We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Jao Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moremi Game Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Jao Camp
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jao Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
Jupiter, Florida
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Build on pilings above the bush , the well appointed tents give you great wildlife viewing from the privacy of your own room and lots of activity happened below our tent . Elephants and Giraffes were constant visitors and we saw most of the wildlife species living at this part of the world . Needless to say food , drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flyingplumber
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Flyingplumber, for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to read about your fabulous memories of your stay with us. Our elevated rooms and walkways do offer fabulous sights and during the wet season the landscape transforms completely. We hope you will come back soon to see this. If nothing else just to sit in the private sala and...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We spent two brief nights at Jao in Mar'16. The food, suite and service were first rate. The game viewing, in relation to some other camps, was very good but not excellent. During our time, the ponds had water but the delta was not in flood mode. Jao can produce a very different experience in the 'flood season' (April -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick L
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Rick, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and certainly hope you will return soon to see the full effect of the waters during the wet season at Jao. Thank you again, Wilderness Safaris

Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 18 March 2016

We spent 7 nights at Jao from the 26th Feb to 3rd March... What a spoil! While we fully understand that Jaoe is marketed as a "water camp", meaning that it is surrounded by water which floods in from Angola between about late April through to about August/September( Depends on Angola's rainfall), there is always something to see at Jao....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timmot2016
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Timmot2016, for your wonderful review, it is always refreshing to read such understanding feedback on bush life. We hope our guides were able to teach you something during your week-long visit and even vice versa as we all love learning something new about our great wilderness. We are so glad to see you encountered so many wonderful birds...

Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Recently we spent 7 days in Jao Camp. Thank you to an amazing team for a magical stay. Our Safari Guide had an in-depth knowledge of the area with a kind and gentle manner. The Chefs produce cuisine of such a high standard, its hard to believe they are so far from civilization. All the rooms are spectacular, with attention...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Yvonne D
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne, Thank you for your beautiful review, we really enjoyed hosting you and it was a pleasure having you stay for 7 days. We loved your wicked sense of humor and all on the Jao team will remember you for a very long time. We hope you will visit us again, soon. The Team at Jao

Reviewed 16 March 2016

My husband and I chose to spend 3 nights at Jao specifically because it is advertised as a "water" camp. We had already done a lot of land-based game viewing on a previous trip to East Africa, and thought the water experiences would be an interesting new way to safari. On Jan 22nd, two weeks after I made payment for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rene C
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Rene, We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet all your expectations. The norm is that water levels fluctuate throughout the year in the Okavango Delta, and during the month of February, the focus in the Jao area is more on game drives than water activities. That said, we are currently experiencing an el...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 March 2016

Amazing people, attention to detail , The Jao family spoilt us. Managers , Newman and Rovey were fantastic. Where else would you get a champagne drive thru in the middle of the bush to finish your game drive ? Jao is not there to impress people with a race to see the big 5 , this piece of heaven is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LIEZLPRUTTON
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear LIEZLPRUTTON, Your golf course analogy is beautifully perfect. Thank you so much for your kind review we are delighted to read all your wonderful memories and overjoyed with the high recommendation. Thank you again, The Team at Jao

New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Waking up to the sound of hippos, seeing water birds at sunset, elephants drinking and bathing, papyrus growing in watery lanes while being cared for by staff that know their jobs...all this and more, make Jao one of the most memorable places we have visited in the world. Almost two years have passed but the photos and memories of this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne o
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Thank you Joanne O, We are overjoyed to hear you have such wonderful fond memories a couple of years later and sincerely hope your reminiscing will lead to a return visit. We will always have someone to assist you any time you need. We are here to make sure your trip is nothing but perfect. Thank you again, The Team...

Moorpark, California
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Jao camp was our first camp on our month long, 6 camp trip through Africa. The accommodations and location of Jso is absolutely stunning but the game viewing is limited. I recommend this camp to travelers who may wish to relax a bit more than bouncing around in an off-road jeep daily. We went on two game-drives and the although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KassandraBrooks
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear KassandraBrooks, Thank you for your fabulous review, we are slightly disappointed that your activities with your guide were not as amazing as some of the other camps you stayed at but will definitely look into this and rectify this immediately should this be the fault of your guide. We are however relieved that our beautiful spa facilities were somewhat...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 February 2016

A great safari destination is the sum of more than the amenities and the game interaction experience; it embraces the ethos, and most particularly the attitude, friendliness, knowledge, and fundamental humanness of the staff. And here Jao excels. The facilities, food, rooms are exceptional and beyond expectation as is the richness and sheer diversity of the birds in particular and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon Q
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Jon Q, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are overjoyed to see what an amazing stay you had with us and we are extremely grateful for your high praises. We cannot wait to share your beautiful words with MD as well as our Operations team to show off what a fabulous job he is doing. The birds are...

Allen, Texas
Reviewed 27 January 2016

My wife and I have been in a lot of safari camps, but Jao in the Okavango Delta has to be near the very top of the list: beautiful views, superior lodging, great food, mekoro rides, etc .It's one of those places on our "lets-go-back" list. PS---as you read the "hotel style and amenities" list below, please realize that Jao...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Jao Camp, responded to this review

Dear Rich, Thank you for your wonderful review and we do hope we will see you and your wife again soon. Located on a large island in the Okavango’s western enclave, Jao’s position – amongst waterways and lagoons, yet close to seasonal floodplains – means you can enjoy both land and water experiences, depending on the time of year and...

153 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
0.0 km away
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
#8 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
209 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
194 reviews
0.0 km away
Machaba Camp
Machaba Camp
#1 of 26 in Moremi Game Reserve
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Zarafa Camp
Zarafa Camp
#8 of 71 in Okavango Delta
132 reviews
0.0 km away
Ngoma Safari Lodge
Ngoma Safari Lodge
#2 of 20 in Chobe National Park
360 reviews
0.0 km away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#22 of 71 in Okavango Delta
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A sophisticated and hidden Okavango Delta retreat.Located on a large island in the heart of the Okavango, Jao Camp’s individually handcrafted and luxurious tents look out onto the essence of the Delta – swathes of water, swaying reeds, leaping lechwe and dancing cranes. The main area is an elaborate two-storey wooden structure with lounge and dining area, two plunge pools, a library, curio shop and boma for dining under the stars, complemented by an excellent wine cellar. An award-winning spa and gym epitomise luxury in the most remote, scenically splendid setting.HighlightsJao’s position – amongst waterways and lagoons, yet close to dry Kalahari woodland – means you can enjoy both land and water experiences, depending on the time of year and the level of the waters that move ceaselessly through the area. Here, spectacular herds of red lechwe are followed by lion and leopard, while other game includes tsessebe, giraffe, elephant, hippo and crocodile, occasional sitatunga and regular spotted-necked otter. Experiences: Mokoro • Boating (seasonal) • Seasonal catch-and-release fishing • Day and night game drives • Seasonal hide for sleep-outs or game viewing ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jao Camp

Address: Moremi Game Reserve Border, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jao Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Jao Camp Hotel Okavango Delta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jao Camp staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Jao Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“each room is accessed of an elevated walkway. Animals [apart from elephants] can roam freely through the camp.”
 of 5 bubbles raymondmD3218HC, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 6 is in a perfect location”
 of 5 bubbles 988allan, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms/huts are good; Room #1 is family room w/separate room that sleeps 2.”
 of 5 bubbles mimiseattle2016, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are luxury villas. There are only eight, and all are perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles ourcottage, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are all great and the walk to your room is like another animal viewing opportunity.”
 of 5 bubbles Timmot2016, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5