We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp

SA HotelsUS$3,838*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 6 August 2014

WE have traveled to Africa 4 times. We have stayed in 3 camps in South Africa and 6 in Kenya and this last time 3 in Botswana. We enjoyed every camp with NO complains until we stayed at Mombo camp. This place is grossly over rated and poorly maintained. Little things like dirty netting around the bed, nails sticking up...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Robert C
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this review

Dear Robert C, We are staggeringly sorry that Mombo Camp failed to live up to your expectations. We would like to reassure you that all your concerns raised are currently being addressed by the Camp Management, our Regional Operations Team as well as Managing Director of Wilderness Safaris Botswana and we will contact you directly with details of our investigation...

Sebastopol, California
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Four superb days at Duma Tau set a high standard, but two at Little Mombo did not disappoint in terms of game drives with Cisco. Spent a good hour n the soft light of late afternoon observing and photographing a leopard devouring an impala it had dragged up into a tree, plus a lot of hippo activity close by on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don L
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this review

Dear Don L, Thank you for your delightful review, we can see that with Cisco's guidance you were blessed with some phenomenal sightings. We are so glad to hear you had a good time with him and will be sure to pass on your praises. With regards to the Dining style at Mombo and how it differs from DumaTau, we...

Opunake
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was one of four camps we stayed at with Wilderness Safaris. Each camp has its own unique character but Mombo was special. The wild life was abundant and the guides very knowledgeable. We were visited by a herd of elephants while swimming in the pool which made for some great photos. Lions roared outside our room one night -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stevo00
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this review

Dear Stevo00, Thank you for your great review we love recieving feedback that we can take back to the staff and share the happy feelings. It really is a special time, if you can manage it, to stay awake while everyone else takes their nap during siesta time. To be one of the few people wondering around the camp really...

Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 17 July 2014

After a stay at Vumburra Plains which we loved, Khwai River which we disliked and left a day early for Mombo we arrived in the imaginable place. Could not have been better in sense of wildlife, so many animals in one place and interacting..the best food...the greatest new manager Neal..can not fault it. We were the only people from The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargotVandeRiet
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this review

Dear MargotVandeRiet, Thank you for your great review. Neil is a great assit to Wilderness Safaris and is currently stationed in Mombo as a relief manager while some of our other dedicated staff are taking a much deserved period of leave. Neil grew up in Kenya, but started his tourism and hospitality career in the Kruger National Park, South Africa....

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our fourth visit to Little Mombo camp. Yes, it is very expensive ... and yes (after 15 years) some of the buildings and elevated walkways are showing their age and could use some maintenance or repair. But, it is the wildlife viewing, the quality of the guides and the quality of all the staff that continue to draw...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela H
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this review

Dear Graham A, It really is great to recieve still glowing reviews from returning guests. Thank you for taking the time to submit this to us. Tsile Tsile was born in the small village of Sepopa, in Botswana’s most remote and pristine wetland, the Okavango Delta. He is a member of the Bayei people, who first introduced mekoro to the...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Mombo a 5 star luxury safari with a suite for accomodations, outdoor and in door luxury showers, personal bar and gourmet food and wine. But the best part is the game we saw with our excellent guide Doc the first drive such as the white rhino, lions, herd of elephants , hippos, giraffes and more up close and personal. Every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dawn828591
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this review

Dear Dawn C, Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are thrilled to hear you had such great animal sightings during your game drives. Our Bomo/ Camp fire evenings are always a big hit and also a staff favourite. it is great fun to see the staff singing and dancing around the camp fire, and...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Lots of animals and the tents great. Compared to Abu and Zarafa, always seemed crowded, a little disorganized and impersonal. Maybe because of all of their publicity. The guide was very disappointing Still a great e pertinence, but I think u can do better

