We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Eight Bells Mountain Inn

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 313: English reviews
Start your review of Eight Bells Mountain Inn
 Click to rate
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I took my parents, who are both 92, to Eight Bells for a week across the Easter Weekend. They had spent their honeymoon there in 1950 and we had later gone there as a family when we were children. It was a wonderful chance to relive the old memories. The charm is still there as is the anvil and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveForestg
Paarl
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Wow, what a great time we had. Great service, great food and a beautiful setting. The kids had a ball and great MTB!! We have already made a booking for 2018!! I would highly recommend Eight Bells to families with small kids!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank talita_guizot
Stoke-on-Trent, England
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately this was only an overnight stay, i arrived late and vacated early. But i can say that the standard of these log cabins is excellent. Set in the mountains on the Robinson Pass the setting is very tranquil. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and made sure we were provided with a packed breakfast for our early start. Unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Two E' S
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

We are certainly the type of establishment that lends itself to a longer stay as we offer such a vast range of activities, but we are however pleased that you choose us for your visit. We appreciate all feedback and thank you for reviewing us. We have had a few problems with our wifi connection and have taken steps to...

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of my favourite places to overnight when travelling on the Garden Route in South Africa. It has a unique old world charm about it from the beautifully kept gardens, the historic pub and the giant Oak tree in the front of the hotel to the dining experience in the spacious dining room or breakfast on the sun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wildguide
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your visit. We appreciate your kind words and take note of your comments regarding the road noise. We are planning an upgrade of the Pool Terrace rooms which I am sure will eliminate most of the current road noise experienced. Thank you once again.

Kempton Park, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We thank the staff of Eight Bells for making our stay: comfortable ,enjoyable and most memorable. Breakfast was: wholesome, plentifully, and with a variety to satisfy anybody. Evening meals are well prepared, and will satisfy anybody in presentation and taste The lawn are well maintained and there is a colourful display of shrubs and flowers. I am a vegetarian and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlo_minuzzo
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. We are grateful that you enjoyed your stay and all aspects of our offering. We are certainly looking forward to your next visit.

Estepona, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a good place to stop between Mossel bay and oudtshoorn. It would be a great place to stop with children as it has lots to do. We had a refreshing swim in the pool we played table tennis and had a game of lawn bowls. All in the most stunning scenery. The rooms were clean and traditional I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Palladio78
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

It is heartwarming to receive a review of this nature and it makes us proud to be associated with this property. Thank you so much for the kind words. Your review will certainly inspire the staff at our next meeting. Looking forward to be able to welcome you back soon.

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There's something very special about Eight Bells. It's charming, homely, relaxed and set amongst beautiful scenery with the loveliest and very helpful staff. Delicious wholesome food. Our young children were very sad to leave and we had to promise to return soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristinaschoppe
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

You cannot disappoint your children, you will have to come back soon. Thank you for staying with us and for your positive review, it is much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our offering and am looking forward to your next visit.

Kineton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Eight Bells is situated on a mountain pass between Mossel Bay and Oudstshoorn so it is a bit of a drive to get there. Beautiful well maintained grounds. We had a delicious traditional roast dinner here on a Sunday. The tables looked lovely with white tablecloths and silverware, but the atmosphere was relaxed and they go out of their way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Eight Bells and that everything was to your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on good old-fashioned service in a relaxed and caring environment. Thank you for your stay, hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon.

La Herradura, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A pity we only stayed one night. Peace and tranquility in a lovely spot. The room we had had 2 bedrooms so lots of space. Food and service were good. A pity the internet was not better but no big deal. We would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan5704
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for spending a night with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As explained in the previous review our location does not allow for faster bandwidth but hopefully that will change soon. Thank you once again.

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The inn is a typical English country Inn. Staff are polite and provide good service. The location is beautiful countryside. Only big issue is the lack of modern internet connectivity. The inn provides 200mg per day per room which is consumed in a few minutes. Bring a book.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jhunt3
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. Situated in the mountains more than 35km from the nearest town automatically creates limitations regarding internet access and availability. We offer 200MB of WiFi free per day for every room from our limited availability. Thereafter guests are able to purchase additional access for R30 for 100MB, R50 for 250MB or...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
28.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
26.3 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
170 reviews
29.6 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 km away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
232 reviews
27.5 km away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
107 reviews
19.9 km away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#3 of 30 in Mossel Bay
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in South Africa’s picturesque Garden Route, Eight Bells Mountain Inn nestles in the Ruiterbos Valley Region at the foot of the Robinson Pass on the R328 between Mossel Bay (35km) and Oudtshoorn (50km). Renowned for its friendly hospitality, superb service and range of recreational facilities amidst magnificent mountain scenery.Facilities include swimming pool, tennis courts, squash, bowls, billiards, children’s play park and playroom, horse riding, walking trails, birding, on the 400-acre estate.Free wifi in all public areas and rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Eight Bells Mountain Inn

Address: Robinson Pass on R328, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Price Range: $134 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Bells Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eight Bells Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Eight Bells Mountain Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Eight Bells Mountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stairs to chalets are quite steep but the Palm Court offers easy access.”
SteveForestg, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Insist on a room as far from the road as possible.”
wildguide, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from road, there is wifi, free for first 100mb then pay as you go”
555angb, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Next time we would choose a Swiss Cottage, they look so peaceful an majestic on top of the hills. ”
gabrielagV7916DM, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Palm Court or Swiss Village have the best location”
TouristGuide, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5