We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Phoenix Hollow

Travellers' Choice award winner
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Phoenix Hollow
See the most recent reviews
Showing 277: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 5 October 2016

My husband and I were looking for lodging for the second half of our trip to Nova Scotia, but the Digby Rat Race had taken over all the lodging, we thought, until we found Phoenix Hollow by chance, and were lucky enough to get in on the coattails of a cancellation. We are so thrilled we did! Kelly was an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mialuna70
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

What a lovely review - thank you so very very much for taking the time to write it. I am glad that you came to us by chance and hope we can see you again soon:)

Antigonish, Canada
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I couldn't have asked for a more comfortable room in a lovely Victorian home with all modern amenities. The bed was perfect, and all the extra touches like the coffee maker, cookies, warm cosy robes made us feel coddled and at home.u Breakfast choices were delicious with a large selection of teas, good coffee and homemade jams. Kelly is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maryvale2016
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

I am so very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to see you again soon - thank you for taking the time to give us such positive words :)

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Last time we were in Nova Scotia, five years ago we discovered this fabulous B&B. We decided to revisit Nova Scotia and our first plan was to book 2 nights at Phoenix Hollow and invite a couple of relatives to join us. How can you improve on perfection? The warm welcome and lovely comfortable accommodation in this beautiful home was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rona V
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

It was such a pleasure having you and your family with us again:) Thank you for the wonderful review and your support

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Kelly goes over and above the call of duty of an average BB provider in providing a high standard of amenities and service. A bit expensive (though discounted for Seniors) but well worth it. The room was large, very clean and very well equipped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123tillie
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am happy you enjoyed your stay

Bolton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Phoenix Hollow is a gem tucked away in Windsor, NS – centrally located, and less than an hour from the Halifax waterfront, or great vineyards in the Annapolis Valley. Kelly is a gracious and knowledgeable host, and she serves a breakfast that is both hearty and delicious. You will want to stay a few days just to sample every item...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lad331
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

What a lovely review - thank you so very much for taking the time to write that and share it - we truly appreciate your support and and your time

Belchertown, Massachusetts
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I LOVE this B&B! For me, it is my home away from home when visiting Nova Scotia. This trip was a mission; a mission to bring back as much Nova Scotian wine as I could fit on my Harley. Unfortunately, my trip got off to a bad start...I dropped my bike and suffered a couple of cracked ribs. Kelly, my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jhagen1256
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

It is simply a pleasure to have you return to us each year and I truly appreciate your support. I am glad you made it home safe and sound and that I could help you when you were here. Keep well and thank you again

Mazatlan, Mexico
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

We had wonderful time and were convinced to stay an extra day and walk on the Burntcoat beach when the tide was out then wait for the tidal bore. Kelly didn't miss a beat in making our stay a pleasant one. Kelly would have to miss a few things before she drops from excellent as she has gone overboard to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Doug B
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind review - it was a pleasure having you and I am so glad that you enjoyed the local sites

Ingomar, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Fantastic host and talented artist/decorator. Attention to B&B detail refreshing and knowledge of local attractions of every sort greatly appreciated. Very convenient central location within walking distance (short) of excellent dining and entertainment. Well wort a return trip.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 2mitch68
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind review - we appreciate your time and am glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewed 19 September 2016

This was the nicest B&B that we stayed in during our 2 week road trip in the maritimes. Beautiful decor, lovely welcome and stay. The information Center told us it was voted the best in Nova Scotia and they were not mistaken. It was better than what we expected. Thank you Kelly for your exquisite house and your delightful breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trevor T
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

I am so happy you were able to find us on the last min and stay with us - I hope the rest of your vacation was wonderful too

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Kelly's breakfast is the best I have had in any B&B stay . Rooms are cozy and comfortable and I had a great sleep too! Kelly 's cheerful greeting makes Phoenix Hollow a perfect place to relax , even when working!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shirley D
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, it is always a pleasure to have you :)

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
21.3 km away
The Stella Rose B&B
The Stella Rose B&B
#1 of 10 in Wolfville
415 reviews
2.5 km away
Super 8 Windsor NS
Super 8 Windsor NS
#1 of 2 in Windsor
315 reviews
21.4 km away
Tattingstone Inn
Tattingstone Inn
#2 of 10 in Wolfville
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Victoria's Historic Inn
Victoria's Historic Inn
#5 of 10 in Wolfville
294 reviews
20.4 km away
Micro Boutique Living Wolfville
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Meander In B&B
#4 of 6 in Windsor
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Phoenix Hollow is where heritage style meets modern comfort. Circa 1873, this majestic home rests on 'Ferry Hill' in the quaint town of Windsor Nova Scotia. From the grand curved staircase to the 133 year-old ceiling painting with original plaster crown mouldings, the Hollow has a regal elegance and history that beckons to visitors. Enjoy our luxurious private suites, relax in the stately Sherry Room and enjoy Maritime hospitality at its best! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Phoenix Hollow

Address: 65 Chestnut Street | Box 2200, Windsor, Nova Scotia B0N 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Windsor
Price Range: $93 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Phoenix Hollow staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Phoenix Hollow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“both rooms are excellent!”
ameryb, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only 2 rooms, both were beautiful!!”
  • Top of the stairs looking out of the Phoenix Room
sarahhP3605IL, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only two rooms. One is a little larger. Both have same amenities.”
794johnl, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the Griffin Room, and it is on the back side of the house.”
Mialuna70, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“very clean, guiet, quaint, period appointed 2nd floor with a/c with free parking.”
2mitch68, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5