Riverview Trout Lodge

Riverview Trout Lodge

423 U.S. Highway 63 South, Mammoth Spring, AR 72554
Riverview Motel
Traveller (32)
wonderful room
Room & Suite (24)
Fly fisherman in the Spring River
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#1 of 1 motel in Mammoth Spring
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Riverview Motel is a Mammoth Spring, Arkansas landmark on U.S. Hwy 63. The motel facility features about 50 rooms, with 24 second level balcony rooms that overlook the beautiful Spring River and countryside. Since September 2018, NEW ownership/management has made significant and ongoing upgrades. This budget-friendly motel is ready to provide travelling guests a warm welcome! Choose a room with full beds, queens, or king bedroom accommodations. Cable TV, coffee maker in each room, microwave and refrigerator in some rooms, and ice and soda vending machines outside. The motel has dedicated smoking rooms and pet-friendly rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
54Reviews2Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 14
  • 12
  • 4
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Vacation20340 wrote a review Jun 2004
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed in this hotel many times of the past 15 years and floated the Spring River. It is a great little country motel and is in a great location to several of the float and fishing outfitters in the area. It does not have a restraunt in or nearby but there is a truck stop (that serves an excellant breakfast) about a mile north on highway 63.
It has a wooden deck in the rear that is open to people staying in the motel, which overlooks the Spring Rover. Early morning views of the river and the trout fishermen is a very peaceful view.
When we visited last August (2003) a Subway sandwich place had been built directly across the road from the motel which added to the motel stay. The motel also has a nice, clean swimming pool.
While this motel is definately not the Hilton, the rooms are clean and kept up, even though it is an older motel. It felt good to be able to relax and enjoy ourselves with our group of friends on the deck of the motel after a long day of floating.
The room rates were around $50.00 a night, which was very reasonable if you compare it to hotel and motel rooms in nearby Hardy, AR. The second floor has very large rooms that over look the river on the back side.
They even have a couple of rooms that have three full size beds in each room (which works great if you have a few kids with you).
There is plenty of parking so if you are pulling a boat or camper, you won't have problems finding a parking spot.
We have stayed here many times and have never had any problems with the management or with our rooms. Once, we were given a room that the airconditioner was pretty loud so they moved up immediately with no questions asked. We have never had anything messed with or stolen from our vehicle or our rooms while we stayed there. Everyone is usually VERY nice, although sometimes when there are large parties or groups staying there it may get a little loud.
To my knowledge, they do not allow pets but I say that because I have never seen any pets while I was there. While they don't have a lots of convience things in the rooms, they do have airconditioners, clean towels and coffee makers. They also have an ice machine on the lower floor by the office.
It is a good value for the price and in a great location. Food, gas and liquor is nearby.
The only drawback I can recall about this motel is that Highway 63 is a VERY busy highway with lots of tractor trailer traffic, which sometimes is loud if you have a room in the front of the motel. If you are lucky enough to get a second floor room or a room at the back of the hotel, I think you will enjoy it more.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
luvnmyfam wrote a review May 2012
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband, children, and I had been in the car ALL morning afternoon and night....I love the springs, and hated te idea of driving through at night, and the kiddos not seeing any of it, so I search the hotels....the cheapest around...and...since I called...only 30 minutes prior to arrival...the paper work and all was ready when we got here...that's not even the best part!!!! The bed...LIKE SLEEPING ON A CLOUD!!!! Loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John P wrote a review Sept 2014
Madison, Florida
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If you like the hills and trains, you will enjoy this place. I was on a trip through the area as I`ve been several times before, this is the first time I`ve stayed here. It`s a motel that was built back in the late fifties, but the rooms are completely remodeled and they are very comfortable. The room I was in had a ceiling fan and very good air conditioning, and the upper rooms all have balconies on the rear. The view you will see is of the Spring river with trains tracks between the river and the motel . The staff is very friendly and helpful. Just up the road within site is the beautiful Mammoth Spring State Park, were I took walks in the morning when the weather was cool, also is the River Bend restaurant and the town of Mammoth Spring, a must see if you are staying in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay in a room on the second floor.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
patwood380 wrote a review Sept 2020
North Port, Florida
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We pulled in and from the outside the place doesn't look too bad. But upon entering the room you find out differently. To charge $70.00 for this room is disgraceful. Room is small, very outdated and in sad need of repairs. Curtains are old and full of holes. Air conditioner barely works. Bed is comfortable enough but there is only a sheet, no blanket other than the thin bedspread. And there is a sign taped to the room that says you will be charged 50 dollars if it is missing or damaged! First time I have ever seen anything like that in a motel room! Internet signal is so bad can barely do anything. There is a small fridge in the room but it isn't very cool. And there are trains going by every 20 to 30 minutes all night long! Bathroom door casings look like they are full of termites. See pictures I am attaching. Sure isn't worth the money 💰 they're charging! Glad we were only here for one night.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JR B wrote a review Aug 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We reserved a room a few days ago just for one night, we were traveling from one state to another and just needed a place to sleep. When we went into our room, the bed have a gray coverlet on it with all kinds of greasy stains on it. When I looked in the bathroom the soap dish was still dirty. So I walked out. When I went to the office they implied we could not get our $87.00 back. I looked at another room that was not as bad, it only had one small stain but smelled bad. We decided it was not worth staying there.
Then when we got home they refunded our money but charged us $30.00 and said we stole two towels. I wouldn't have their towels.
Lesson learned, we will never reserve a hotel room without seeing it or we will only reserve rooms that we KNOW would be clean.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Coleman, General Manager at Riverview Trout Lodge
Responded 21 Aug 2020
You booked your room thu Booking.com. In order to cancel, you must do so thu Booking.com as was explained to you. Once you left, I checked into the room and with my very sensitive nose, did not smell anything. We put 2 towels in every room. When you left, the towels were missing. There is a sign up in the bathroom that states there will be a $30 charge for any missing or stained towels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edthefishmeister wrote a review Feb 2020