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank boxdoc7
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your review received regarding your experiences at Mombo Camp. We are really disapoointed to hear that you were so disappointed with your guide as all our guides are very experienced and we often receive rave reviews about them. Sadly the guide was not mentioned and we are therefore unable to investigate this matter further. With regards to...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We arrived in Mombo curious as to why it was so famous... After 2 game drives with big five and a Serval cat fighting a Hyena, what could I think? But that is not all, about Mombo! the people who work there are truly special, they all love their lodge, and Botswana, and they make you feel like visitors not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ena G
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this review

Dear Ena G, Thank you for taking the time to wirte up this fantastic review for us. We are fantastically blessed at Mombo to have such great staff and game viewing. Bird and mammal checklists detailing the species found in the region are available in the room and for your use during your stay. Please advise the camp manager if...

california
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Here is your 5 star 4 seasons of safari. Our HUGE, LUXERY "tent" was unbelievable. Our staff and management great. Per other reviews, they know your name on the first day and know what you want to drink. The heated seats in the landcruisers over the top and when that was not enough and we asked for panchos they arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bigbernCalifornia
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this review

Dear bigbernCalifornia, Thank you for your brilliant review of Mombo. Mombo is one of our Premier camps, which means you are given the the extra luxury such as a hair-dryer in the room. Furthermore Wilderness Safaris Premier camps are the highest level of camps in our portfolio and comprises our most elegant and stylised accommodation. These camps combine luxury and...

Hyde Park, Vermont
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a great camp. No, there is no internet, telephone, tv, etc, but what there is ( other than wall to wall animals!) Is a staff that anticipates your needs before you know what want, A staff that remembers your name, what you drink, what you like to eat, EVERYTHING , and treats you like their best friend, how...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob W
WildernessSafaris, Guest Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp, responded to this review

Dear Bob W, Thank you for your kind words, we will be sure to share this with all our staff. April truly was a special month for us with great excitement around every corner. Camp Managers Graham and Phenyot were heading home after closing camp down one night when they came across one of the Moporota males feasting on a...

265 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:34
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (149)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (25)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moremi Game Reserve
15.3 km away
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
Sanctuary Chief's Camp
#7 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
205 reviews
42.2 km away
Kadizora Camp
Kadizora Camp
#16 of 70 in Okavango Delta
71 reviews
67.0 km away
Third Bridge Campsite
Third Bridge Campsite
#16 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Xakanaxa Campsite
Xakanaxa Campsite
#19 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
5 reviews
0.0 km away
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
Sanctuary Baines' Camp
#30 of 70 in Okavango Delta
116 reviews
107.8 km away
Mapula Lodge
Mapula Lodge
#18 of 27 in Moremi Game Reserve
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A nostalgic look back at our roots as safari pioneers in Botswana, Mombo Trails Camp is a light-footprint tented camp that has been specially erected to provide accommodation during the rebuild of Mombo and Little Mombo camps. As such, there are no permanent structures, but all the luxury and comforts of a Mombo experience, along with Mombo’s world-famous spectacular game viewing on offer. Eight elegantly furnished and spacious guest tents with en-suite facilities are situated on slightly raised decks to minimise impact on the site, all under large, shady trees, and often within sight of a variety of the area’s wildlife. Set under towering jackalberry trees, the dining, bar and lounge area offers beautiful views over the floodplain. Delicious meals are enjoyed here or under the stars, while veteran Mombo guests, guides and staff gather around the campfire to relive the history of one of our longest-running camps. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp

Address: Mombo Island, Moremi Game Reserve, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Okavango Delta > Moremi Game Reserve
Price Range: $1,620 - $6,267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mombo Camp Hotel Moremi Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All tents are perfect - The camp is remote - so bring all medicines and essential supplies with you.”
  • Luxury tent with shower, toilet, double bed, desk, stocked fridge, safe for valuables , view
929MarkL, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Jacana camp is an excellent spot.”
ericon991, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Always try for a tent at the end for privacy”
janeo884, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The views from the two "tents" we enjoyed were as peaceful as they come.”
denver7756, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Only three rooms and all are very beautiful and comfortable.”
992arleneb, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
SA Hotels
US$3,838* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates