitely go back. The room was lovely with a comfy bed and a good shower/bath. Food was great including a range for breakfast. The conference room was lovely and the tea, coffee and water was regularly topped up. But what made it for me was the staff, all of them polite and no job was a problem for them, amazing. The only negative was the lighting in the pool, the spa and the pool was lovely and I get that there needs to be low lighting for the mood but it was a little too dark for those with visual impairment.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the great feedback Relax13819142144, we are pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay overall and hope to welcome you back again in the future. We will also take your comments onboard with regards to lighting in the spa area to see if there is anyway that this can be improved.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phill T wrote a review Nov 2022
12 contributions3 helpful votes
We were made very welcome, the evening meal was lovely with a very small waiting time. The room was lovely and warm as well as inviting and we were lucky to have fantastic views, breakfast was amazing as there was so much choice and no limits with very fast coffee/ tea service
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review, we are pleased that you had such a lovely stay and hope to welcome you back again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Macy S wrote a review Nov 2022
+1
Very disappointed booked a executive room for my birthday and got a standard room , although the bed was clean the room was very dusty , bathroom unusable, dirty toilet , hair in bath , mould around the hole bathroom , cracked dirty tiles , finger marks all over furniture, two members of staff on main reception & spa reception were extremely rude and made me feel unwelcome, uncomfortable, and to finish off I was wrongly charged for breakfast that I had already paid for , tried to explain this to the lady on reception this morning only for her to argue and ignore me trying to explain I had already paid and very Abruptly demanded money from me that I didn’t owe , very upset and disappointed over all ruined my birthday I definitely won’t be returning
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 328macys thank you for your feedback, we do always appreciate constructive comments as this is the best way for us to maintain and improve the services and facilities available at The Cliff Hotel & Spa. Please accept our sincere apologies that you found your bedroom to be below expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that this is not the usual standard of cleanliness that we offer and your experience has been discussed in detail with our Housekeeping colleagues and Team Leaders to ensure that this does not happen again. Once your comments had been raised at reception, we did revisit your room to clean all of the areas that you mentioned whilst you enjoyed complimentary drinks by way of apology. We also took the time to ensure that you were happy with the room once it had been recleaned, before leaving you to enjoy the rest of your stay. Had we been aware that you were still disappointed with your bedroom we certainly would have revisited this for you once more. Please be assured that your bedroom was indeed one of our Executive Rooms, offering a super king-sized bed, Tassimo machine, mini fridge and large bathroom. The tariff that was booked and pre-paid for your stay was a bed & breakfast package, as we do not currently offer a room only tariff. As a surprise your partner requested to pay for two breakfasts in the restaurant prior to your departure, unknowing that this was already paid for. When your partner noticed that the room bill included a prepayment for 'bed & breakfast' at reception, it did take a few moments to understand the error and once clarified, the payment made in the restaurant was immediately refunded. We are very sorry if the manner of our receptionist came across as rude or unwelcoming as this certainly was not the intention. 328macys we are grateful to you for bringing these matters to our attention and we very much hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. We have also contacted you directly to further discuss your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Curious310161 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 helpful vote
Stayed at the cliff for our anniversary on a stay and dine package at a cost of £268 for one night. On arrival the view from the room was stunning , although the bathroom and bedding were clean , areas of the floor were dusty and the glass on the patio doors and mirror were dirty.. As we were staying for just one night we didn't want to make a fuss and have our time spoiled by cleaners coming in to rectify the issue. At dinner my wife requested a steak and when asked how she would like it cooked my wife replied medium to well with no blood (not an abnormal or unreasonable request.) Upon the arrival of the meal my wife's steak was oozing with blood , the steak was taken away ,it was returned only to be still running with blood so had to be returned for a second time.By the time the steak was recooked for the second time I had almost finished my meal. What should have been a romantic meal for two on our anniversary was ruined by the inability of the chef to cook a steak as requested and recooking a steak twice. The restaurant manager was apologetic and took a cheeseboard off the bill. Upon retiring for bed that evening we discovered that we did not have a double bed, but two singles sandwiched together with a gap in the middle which made sleeping together impossible as we had to stick to separate sides of the bed. It may as well have been a twin room. When we checked out we were presented with a bill for £7.90 which I thought was strange as our restaurant bill totalled £63 minus our £60 allowance resulting in a payment of £3, but I was informed that drinks were not included. I explained the issues we had and asked to speak to the manager. It was at this point we had the misfortune of being confronted by Charlotte the deputy manager, who was complaining to a member of staff about another guest at reception who had the audacity to query his bill.Charlotte was was nothing short of unhelpful and rude and insisted on us paying the extra £4.90 and kept repeating about drinks not being included. When we pointed out the cleanliness of the room, the bed and the issues in the restaurant and the fact that it greatly marred our anniversary she replied that she would pass our comments on and as a parting shot she sarcastically wished us a happy anniversary. I wrote letters personally to the owners of the Cliff to air my views and disappointment, but a month has passed with no reply. Clearly there is a total disregard for paying customers. I will never stay in the Cliff Hotel or any other establishment in the Flatrock group again. I will in future spend my hard earned money in establishments that actually appreciates their customers and have an understanding of customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Curious310161, Please accept our sincere apologies that you found your stay to be disappointing. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to restore your faith in The Cliff Hotel & Spa, and our sister properties and have contacted you privately to discuss your experience further. We can only apologise that you received no response to your original letter as it seems to have not arrived in the post
