We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,082 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 882: English reviews
Start your review of Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
 Click to rate
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Pleasant quite basic lodge with good sized bedroom and satisfactory clean and functioning bathroom. Working safe. Wi fi free and satisfactory strength. The view of the crater from the bedroom and public areas is absolutely breathtaking and unforgettable. Food fine. Good inexpensive laundry service. Staff helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbuckley43
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The lodge appears to have past its prime and is in need of a restoration or renovation for the rooms and common spaces. The staff also need better training on how to deal with problems or requests raised by guests. The staff are very well meaning, but that doesn't compensate for the quality of service. I raised the specific issues...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marc_416
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Magnificent view of he crater from all cabins as well as bar and dining room. You arrive at n upper level and then go down a umber of stairs (too many for anyone havinf some difficulty with steps) to the level of the rooms and bar. The rooms are large with a balcony overlooking the crater. I wished I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DFHENDY
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dwight, Good day to you and thank you for your time taken to post the review. Much appreciation and we are glad that you had a wonderful time at the Crater. Hoping that you will once again visit and stay at Ngorongoro Serena, together with my team wishing you all the best

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was most worried about this lodge living up to my price/value expectations, but it performed. This was the last stop on our safari quest and refreshing given the cool, brisk temperatures. The proximity to the western entrance to the crater (I think it's western) means you can be one of the first ones down without having to leave more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimberley l
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kimberley, Greetings from the a team at Ngorongoro Serena. Grateful to read from you, Much thanks for the time and the posted comments. Will convey the message to Iddy (your server). We are glad to learn that you had wonderful time at the lodge. It is our expectation that we will host you once again in the near future....

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time I've stayed while on a photographic safari with Renner Safaris. I was so happy to return. It's truly a grand resort with wonderful food, great entertainment, clean and comfortable rooms, and attentive service. I would have loved to stay much longer than my two nights but we had a bustling itinerary. So glad to return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conanmccoy
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mccoy, Thank you for the valuable comments posted in here. We are happy that you gave us another opportunity to serve you once again and hoping that it wont be the last one. Will be more than happy to host you for the third time. Thank you, Dismas Simba General Manager

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Yet again the Serena Company did us proud. Excellent lodges well equipped with spectacular views over the crater which were particularlry outstanding in the early hours of the morning of our departure seeing the sun rising over the rim of the crater

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickyCardiff
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ricky, Many thanks for the review of the Serena in Ngorongoro. We are glad that you had memorable vacation at the lodge. Much appreciate and will be more grateful to host you once again in the near future. Kind regards, Dismas Simba General Manager

Chelmsford, England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great tented lodge not far from the crater itself. Tents were well appointed with great shower facilities. Restaurant and food were excellent with a good choice of both local and international food. Staff were great and very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mb2197
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Ngorongoro crater is breathtaking and one of the most spectacular safari destinations in the world. While its been around for several decades the Serena Lodge is extremely well maintained and managed. Almost all room are a good size with large balconies having spectacular views across the 20km wide caldera. Efficient check in and check out and generally friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank savvy_dave
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Dave, Thank you for the review, we are happy that you had a wonderful holiday at the lodge. Much appreciate for the comment on the corkage fee, we will analyze and plan a review to better fee. Thank you and wishing yo all the best, we will be more than happy to host you in the near future. Thank...

Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long game drive you need a best place to rest and taking your good time in a nice place. The area is good for you to refresh your mind and enjoying the good air of the area and getting best services ever seen else where in Africa. The place is awesome to it's good environment and viewing point...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moonlight2urse
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Good day to you and thank you for the review. We are glad to know that you had wonderful time while staying with us at the lodge. It is our sincere hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future at the "Garden of Africa" Thank you, Dismas Simba General Manager

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful views of the crater everywhere you look. Lovely room with a terrace. Only disappointment was no pool. Wonderful evening entertainment. Middle of the road food but typical of other safari hotels inthe price range.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarleneBoston
SerenaHotels, General Manager at Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marlene, Thank you for the review. We did not do a swimming pool because this area is normally very cold, however that you for the comment we might now need to reconsider. Much appreciates and hoping to host you in future. Kind regards, Dismas Simba Ganeral Manager

887 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (866)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (189)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (139)
Viewed
View from Room (134)
Viewed
Dining (65)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
3:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (307)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
12.5 km away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
394 reviews
18.6 km away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,470 reviews
39.8 km away
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
Lake Manyara Serena Lodge
#1 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 47 in Karatu
605 reviews
13.3 km away
The Manor at Ngorongoro
The Manor at Ngorongoro
#4 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
297 reviews
0.0 km away
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
Lemala Ngorongoro Tented Camp
#15 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perched on the jagged rim of the crater, wreathed in morning mist, camouflaged in river-stone and cloaked in indigenous creepers, the Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge is a triumph of ecological and architectural fusion. Sensitively constructed so as to take nothing from its environment whilst affording endless vistas over the heat-shimmering reaches of the crater below, the clustered boulder-built buildings of the Lodge hug the crater rim, linked by rope-lashed timber walkways that skirt the buttressed roots of ancient, liana-hung trees. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: $406 - $1,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have crater views”
  • Bedroom
  • Bathroom
  • Bedroom
  • Bathroom
 of 5 bubbles jbuckley43, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are quite a lot of stairs. Ask for room on same level as the bar and closest to I also.”
 of 5 bubbles Conanmccoy, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The upper floor has more unobstructed views, although all rooms have a crater view.”
 of 5 bubbles atrevida, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper room for the best view of the crater”
 of 5 bubbles lucia871, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor rooms have a better view of the crater.”
 of 5 bubbles Calypso88, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5