We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cresta Thapama Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cresta Thapama Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
Start your review of Cresta Thapama Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Arrived with greeting and smiles everywhere ,staff gladly carried by bags. "Swimming time"Cold drinks by the pool ...Staff are great good service. The pool was looked like it could be filled up more HOWEVER there are water shortages in Botswana so i maybe thats the reason...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank desfer
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Desfer Thank you for staying at Cresta Thapama. We appreciate the full marks awarded on the Tripadvisor platform. Wishing you the very best for 2017. Kind regards Ms Kosi Nametsegang Seitshiro | General Manager, Cresta Thapama

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

Room was fine. No chairs on balcony? Poolside bar poorly stocked, no wine. Restaurant buffet looked unappetizing, went a la carte. Steak in pepper sauce, more like beef and gravy. Soggy cold chips. Restaurant freezing. No wine list, don't really need one when you only offer a choice of three. Staff sullen and unhelpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beverleyl950
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beverlyl950 Greetings from Cresta Thapama We are sorry that your stay with us was not a pleasant one. We appreciate the feedback highlighting areas needing improvement. Our operations team has been taking corrective action and we trust that you will notice a marked improvement on your next visit to Francistown. We wish you happy travels. Kind regards Ms Kosi...

Harare
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Me & my husband visited francistown in June for business. We were very tired after driving all the way from Harare. Cresta Thapama provided us with the rest that we needed. Room was very clean. Dinner & breakfast very good too. My only problem was the distance that we had to walk from the reception to our room. Seemed like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melody M
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melody M. Greetings from Cresta Thapama. Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Francistown. We were honoured to have you as our guest. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Ms Kosi Nametsegang Seitshiro | General Manager, Cresta Thapama

Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

They could do better. Once you are customer you expect a good service since you are paying a lot for the night. The idea of being stood by the reception and told you can not b given a room because they need you to pay upfront is NOT going down well. Arrived at 2300hrs and was told to wait for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thapeloo
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thapeloo Greetings from Francistown. Thank you for staying at Cresta Thapama. We were honoured to have you as our guest. We would like to apologise that our payment policy was not explained at time of reservation. Please be advised that we kindly request that our guests pay a deposit at check in if their reservation has not yet been...

Gaborone
Reviewed 29 November 2015

I have previously spent many nights at this hotel but I have never experienced this before. Spent the whole week trying to get the safe repaired, drinking the same water I found in the room the whole week. Did I forget to mention that I had to wake up to go and switch my lights on and off everyday at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth R
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kenneth R. Greetings from Cresta Thapama. We are sorry that our service did not live up to expectations during your stay. We would like to apologise for the inconveniece caused. Please rest assured that all areas of concern have been attended to. We hope to see you again. Kind regards Ms Kosi Nametsegang Seitshiro General Manager, Cresta Thapama

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

Hotel a bit run down. Everything in room is clean and working properly. Do not save yourself for the buffet meal in the evening. Food perpetuation is not great. The deserts look and tasted old and tired.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abraham B
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Abraham B. Thank you for reviewing Cresta Thapama on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that there were service glitches during your stay. We have revisited our procedures and included staff re-training to ensure that recurrence is avoided. We have plans for a soft refurbishment in the medium term for the hotel. We hope to see you again. Kind regards Ms...

Gaborone, Botswana
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

Our stay was very comfortable and relaxing. The hotel has free Internet and a lovely pool area, where one can relax. Kids play ground is on close proximity. The restaurant has a wide variety of meals and the breakfasts were excellent. The bar and lounge area has a big screen for sports events. Our stay was most enjoyable. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank botfam
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ben and The Family Mission Greetings from Francistown. Thank you for staying at Cresta Thapama. We were honoured to have you as our guests. We are delighted that you rate us as one of the finest hotels in Francistown. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Conveniently situated hotel offering a nice breakfast and large rooms. However, it is a tad dingy, outdated and characterless, as well as overpriced. Our room was close to what seemed like the back of a very noisy and smelly shopping center or market, which was unpleasant. The carpet was stained and the curtains looked like they could do with a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Megan M
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Megan M. Greetings from Cresta Thapama. Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful at all times. Your constructive feedback on areas needing improvement in our operations is appreciated and is being addressed including the housekeeping matters raised. Kind regards Ms Kosi Nametsegang Seitshiro General Manager, Cresta...

Cape Town
Reviewed 26 December 2014

This was my third time staying at this hotel. Not a good hotel. Service is poor. The food at the restaurant is not good. Wifi is free but very very slow and thus not good.One good thing was the ladies at the reception who really tried to assist.Not value for money. The rooms is quite old and not clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank henmo67
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Henmo67 Greetings from Cresta Thapama. Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. Your constructive feedback is appreciated and is being addressed including the wifi connection which is being overhauled in this year. Kind regards Ms Kosi Nametsegang Seitshiro General Manager, Cresta Thapama

Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2014 via mobile

On a stay over in Francistown, the restaurant and bar (literally across the way) was recommended to us. The bar area was quiet so service was good. The restaurant was busier but not too busy. Of the 8 meals ordered, two (oxtail, and lamb stew) were described as first class. The three who ordered ribs were satisfied with there meal....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
Cresta_Hotels_Group, Manager at Cresta Thapama Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Greetings from Cresta Thapama. Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor regarding your dining experience in our restaurant We appreciate your feedback on areas of improvement. It is with feedback from our valued guests like you that we can continuously strive to improve our product and service. We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Yours sincerely...

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francistown
2.6 km away
Cresta Marang And Residency
Cresta Marang And Residency
#1 of 5 in Francistown
89 reviews
2.2 km away
Diggers Inn
Diggers Inn
#2 of 5 in Francistown
59 reviews
0.0 km away
Cresta Mahalapye
Cresta Mahalapye
#1 of 1 in Mahalapye
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Peermont Metcourt Francistown
Peermont Metcourt Francistown
#4 of 14 in Francistown
60 reviews
12.6 km away
Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
Woodlands Stop Over and Lodge
#1 of 18 in Francistown
163 reviews
2.2 km away
A New Earth Guest Lodge
A New Earth Guest Lodge
#2 of 18 in Francistown
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Cresta Thapama Hotel

Address: A1 Highway, Francistown 00000, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-East District > Francistown
Price Range: $217 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cresta Thapama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cresta Thapama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cresta Thapama Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles MarkH482, 3 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Choose the one tht can give you good view to the beautiful city during the nite.”
 of 5 bubbles home08081982, 9 Nov 2014 | Read review
“" All Rooms on the good position as it is locate in the city center" "Corner suites are large and sunny"”
 of 5 bubbles josephfreddyt, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Try and get an upgrade on check in”
 of 5 bubbles Scottrekker, 15 May 2014 | Read review
“The top room floors are probably quieter”
 of 5 bubbles CheetahgirlBris, 20 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5