We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kings Head Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kings Head Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Kings Head Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Family of 15 had Sunday lunch for two of our grandchildrens birthdays and all of us really enjoyed for. Staff were great and although it was PACKED we all got our food together. Thank you to all for making it a lovely lunch. Mrs Payne

 Report
Helpful?
Thank payne0191
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Mrs Payne for your recent review, we are so pleased that your party all enjoyed your experience with us! We hope that you can bring all the family again very soon!

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Absolutley wonderful meal! We came on what looked to be quite a busy Friday night without booking. I was worried about the wait time but we had our food within 15-20 minutes so I was impressed! We went straight in and ordered mains. The fillet beef stroganoff was amazing! The fibeef was cooked to perfection! My Dad ordered two starters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte W
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Charlotte, you should definitely dine with us again and treat your mam, am sure you would not be disappointed! We are happy with your review, its always nice to know that we are making our customers very happy!

Blaydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Just been for Sunday lunch, fabulous meal, service good, would advise to book. If you are out with dogs good walks nearby and outside seating in nice grounds. Meal was 2 roast beef and lamb singles available enormous yorkshire pud and pefectly cooked melt in your mouth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Eileen, thank you for your recent review, you must visit us again to sample meals from our main menu, we have a lot of choice indeed :-)

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Went here last night friendly clean pub ,very pleasant staff head waitress went out of her way to make you feel welcome ,meal was beautiful portion sizes were huge, real chips and onion rings ,myself and husband got the three course meal never ordered dessert as were to full of the other 2 courses ,great prices will defiantly be back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison4765
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Alison thank you for such a fantastic review, we hope that you can return very soon :-)

Reviewed 10 September 2016

Visited the kings head tonight and the food was lovely shame about the service, sat not far from the kitchen door i could hear the chef ringing the bell and shouting for the food to be taken from the kitchen. Most floor staff stood talking while one young girl was working. Management needs to address this

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jellybelly2004
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sure that after having read your recent review, Beth our manager would be more than willing to discuss your experience with us, on 01207 520054, we look forward to hearing from you regarding your visit :-)

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

I visited here with my son for a single night, as we were meeting my other son, and have a day in Durham. It's located close to Durham at 8 miles, and a return taxi was £32:00. The rooms we small, with comfortable bed, and even though the place was busy with food, we did not eat there other than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulBr00ks
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Paul, thanks for your review, we believe our rooms are adequately sized, equipped with everything a guest may need! As to breakfast was it the portion sizes? When we say rushed in what way? By staff? Cooked in a hurry? We get so many great reviews for our rooms and hearty full english breakfasts :-)

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We've heard so many good reviews about here. The food was fabulous; I had the chicken, black pudding and bacon and it was fantastic. My boyfriend had the liver and said it was lovely. We will definitely be back again, thank you to the staff for a great service!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VickiH92
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Vicki, thank you for your recent review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, we hope to see you very soon :-)

Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We had a fantastic meal on wednesday night , good value and massive helpings , staff really friendly and helpful. Deserts really really nice ( sticky toffee pudding ). Plenty of parking at the back , well worth a visit .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Stephen for such a great review 😀 Did you join our very popular quiz too? You must on your next visit!

Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

We decided on the Kings Head as it was local for the weekend and we had been there before without any major problems. I chose a mixed grill as I was hungry, but quickly realised I shouldn't have! Despite asking for a medium rare steak on the grill, a well done steak was delivered, the gammon steak had a funny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tangoman69
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

We do take all complaints very seriously, i can confirm it was our manager who dealt with your complaint and thought you had left happy. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us at this time and do hope you return in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Where do I start.......... We arrived and had to stand in a queue while people were served drinks, shown to tables, ordered food or paid bills. There was no separate accommodation check in. I was told I had to pay on arrival but said I would prefer to see the room first. The bathroom had cobwebs on the wall, was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
leanne m, Manager at Kings Head Hotel, responded to this review

Wendy we are taken aback to say the least with your review. It has always been practice that we check our guests in at the restaurant end of the long bar, as it is the quieter area, unfortunately with only 6 rooms we don't have room or staffing for a separate reception area. We serve all of our customers as...

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanchester
8.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
12.6 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,957 reviews
10.2 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
The Brown Horse Hotel
The Brown Horse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tow Law
69 reviews
11.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.2 km away
The Old Post Office Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Kings Head Hotel

Address: Station Road, Lanchester DH7 0EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Lanchester
Price Range: $85 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kings Head Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go in winter”
 of 5 bubbles marco_polo066, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A few stairs to climb but they are not steep”
 of 5 bubbles aligy2014, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here!!!”
 of 5 bubbles wendyw885, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with twin beds quite small.”
 of 5 bubbles V2524QPpeterw, 4 Feb 2016 | Read review
“did not stay at the hotel only had a meal”
 of 5 bubbles katiehN8798WC, 7 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5