We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

603 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 402: English reviews
Boonah, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Our Stay here was far too short. The lodge beautifully appointed, reception staff,efficient & friendly. The dining room nicely appointed, food well presented by the friendly chef even if plating a little dated, didn't matter was tasty. Breakfast good. The ordering of drinks was a little difficult having to go out to the bar maybe short staffed on the night....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank v0gue
Devdutt A, Group Operations Manager at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We regret you had to visit the bar to order the drinks. Thank you once again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Tanzania! Best Regards, Devdutt Abhyankar

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

the lodge is located right on crater rim with spectacular view of the whole crater.. you just need to open your window curtains to have see the eighth wonder or the world.. the lodge staff and management are very friendly. rooms are cozy, clean with nice beds, good amenities (mini kitchennette and fridge) nice wooden furniture washroom has bath and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shoeb a
Devdutt A, Group Operations Manager at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Shoeb, Thank you for choosing Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you back soon. Warm Regards Devdutt Abhyankar

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Such a beautiful lodge with stunning views of the crater. The lodge itself sits directly over the crater. We were given a room that's overlooking the crater. The room is clean and spacious. The big glass window offers breathtaking views from the moment you enter your room. Accommodation includes free breakfast and dinner. Food is good with good variety. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DanileeR
Devdutt A, Group Operations Manager at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the positive review. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and we are hoping to see you back soon. Warm Regards Devdutt Abhyankar

London
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We went on a 12-day safari in Kenya and Tanzania, and we upgraded our stays in Tanzania since we had already camped quite a bit in Kenya, and judging by the reviews, budget camping in Tanzania didn't seem for us. This lodge was absolutely stunning, when you walk in you are overwhelmed with the view from the huge panorama window....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdj84
Devdutt A, Group Operations Manager at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking out time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Ngongororo Wildlife Lodge. We know as a guest you have many options and we thank you for choosing Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge as your preferred hotel for accommodation. We do hope to see you back soon. Warm Regards Devdutt Abhyankar

Oakland, California
Reviewed 20 October 2016

I really wanted to give this place a rating of 5. The rustic opulence, African style, is certainly welcoming. But when you're paying at this price range, there's a higher expectation of the basics that should be provided in order to get a decent night's sleep. The bed's wooden platform was made of cheap press-board (MDF), which had sagged over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xcwbbxc
Devdutt A, Group Operations Manager at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. We are sorry you had to face inconvenience with the bed and the window. Please accept our apologies. We are hoping to see you back soon, thereby providing us an opportunity to make amends and serve you better. Best Regards Devdutt Abhyankar

St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Smallish well appointed room with a fantastic view. Our room was very clean and the staff was accommodating. When we asked for extra blankets, we received them promptly. Lovely lobby with evening entertainment. The food was good and plentiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seterry3188
Devdutt A, Group Operations Manager at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the positive review. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and we are hoping to see you back soon. Warm Regards Devdutt Abhyankar

Reviewed 2 October 2016

Stayed in Feb 2015. Spectacular views from deck outside, and saw some wildlife outside our room window. Food was okay. Mattresses were a bit stiff as others have stated, decor was dated but rooms and bathrooms were very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 4wahine
Devdutt A, Group Operations Manager at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Ngorongoro Wildlife lodge and for posting a positive feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon Regards Devdutt

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Let's start with the goodies: The view from the bedroom huge window, overlooking the crater is TOP and very well worth the stay, also from the bar terrace with a glass of wine the panorama is breathtaking. Clean, friendly, and confortable. The food is good, althought not great, but that's a question of tastes and the waiters/waitresses are friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lucaviMilan_Italy
Devdutt A, Group Operations Manager at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge. We are sorry you had to face inconvenience with the size of the toilets and wifi. The property was built in 1970 and is a heritage property which previously belonged to the government. We carry out regular renovations however we are...

Austria
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We enjoyed our stay in this lodge. The view is amazing! The rooms are small but clean. The Lobby is very beautiful, all made out of wood. Dinner and breakfast were served as a buffet - tasty and varied. Electricity is swiched off at 10pm, so you have to charge your electronic equipment before. Hot water is also just available...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MottiAut
Devdutt A, Group Operations Manager at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Ngorongoro Wildlife lodge and for posting a feedback. We are glad you have enjoyed the view, food and service. The lodge is powered by generator due to its remote location. The power is switched off at midnight to avoid disturbance to the wildlife around the lodge. We hope to see you back soon. Regards...

Vilshofen, Germany
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Room was clean and had a stunning view, could have spent hours of watching the crater. Had dinner and breakfast, both was ok but not much for dinner which vegetarians kann choose. Internet very expensive with 10 US for 24 hours. Unfortunately there is nothing in between camping and this kind of expensive lodges in the crater.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucia H
Devdutt A, Group Operations Manager at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge and you enjoyed the view. We are sorry you had to face inconvenience with the internet. Due to the remote location, access to wifi is via satellite dish with very expensive data bundles. Please accept our apologies. We are hoping to...

498 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (498)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (241)
Viewed
View from Room (47)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (119)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngorongoro Conservation Area
37.7 km away
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Manyara National Park
124 reviews
1.9 km away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
393 reviews
20.8 km away
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge
#7 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
Ngorongoro Serena Safari Lodge
#6 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
1,065 reviews
17.8 km away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 45 in Karatu
593 reviews
12.7 km away
Crater Forest Tented Camp
Crater Forest Tented Camp
#29 of 39 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge is dramatically perched on the rim of Africa’s Eden, affording unbelievable views plunging down over the crater floor, 7,500 feet above the sea level. The Lodge is elegantly built mainly from natural stone and local wood and timber, harmoniously merging with its natural surroundings, and it is provided with panoramic windows that encompass superb views of the crater’s great bowl. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge

Address: Ngorongoro Crater, Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Price Range: $418 - $1,340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngorongoro Wildlife Hotel Ngorongoro Conservation Area
Ngorongoro Wildlife Conservation Area
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
nairobi
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with views are magnificent”
 of 5 bubbles dtrevinosbs, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not sure of the hotel room layout, but many (or most?) have views.”
 of 5 bubbles 3waytieforlast, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“view facing the crater!”
 of 5 bubbles AussieSophia, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one with view, we were on the first floor and it was a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles Pej60, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Definitely pay the extra for Crater view room. Suit two to a room no more.”
 of 5 bubbles angelaw881, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5