We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Phoenix Hollow

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Phoenix Hollow
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Phoenix Hollow
See the most recent reviews
Showing 274: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2015

What is so special about a B&B that only offers two rooms? YOU Are! That is how you are treated and feel due to the care Kelly and John provide when you stay at the Phoenix Hollow. Room is wonderful, every detail is thought of along with clear information. Breakfast is delightful especially among the wonderful paintings Kelly has created... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

I simply love that first sentence! Thank you for such a wonderful review I really appreciate it :) Hopefully we see you again when you are in the area next Kelly More 

Harrison, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2015

This B & B came highly recommended as they were selected tops for 2014 My expectations were high upon my arrival...and I was not disappointed...from the warm greeting I received upon my arrival, to the room, breakfast and and my departing hug...it was excellent..

Helpful?
Thank Rowena B
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

You were simply a lovely guest to have and so of course a parting hug was in order :) I hope the rest of your trip across Nova Scotia was just as wonderful and thank you for the review Kelly More 

1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Beautiful surroundings, sweet hostess, delicious food and even the extra pleasure of breakfast with another couple travelling from Georgia who felt like old friends in a very short time. Kelly thought of everything anyone could possibly need to have in our room. She's a very talented artist along with taking care of everyone who comes through her door with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank lorna m
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review and I am so very glad that you enjoyed your stay - I hope we see you again the next time you are in the area! kelly More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2015

This was our third time (actually fourth) staying at Phoenix Hollow. Our first time in the Phoenix room though. This room is spacious and very clean and it comes with a fridge and coffee maker and a canopy over the bed. A suite in a grand hotel wouldn't be any better. The operators Kelly and Jon are "typical" down east... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gordon755
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

And we love each time you stay with us - I hope to see you both again soon and please enjoy the paintings you have :) Kelly More 

New Glasgow, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2015

We stayed in the Griffin room on the night of March 14, 2015. We were in town for a hockey tournament and added an extra night due to a pending snow storm. We had been looking for a room in a traditional hotel (we normally don't think to book in bed and breakfasts) but when everything was full we called... More 

Helpful?
Thank Heather B
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

I am so glad that you son enjoyed the robs and bubbles and hope his game went fantastically the next day! Hopefully now that you know we are here we will see you again soon Kelly More 

Haute Aboujagane, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2015

My wife and I have been weary of B&Bs because really, how do you know what you're gonna get?? After looking over the pictures and reading some reviews, we decided to take a chance on The Phoenix Hollow B&B. We had no IDEA B&Bs could be so charming and beautiful!!! We loved our intro to the gorgeous home, the wonderful... More 

Helpful?
Thank ElDoberman
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

It was lovely to have you both with us and we too liked that the storm allowed you to stay longer :) We hope to see you soon and thank you for the review Kelly More 

Bridgewater, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2015

I had the pleasure of staying at Phoenix Hollow when I was in town for a wedding. My only regret is that I didn't get to stay longer. My friend and I enjoyed the evening sipping Sherry and eating biscuits in the Sherry Room before turning into our amazing rooms. All the amenities you could ever want, and more! Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christina P
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, I am so glad that we were able to accommodate you and the others for the wedding;) We really appreciate your time and feedback and every review counts so thank you again Kelly More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2015

I stayed at Phoenix Hollow about 3 weeks ago for one night and couldn't have had a better experience. Kelly our host was gracious and extremely accommodating. The amenities were top notch and the bed exceptionally comfortable. While I wasn't able to partake in breakfast I heard from the other guests that it was delicious. I stay here over the... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelSnob67
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

I am so glad that you were surprised in a good way lol.... Thank you for staying with us here at the Hollow and for writing a review we truly appreciate it and hopefully we will see you again if you are in the area. Kelly More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2015

My sister and I stayed for two nights at Phoenix Hollow while visiting family in Windsor. The beds were incredibly cozy, the breakfast was delicious, and the house was astonishing: a sweeping front staircase, high ceilings and lovely views. Kelly was warm and accommodating, and shoveled us out during a blizzard! We hopped from the Griffin to Phoenix room, although... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephbot B
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, and for staying with us while you were here. We truly appreciate your time and if you are ever in the area again we hope to see you kelly More 

Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2015

My boyfriend and I celebrated our anniversary at the Phoenix Hollow, we stayed in the phoenix room. Kelly was an amazing host and we never felt so at home. The attention to detail was remarkable. She notices the little things that most would just look past, like if you arent particular about a fruit, she notes it for your next... More 

Helpful?
Thank lcw991
PhoenixHollow, Owner at Phoenix Hollow, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review and the time to write it - we really appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed both the skiing and the inn - it has been a great year of snow thats for sure. I hope you have a great summer and that we might see you both again soon kelly More 

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windsor
22.4 km away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
288 reviews
26.8 km away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
95 reviews
2.5 km away
Super 8 Windsor NS
Super 8 Windsor NS
#1 of 2 in Windsor
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 km away
Beach Breeze Motel
Beach Breeze Motel
#1 of 1 in Grand Pre
149 reviews
21.4 km away
Tattingstone Inn
Tattingstone Inn
#2 of 10 in Wolfville
249 reviews
19.9 km away
Blomidon Inn
Blomidon Inn
#4 of 10 in Wolfville
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Phoenix Hollow is where heritage style meets modern comfort. Circa 1873, this majestic home rests on 'Ferry Hill' in the quaint town of Windsor Nova Scotia. From the grand curved staircase to the 133 year-old ceiling painting with original plaster crown mouldings, the Hollow has a regal elegance and history that beckons to visitors. Enjoy our luxurious private suites, relax in the stately Sherry Room and enjoy Maritime hospitality at its best! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Phoenix Hollow

Address: 65 Chestnut Street | Box 2200, Windsor, Nova Scotia B0N 2T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Windsor
Price Range: $96 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Phoenix Hollow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only 2 rooms, both were beautiful!!”
  • Top of the stairs looking out of the Phoenix Room
 of 5 bubbles sarahhP3605IL, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Only two rooms. One is a little larger. Both have same amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles 794johnl, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the Griffin Room, and it is on the back side of the house.”
 of 5 bubbles Mialuna70, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“very clean, guiet, quaint, period appointed 2nd floor with a/c with free parking.”
 of 5 bubbles 2mitch68, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Both rooms were great. We stayed in the other room on our last visit.”
 of 5 bubbles NancyH466, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5