We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Occidental Punta Cana

Booking.comUS$122*
View Deal
15/05/2017 16/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$208*
US$122*
Great Deal
US$156*
US$125*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Occidental Punta Cana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

825 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Occidental Punta Cana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 321: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited in the middle of April, had a great time the atmosphere of the hotel was great party when you wanted and can relax when you want. The animation team were great always smiling keeping you entertained with pool/ beach and night time activities. Luis scoobydoo and roger looked after us well. As well Wilton at the bar kept us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arjun R
gpcsm, Community Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Arjun R, We thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us and the TripAdvisor community.We are thrilled to know that we satisfied you expectations. We always strive to offer each and every one of our guests an excellent holiday experience, which is why we are constantly refreshing and renewing...

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had similar experience to the SHAME ON BARCELO reviewer but most of the time found the food a hit or miss and that was the same for the restaurants. We arrived on April 7th and checked out on the 21st. Same story, we booked because their website said ALL rooms had been renovated..........NOT TRUE, I think that alone tells...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jim3183
gpcsm, Community Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Jim3183, Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us and the TripAdvisor Community. First and foremost, we would like to extend our sincerest apologies for any and all difficulties you may have encountered during your stay with us. Our goal is to provide our guests excellent...

Plaster Rock, NB
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed April 5-12th/17. Booked through AirTransat. Upon arrival we were told at check-in that no renovated rooms were available. How is this possible when the Barcelo Hotel Group advertise this as "COMPLETELY RENOVATED"! (See their website). We refused for over an hour until we gave in and went to view a room in building 11. We were given the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tobiquer4ever
gpcsm, Community Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Tobiquer4ever, We sincerely appreciate the time taken to provide us with feedback. Needless to say, it is disappointing to hear that we were not able to satisfy your expectations and that you left with such a negative perception of our property. Alas, we are consistently reviewing and renewing our installations and services in order to continue improving the quality...

Moser River, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went with 4 other people, our rooms had no power and no water, bathrooms were not cleaned, some mold in bathroom, toilet not flushed from last occupants. Other peoples clothes in my bed, roof leaked, view was of the septic tank and smell as well. Employees did not want to help you the vendors on the beach were nicer...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rhonda L
gpcsm, Community Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Rhonda L, I would like to thank you for taking a moment to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. Although we always strive to give each and every one of our guests an excellent experience, we do understand that it is not always possible to fulfill their expectations. I would like to...

Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was great expect the room. My wife and I were put into a room that was very old and dirty, with broken tiles in the bathroom and fixtures that were very very old. Tried to get moved and had nothing but a run around with the front desk. It took me 4 days to finally get moved. Once I...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank wayneaa436
gpcsm, Community Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Wayneaa436, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. Needless to say, it is disappointing to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. There is nothing more important to us than our guests satisfaction. We are consistently working towards ensuring our guests have an excellent holiday experience and are offered...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am rating this average just because I have mix feelings about the stay! The area is nice! Th beach is beautiful! They activities were pretty cool!!! When we booked our room it was advertised that this was a newly renovated resort however when we checked in and got our room; the room was so old and beat down! We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Karina F
gpcsm, Community Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Karina F, Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. Needless to say, it is disappointing to hear that we failed in regard to offering you a pleasant holiday experience. We´d like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for all of the difficulties you faced. It is unfortunate to know...

Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

I highly recommend looking elsewhere in Punta Cana. With the exception of Jose, who seemed to run much of the dining and the lovely woman who cleaned our room, the service here was horrible. Our Representative from the First Club rented us a modem for "better, cheaper" internet as a "perk". Not only did it not work, but he left...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Liv4theBeach2017
gpcsm, Community Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Liv4theBeach2017, We would first like to thank you for choosing the Occidental Punta Cana as your holiday destination. We are sincerely sorry that you have left with a negative perception of our hotel. Our goal is to always provide each and every one of our guests an excellent holiday experience or ameliorate any issues they may be experiencing during...

Glocester, Rhode Island
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have traveled to multiple resorts sometimes up to 5 times a year. This place is by far the worse. I have never wrote a bad review on any place I have stayed. But where do I even begin with this resort? I did not arrival at the Occidental Hotel until 3 days after planned due to weather conditions. I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank kristinat4490
gpcsm, Community Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Kristinat4490, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience in Occidental Punta Cana. Needless to say, it is disappointing to hear that we were not able to satisfy your expectations. Alas, we are consistently reviewing and renewing our installations and services in order to continue improving the quality of our holiday offerings. Our goal is to...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms need makeover, chipped broken furniture, noisy ac fan rusted bath tub, no water pressure in bathrooms at night and no water at all in bathrooms between midnight and morning Staff aware and say they have had issues for sometime and unable to fix it

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank realtor5
gpcsm, Community Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Realtor5!, Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination. Needless to say, we are saddened to read that our holiday offering didn't meet your expectations. Please know that we will take your comments into account in virtue of taking the necessary measures to satisfy all of our guests. Once again, we thank you for choosing the Occidental Punta...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We didn,t get the upgrade we paid for, we were put in a room with no water, we asked for 2 beds, got one. Front desk and guest services no help at all, say and do nothing about any of our issues, you,ve been warned.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cbm516
gpcsm, Community Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review

Dear Cbm516, We appreciate the time taken to send us your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Occidental Punta Cana. This moment warrants an apology on our behalf for any inconveniences you might’ve experienced during your stay with us. We wish nothing more than to satisfy each guest’s expectations. However, we realize this is not always the case and...

917 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (722)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (206)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
0:50
Videos (7)
Viewed
Other (291)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Amenities (42)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Grand Concierge Deluxe Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (40)
Viewed
Pools (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
15/05/2017 16/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bavaro
5.7 km away
Occidental Caribe
Occidental Caribe
#63 of 110 in Punta Cana
8,440 reviews
3.7 km away
Melia Caribe Tropical
9.3 km away
Be Live Collection Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ocean Blue & Sand
#13 of 25 in Bavaro
12,732 reviews
4.8 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
5.5 km away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The experience of staying at the Occidental Punta Cana Resort***** means waking up every day in front of a marvelous coral beach and the beautiful sea of Bavaro Beach. Guests will also enjoy some of the best culinary selections, and leisure and sports activities in the Dominican Republic. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Occidental Punta Cana

Address: Avenida Espana s/n | Playa El Cortecito, Bavaro, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana > Bavaro
Price Range: $193 - $480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 744
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Occidental Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Punta Cana
Flamenco Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Occidental Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental Grand Flamenco
Occidental Flamenco Punta Cana
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bavaro
#17 Spa Hotel in Bavaro
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Bavaro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Occidental Punta Cana staff and other travellers.
675 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (675)

Questions? Get answers from Occidental Punta Cana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms appear to have ocean view. Ours was recently renovated.”
dss1002017, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid blocks 10-11-12 in 2017”
2014Diane, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All have different great views.”
joek637, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Your expectations fro hot water pressure in the shower should adjust for the fact that you are in the DR.”
georgerZ4544LU, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Definitely upgrade to Royal Level for a more private/luxurious vacation!”
michsterch, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$122* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$156
Barcelo.comUS$125
Expedia.comUS$208
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates