We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 13 January 2017

This was our 1st camp along a nearly 2 week safari and wow did these guys set the bar high for the camps to follow (to which none had an issue reaching) but being the 1st couple of nights I think the surrounding nature and genuine kindness from all of the staff completely astonished me. I don't know how they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nathan_CA_USA
North Wales
Reviewed 26 December 2016

We had a lovely family Christmas eve at this beautiful camp. The location is amazing, the staff are super friendly and efficient and provided a really warm welcome. The mess tent is set up beautifully with a lovely cosy corner with big comfy sofa and then a nice big dining area. The tents were well equipped and very comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank macca1234
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

This camp is located inside the park gates - so you start down long before anyone else gets near the Crater. Of course the crater and the wildlife are terrific. The camp is tented so it's not for everyone; but the staff is great, the food fine,and the surroundings amazing. We also had the opportunity here to visit a true...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tandtmcd
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp. Our tent was well equipped and beautifully decorated in a safari style of course. Bathrooms are important to me and this one did not disappoint. Dinners and breakfasts were served at a communal table and it was really interesting meeting people from all over the world. Although it was cool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louisa_from_Edmonton
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We absolutely loved our stay! It was far better than we had even anticipated, the tent was incredibly furnished and they even had a bottle of champagne for us to celebrate our Honeymoon. We were very pleasantly surprised and it was the highlight as far as accommodation is concerned when we were on our safari. I highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dan_steele
Oceanside, CA
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Four of us spent two nights at the Lemala camp in September 2016. The camp is well-appointed (our tent had a Moroccan theme), and the staff is very helpful and fun (a guest had a birthday and it was celebrated by the staff singing and dancing in the dining room!). The camp is located inside the caldera conservancy gate, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bud_phillips2001
TX
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed here two nights in late September 2016. The tents were very nice and the staff was great. They were helpful and attentive. The food was probably the best we had on our trip. When we got there, they greeted us with warm scented towels to wipe off the dust. They carried our duffel bags and were ready at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TXGirlWanderer
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and am delighted you had a lovely stay with us. I hope you have returned home fresh and relaxed with lots of wonderful memories of your trip to Tanzania Warmest regards Veronica

Esher, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Spent two nights at this camp in late August. The camp's location is fantastic, probably the best on the rim. Right by the Lemala Gate that has the only two-way access to and from the crater so no time wasted driving round the rim. Makes it easy to be one of the first on the crater floor. The camp itself...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LozzaClaygate
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and am delighted you had such a great stay wit us and so thank you very much for sharing and i hope yo have wonderful memories of your trip to Tanzania to share with everyone back home. Warm regards Veronica

Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Excellent camp close to the crater. Excellent staff. It's worth staying here to get into and out of the crater quickly. We were able to be 1 of the last vehicles out of the crater ech night. It was quite cold. Staff ensured the gas heaters were lit to warm the tent before we went to bed. They even provided...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul H
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and am delighted you had such a great stay wit us and so thank you very much for sharing and i hope yo have wonderful memories of your trip to Tanzania to share with everyone back home. Sorry about the lack of a view of the crater but being so close to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We arrived at Lemala Camp about 5pm and were greeted by the Maasai staff who offered us fragrant wet flannels and whisked away our bags. The camp didn’t have a crater view, but was set under a gorgeous Acacia grove. It was fairly cold at the high elevation in June, and we were extremely glad we had packed jumpers and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Abby L
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp, responded to this review

Oh my goodness. How can I say thank you enough for such a great detailed review. I am sorry the shower was not as strong as it should have been but that problem has been resolved - just needed a little cleaning in the shower head and we are back to normal with strong hot showers. I hope the rest...

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
3:16
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
0.0 km away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
602 reviews
0.0 km away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
393 reviews
0.0 km away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,451 reviews
0.0 km away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#12 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
193 reviews
0.0 km away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#22 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
LEMALA NGORONGORO is an intimate camp set in a delightful ancient acacia forest on the rim of the crater, next to the quiet Lemala access route. The camp has 12 spacious canvas tents to ensure intimacy and minimal impact on the pristine forest environment. The tents accommodate two queen beds with winter weight duvets and hot water bottles. The tents are warmed in the evenings by a gas heater, ensuring a cosy night's sleep. The roomy en-suite bathrooms contain a dressing area, flush toilet and a large safari shower. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp

Address: Ngorongoro Crater Rim, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: $693 - $4,590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemala Ngorongoro Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All tents are equivalent”
 of 5 bubbles LozzaClaygate, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All accommodations are identical. Tents closer to the main lodge are more convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles DennisD26336, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
“All tents similar”
 of 5 bubbles TravellerCleethorpes, 14 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Just depends how far you want to walk back to your tent.”
 of 5 bubbles LeanneR165, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“bring warm clothes”
 of 5 bubbles RichardL319, 13 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5