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ponytail186 wrote a review Nov 2022
Carmarthen, United Kingdom44 contributions37 helpful votes
We recently stayed after receiving a gift voucher, our room was well appointed, with a good sea view. We were travelling with a child, which I informed staff of when booking, but we weren’t made aware that there were steps in our room from the bedroom area down to the bathroom & doorway which was a little awkward as we constantly had to watch he didn’t fall. This could also be an accessibility issue for some. It was a bit unfortunate that housekeeping had not finished making our bed properly, with the duvet cover poppers all open at the bottom. Soap in the shower area was also shampoo, which seems a bit cheap for a hotel so well appointed otherwise. Communal areas are very nice, and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We did not eat here, but did have drinks in the bar. Breakfast was good, with lots of options. Our only real issue was that although we stayed on a Sunday night, there was a party and even though we were on the second floor we could hear the disco which didn’t finish until 1am, then, guests were very noisy coming to bed, slamming doors and making noise in the corridor at 3am. I understand that other guests behaviour is not the hotels fault, but it really made for a sleepless night, especially when our child gets up early too. We didn’t expect this on a Sunday, and it did spoil the evening in honesty.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Ponytail186, thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for any noise disturbance during the night. There is always a member of the team contactable via reception or by dialling '0' from the phone in your room at any time during your stay. Had we been aware of the noise disturbance at the time, we certainly would have done our best to resolve this for you right away. We do always appreciate constructive comments and will certainly discuss the points that you have mentioned with our Housekeeping Team. It is great to see that you enjoyed the views from the hotel and your bedroom for the most part, we do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AniramPetals wrote a review Nov 2022
Cornwall, United Kingdom89 contributions33 helpful votes
Birthday treat for me (although despite my husband advising the staff of this well in advance, zero acknowledgment or mention of my special occasion was made). We had the rock pool package and had 2 25 minute treatments comprising a full body salt scrub and then a back massage. My husband's therapist was Marina and she was absolutely brilliant. I'm not going to name my therapist but I wasn't impressed. There was no communication re preferences for massage pressure and the whole experience felt rushed, perfunctory and if I'm being totally honest, quite unpleasant (certainly not the relaxing birthday treat my husband had intended for me!) At the end of my treatments I was told there was a clean towel on the floor, not to use the towel on the bed because that had salt all over it and was told I had a good couple of minutes to shower and to make sure I did it properly to remove all the scrub. Language is everything! After my shower I dried and changed into my clothes and the therapist returned offering me a robe. I looked surprised as my husband had told me we were having lunch after our treatments and I explained I didn't know what was happening next whereupon the robe was thrust into my hands and I was told I would need it for the spa which came with my package. I was then ushered out, directed to where the refreshment station was and basically left in a corridor feeling pretty rubbish! Had I had the car keys, I'd have gone out to the car but as my husband had the keys and was still having his treatment, that wasn't an option. I took refuge on the sofa at the spa entrance drinking my water out of a plastic cup. Now, I would stress that mine and my husband's experiences, whilst on paper were the same, could not have been more different. If this had been my first spa treatment, I'd never have another! My upper back is still sore and it feels as though I'm bruised! Again, I point out that my husband's experience was very different and he'd recommend it. Smarting from my ordeal, we were eventually told to go to the restaurant for lunch and after pointing out we didn't know where the restaurant was, we received directions. We had had ro pre-order from a menu provided on arrival at the spa. I had a garden burger followed by sticky toffee pudding. My husband had a burger followed by the chocolate brownie. When the server brought our food, he just left after placing our plates. We weren't asked if we needed anything else for example vinegar, and again absolutely no mention or acknowledgement of my birthday was made. The food was very tasty and we both enjoyed our meal. The view from the restaurant was spectacular. After some encouragement from my husband, we returned to the spa after our lunch for our spa experience. There was 1 small corner changing cubicle in the ladies changing room. You needed £1 for the locker. The floor was very wet and there was alot of hair. Noise carries very easily in the spa area. The steam room was lovely. The main pool was odd as the liner appeared to move beneath your feet. For me, I wouldn't recommend the experience. The staff weren't friendly or informative and gave me the impression they'd rather be somewhere else. However, my husband's experience was positive so on his feedback alone, we're rating 4 stars but this has more to do with the quality of the food and the beautiful location.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for Marina!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Suntan29 wrote a review Nov 2022
Neath, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Had planned to stay for 2 nights for my 40th birthday, however unfortunately my 1 Yr old child was admitted into hospital on the weekend of my birthday. Not how I wanted to spend my 40th. I contacted the hotel from the hospital bed to inform them that I wouldn't be able to attend due to the circumstances and asked to move the booking back a few days. I was met with a response I wasn't expecting, that it's their policy not to allow you to change dates. I completely understand that they must have a policy as generally people let them down for any reason, however I informed them that I could provide the hospital notes to show it was a genuine reason. This made no difference so on top of the unfortunate situation I've had, I am also now lighter in the pocket as a result.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Suntan29, thank you for your review and we are so very sorry to learn of your sick child. We do do hope that they have now made a full recovery and are feeling much better. We do always try to be fair and flexible where we can, however, for bookings via a 3rd party their terms & conditions are much more rigid. We do hope that you have another opportunity to visit The Cliff Hotel & Spa.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The_Style_Guy wrote a review Oct 2022
Olympia, Washington91 contributions64 helpful votes
I love this place. It's a beautiful, peaceful location. The food is nice, the staff is friendly, and overall it is very relaxing. We were here for four nights. The room was very nice and had a gorgeous view. However, on the first night our heater wasn't working properly. The management sent over two repair people, but they couldn't get it fixed until the next day -- so they left a space heater, which worked just fine. It was repaired the following day, and we received a bottle of wine with a hand-written letter of apology that also said they were taking 10% off the entire bill. I was fine with just the space heater, so the compensation from the hotel just blew me away. It made me think back to the old book 'The Pursuit of Excellence' -- somebody here must have read that book. I had spent the previous two nights in Tenby at a waterfront hotel, and the service was terrible and pervasive throughout the establishment. The Cliff Hotel exceeded my expectations. (and they have good Mocktails)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is a laundrette a couple of miles away in town.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Great to see that you had such a lovely stay. Thank you for the lovely review, we do hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorraine G wrote a review Oct 2022
Worcester, United Kingdom2 contributions13 helpful votes
Just had my 6th visit and I just love this place, its perfect location for me when i visit relatives however I have noticed standards are not what they have been on previous visits. The plus points... modern, fresh vibe with mostly very friendly hard-working staff. great spa that you get access to for one hour per day, wonderful buffet style breakfast and a great bar, restaurant. unspoilt, uninterrupted sea views. you also get robes and slippers in your room that you can use for the spa The negatives... My room 215 was dirty with coffee marks on the outside of both mugs, stained teaspoons, bathroom shelf was very dusty and shower grout needs a good bleach! i actually cleaned the bathroom before using it, I would have spoken with reception but my partner didn't want a fuss! The restaurant needs a better ambience maybe lower lighting? music? staff need to pay attention to guests rather than trying to set up empty tables for breakfast, I understand it's still difficult to find staff for hospitality however it's about creating a memorable stay. The spa staff at reception seemed uninterested and more concerned with a computer screen than speaking to a paying customer, I actually decided this would be my last visit because i was so angry. The following morning in the spa was a completely different experience because of a friendly, polite, engaging staff member called John who explained about towels, coffee machine, relaxation room that not one person had ever told me and I have been here 6 times! Your spa staff need training in customer service and John is the guy they should aspire too! When he works on reception he is the only person that looks up from the computer screen to acknowledge you! these little details are what guests remember. Overall, I would still recommend this hotel and I will be using it again but please get your high standards back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: pay extra for a sea view, it's worth it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback Lorraine, we always appreciate constructive criticism and will certainly take your comments onboard. Feedback is always discussed with our team members as a way of improving and maintaining the services and facilities that we offer at The Cliff Hotel & Spa. It is great to see that you have had 5 previous enjoyable stays at The Cliff Hotel & Spa, if you would be willing to share your positive experiences we would very much interested in your feedback on those visits too. We sincerely apologise that you felt that standards had slipped on your most recent visit. I have messaged you directly to gain further details of your stay and do very much hope that you feel able to return to experience a stay at our usual level of hospitality.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise wrote a review Oct 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Although we initially enjoyed our stay,on the second day we returned to our room to find a note accusing us of smoking in our room.I do not smoke,and my partner did not smoke in the room at all during our stay. Upon checking out,I was told that there was outstanding charges on our room,even though the room was already paid for,and we had already paid for any food or drinks that we had consumed during our stay. Although my partner showed proof that we had paid for everything,this was still contested by the reception staff,who quite honestly didn’t seem to have a clue what they were doing.Poor service,poor communication,we will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Team, Owner at The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Responded 26 Oct 2022
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay overall. Please accept our sincere apologies for the error with the restaurant charge and the misunderstanding with the issue of smoking in your room. Upon further investigation, your room was found not to be the source of this. I also understand that the mistake with the restaurant charge was quickly rectified on the day, once the error was found. We are very sorry for any distress that was caused and have certainly taken your feedback onboard.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cliff hotel cardigan
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesCeredigionCardigan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
76
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CLIFF HOTEL & SPA: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,124 Photos (Cardigan, Wales) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Cliff Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Mwnt Beach (3.7 km), Poppit Sands Beach (1.7 km), and Cardigan Island Coastal Farm Park (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crowes, The Copper Pot, and Crwst.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Cliff Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Cliff Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Dogmaels Abbey (4.3 km) and Y Felin (4.2 km).
Does The Cliff Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Cliff Hotel & Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.