We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 338: English reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2016

I found that I did not want for anything more, as the hotel ticked all the boxes for a convenient one night stay. Staff was friendly, room was well equiped and the room service dinner was most enjoyable. Good variety for breakfast. Will definately return on my next business trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicci F
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear Nicci F Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay through Tripadvisor. As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to...

Essex, UK
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Upon driving into the harbour area of mossel Bay near the protea hotel you could be mistaken for thinking you are in an industrial area. Upon arrival at the hotel facade was deceptive and the place looked like it was closed down. You are greeted at the main entrance with a cage like door and you had to wait to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank essexlady1
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear essexlady1 Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in Tripadvisor with your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback which has been shared with our hotel team, please accept our apologies for any discomfort you may have experienced. Our restaurant , the Café Gannet - known as Mossel Bay's seafood house, is a very popular restaurant and...

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel doesn't have an elevator which in my opinion shouldn't be the case at any hotel. It's a real pain to carry the bags upstairs, they do have a porter but he is not always there. The check out process took them ages. Breakfast was under average , poor selection and quite pricey. Our hotel room was very dangerous,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaAUH
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear ClaudiaAUH Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to review and follow-up appropriately. Upholding...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We chose this hotel as the best one in the area with availability on othe start of our garden route trip and it met our needs well. Was clean and comfortable. Good bed and linens and the bathroom amenities were nice. Nice location and easy to park by hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rusby1
ProteaHotelMosselBay, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear Rusby1 Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriot Mossel Bay on Tripadvisor We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to...

Surrey, UK
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stayed here one night as we started driving the Garden Route.Reception staff were very friendly giving us a welcome drink. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival so accommodation was large on 3 floors.However, the place smelt of cleaning liquid which my husband found uncomfortable to bare. The evening we were there unfortunately they had a function on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YvySurrey_UK
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear YvySurrey_UK Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your interest and concern are therefore extremely valuable to us, and we hope that you will be staying with us again soon. We should welcome...

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 3 September 2016

The old world charm blows you away and then meeting the friendly and helpful staff is another surprise, feeling as if you just arrived home. We were appointed the suite overlooking the harbour, beautiful settings, classy sorroundings, three story suite with an extra single bed for a third person, We arrived in town for a wedding and the weather just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vettie01
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear Vettie01 Thank you very much for your lovely comments and taking the time to post them on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. Please be assured that I will congratulate our TEAM for doing a great job! Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay and we...

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Very good accommodation, reasonable and good clean , modern and comfortable rooms. The beds were very nice and we all slept very well. Impacable cleanliness. Staff very helpful. There is a pool and very good views at the back. Recommended for anyone travelling through Mosell Bay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veeru P
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear Veeru P Thank you taking the time to review the Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay with your recent visit to beautiful Garden Route. We appreciate your comments and feedback as well as your recommendation! Glad you enjoyed the facilities and the views our property has to offer. I sincerely hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back...

Portugal
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Not a very big hotel but very cozy and friendly. The rooms at the "new area" of the hotel are so nice, with a design decoration. Love it! Food and people excellent. Near the waterfront. Free wi-fi (that's important nowadays). Dont forget to send a postcard!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear Sara T Thank you very much for reviewing Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay on Tripadvisor. We're glad you've enjoyed your stay and the "new look". We appreciate your feedback. I sincerely hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Ronel Theron General Manager

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I stay mostly in Protea Hotels for business through the Southern Cape. The Protea Hotel in Mosselbay is probably the best. I stayed in room 1 which is spacious with clean fresh decor and amazing bedding. Traveling for business is always difficult when it comes to dinner as I don't like dinning alone. However the Restuarant linked to this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan M
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan M Wow, thank you for the compliment - "best Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is the best"! As a VALUED CUSTOMER, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our...

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We arrived in Mossel Bay in the pouring rain, and it poured with rain most of the time we were there- perhaps that affected our view of the place. The room we had was pretty good, quite long and thin which meant it was not easy to get around the bed. The room decor was sort of nightclub 90s chic....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew W
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review

Dear Matthew W Thank for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor with your recent stay at the Protea Hotel by Marriot Mossel Bay. It is unfortunate that you were not able to experience some sunny days whilst visiting our beautiful town and the hotel with it's excellent location - centrally located, walking distance from all the major...

252 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (92)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
28.8 km away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
305 reviews
3.6 km away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
152 reviews
1.3 km away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
447 reviews
0.5 km away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
45 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The luxurious 31-roomed Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is a graceful landmark, built in 1846, overlooking Santos Bay and harbour. Nestling on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua Mountains as a backdrop, the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is singled out from other establishments. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is situated 5 min from Santos Beach. Take in the sea air whilst dining at Café Gannet, where you can sample local mussels, fresh fish and oysters or try the chefs daily specials. As sunset arrives, visit the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar, with its own special ambience, pool deck and superb sea views, is the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions are the close proximity to shopping facilities, the yacht club, harbour and north-facing, sun splashed beaches. As part of the museum complex, the Maritime, Local History and Shell Museum, as well as the Old Post Office Tree, are all within strolling distance. The new golf estate is 2km away and the airport a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

Address: cnr of Church and Market Streets, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Mossel Bay)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Price Range: $132 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossel Bay Protea Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Presidential suite is very nice for a family.”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the rooms in the old part looked a bit dark so ask for room in newer part”
 of 5 bubbles travelaslongasican, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No.1 and adjcaent rooms are super modern.”
  • Stylish bathroom
 of 5 bubbles Bluefox47, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Suite was my choice own kitchen etc”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good and modern”
  • Modern rooms
 of 5 bubbles 687stephanw, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5