Irwin, Idaho
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Robin at the front desk was my first impression.
By her congenial voice and knowledge of the area I was looking forward to my stay.
Check in was seamless and very efficient.
So off to dinner I went, confident in my choice.
Returning a few hours later I entered the room for the first time.
To my shock I found the smoke detector disabled on the tv, battery removed.
Next I went to adjust the room temperature on the heater. The jumbled set of wires was my second clue as to how my stay would go.
Against my better judgement I chose to stay.
After all I had two dogs with me that could keep me warm and alert me to any other issues the night might bring.
Judge for yourself by the photos with this review if you would consider staying at the Riverview Trout Lodge.
Rest assured I’ll never return as there are safer and better with in a short distance in Thayer.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holly M wrote a review Nov 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Convenient location (not that there is much choice in this area), staff was super friendly and accommodating, great view of the river from the back rooms and the room was clean. Unfortunately, the door on our room had been kicked in at some point and would not latch or lock. The only lock on the door was on the knob. We realized this too late and the office was closed, although we did receive a refund for the next night and they did have someone working on it the next day. Again, the staff was super friendly and apologetic. The rooms are badly insulated so trains and cars are a constant annoyance. There was only a light comforter and sheet, no blanket. Everything worked great but the decor is terribly dated. Some thrift store furniture could upgrade this. It's not a bad place in a pinch or if you're a hunter, it's better than a tent, but for the price they should at least provide a continental. We most likely won't be back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: They have a pool, but closed while we were there in November.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Picture You By ... P wrote a review Jun 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They advertise they have ice, they won’t give it and claim bc of Covid. Arrived and hour and a half after check in time and the room wasn’t ready, hardly anyone staying here and can’t get a room. Don’t waste $, sleep in car if have to.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Coleman, General Manager at Riverview Trout Lodge
Responded 21 Aug 2020
Our check in time is 3pm. Once in awhile our housekeepers runs a little late because of being sold out the night before. Because of the type ice machine we use, we have stopped giving out ice because of covid. This is explained to everyone who calls to make a reservation and is told to people who just walks in. Sorry for your inconvenience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth H wrote a review May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We made the mistake of staying at the Riverview Motel last night. Around 11pm the mice came out. One was in my bed around 2am. If my toddler wasn’t with us we would have left immediately. We used to come here every summer 15 years ago and never had any problems but it has gone down hill so bad! Mouse droppings were in the bed. I slept less than 2 hours. I’ve never been so ready to go home in my life
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Coleman, General Manager at Riverview Trout Lodge
Responded 11 May 2021
I'm so sorry that this happened. Unfortunately, there is overgrowth behind us that is not part of our property and sometimes the field mice does get into the rooms. Had you let us know, we could have given you a different room. However, you chose not to tell us and instead leave this review. Altho your mother, who wasn't even with you, called 2 days later to alert us. The motel has changed ownership and actually we are improving it over what it was 15 years ago.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CrysOwens22 wrote a review Oct 2006
Virginia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My fiance is from this little town so we stayed there a week to see his family after the holiday rush. We booked two nights in the hotel and although the attendant (I believe she is the owner or manager) was less than friendly, I chalked it up to a bad day. We met my fiance's parents for an early breakfast on Sunday morning, the day of our checkout. We finished up at about 9am and came back to the room to pack up and leave before the 11am checkout time. The maid had already been through and although we hadnt checked out yet (we still had 2 hours) and there was luggage still in the room, she threw our toothbrushes, toothpaste, and clothes (mainly my underwear, I'm afraid to say) IN THE TRASHCAN. I was upset and a little confused as to why you would throw guest belongings away when they clearly had not checked out yet. When I explained what had happened to the manager she acted as if I deserved to have my things thrown away and I was an outsider in her town. I didnt even get so much as an apology from this woman. Unfortunately, I would rather sleep in my car than stay here again. Be careful if you are not a local in this town!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2006
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
witchywonan asked a question May 2015
Pocahontas, Arkansas
Is it pet friendly
Answer from witchywonan
Pocahontas, Arkansas
Is your inn pet friendly
Holly M wrote a tip Nov 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"They have a pool, but closed while we were there in November."
Read full review
Peter B wrote a tip Jun 2022
Craftsbury Common, Vermont84 contributions26 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Traffic noise in front, train noise in back"
Read full review
Riverratrash wrote a tip Feb 2019
6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose upstairs!"
Read full review
Tamra L wrote a tip Dec 2018
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States14 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great views, very reasonable rate, easy access"
Read full review
Anna C wrote a tip Jul 2018
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose upstairs rooms for a better experience! It is worth the extra $4.00!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mammoth Spring area.
PRICE RANGE
S$129 - S$227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
riverview motel mammoth spring
LOCATION
United StatesArkansasMammoth Spring
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIVERVIEW TROUT LODGE: See 54 Reviews, Price Comparison and 41 Photos (Mammoth Spring, AR)

Frequently Asked Questions about Riverview Trout Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Riverview Trout Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Mammoth Spring State Park (6.8 km), Grand Gulf State Park (4.0 km), and Spring River (31.6 km).
Is parking available at Riverview Trout Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Riverview Trout Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Penny Loafers Cafe, Fred's Fish House, and Woods' Riverbend Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Riverview Trout Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Riverview Trout Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Mammoth Spring.
Are pets allowed at Riverview Trout Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire