We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Palafito Waiwen

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Palafito Waiwen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 91: English reviews
Start your review of Palafito Waiwen
 Click to rate
Nottingham
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Our stylish room was spectacular, perched over the water at the back of the hostel with a private balcony overlooking the estuary. Great atmosphere with shared kitchen, and comfortable friendly surroundings. Would have been very happy to stay longer than the 3 nights we'd booked in advance.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JerryNottingham
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had to book rooms in two different palafito's because they were so busy. Both properties (this one and the Palafito Del Mar) were over priced for what you get. We were travelling with family. The room in Waiwen was small however it did have a nice view. Our main complaint was the price. They quoted what we felt was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A really good experience, amazing and beautiful place, the room was clean and the people who works here help me in everything. The view was incredible and you can live the experience of staying in a palafito (house on the sea)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rock M
fotolas79, Propietario at Palafito Waiwen, responded to this review

Thanks you for your comment. all the best. Team Waiwen!!

Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

You have to search a long time until you find a hostel like this. There is not one thing you can complain, for sure you will find cheaper places in Castro but it's worth every peso. I stayed 2 times in this great place, not because there is so much too see around, just because of the hostel and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChriguR
fotolas79, Propietario at Palafito Waiwen, responded to this review

Hi Christian, Thanks you so much for your great comment!!, shame we didnt get to say bay, it was very nice to meet you. We will love to visit you some day Switzerland. All the best my friend, Nico.

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

I'm going to venture and say this will probably be the best hostel I'll have stayed at in Chile and I still have 4 weeks left in my travels. It's cozy, rustic, yet modern and right along the famed Gamboa river where the quintessential Chiloe palafito photos are taken. I stayed in a 4 bedroom dorm with ensuite bathroom. Beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank I<3Travel
fotolas79, Propietario at Palafito Waiwen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great comment!!! It was a pleasure to have you here with us & save & sound after the quake!!! all the best.. Nicolas.

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

I had the best stay here! Each dorm has only 4 people and a private bathroom and are well sized. Comfortable beds and warm inside. The facilities are clean and cosy and the staff are great. I was happily surprised by how great breakfast was- home cooked bread, eggs, fruit, cereal. It's a house on stilts so the view is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine D
fotolas79, Propietario at Palafito Waiwen, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias Jasmin por tu comentario. saludos!!

Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Yo acabo de pasar 3 noches en el hostal palafito waiwen y estoy muy contenta. Se ubica al lado de la desembocadura del río entonces hay vistas espectaculares y pájaros todo el día. Las habitaciones son buenas-- limpias, normales. Hay una cocina con todos los aparatos que querrás y fue fácil cocinar la cena cada noche. Puedes dejar tu comida...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annika G
Lugano, Switzerland
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Cozy hostel with warm atmosphere, great coomon areas and good dorms ensuite (super bathroom), even if sometimes a bit small. Really omfortable beds. Breakfast is top with homemade bread, fresh fruit, yogurt and eggs à la minute.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pol_foa
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful hostel with an exceptional view every detail makes you want to stay there longer. Excellent staff, Nicolas is an exceptional host, good breakfast and common areas, definitely I'll be back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andre B
Madrid, Spain
Reviewed 1 September 2016

This is an amazing place to visit in southern Chile for those who love a different experience in the "middle of nowhere", Palafitos are the construction typical of this little town built over the ocean water. Palafito Waiwen is a cozy little hotel managed by its owners, Pablo and Nicolas. They are always around making sure guests are well taken...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oscar M

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castro hotels
0.8 km away
Enjoy Chiloe Hotel de la Isla
6.3 km away
Hotel Parque Quilquico
3.5 km away
Centro de Ocio Hotel
Centro de Ocio Hotel
#2 of 8 in Castro
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hostal Torre de Babel
Hostal Torre de Babel
#5 of 27 in Castro
86 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa Chilhue Hostal Residencial
1.2 km away
Hostal Altos de Gamboa
Hostal Altos de Gamboa
#16 of 59 in Castro
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Palafito Waiwen", located at the heart of Gamboa neighborhood in the city of Castro, Island of Chiloe. Here you can enjoy a unique experience of staying in one of the traditional houses on stilts above the calm waters of the bay of Castro near the Gamboa estuary with its particular Chilean southern warmth and surrounded by the exceptional beauty of its landscapes and people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palafito Waiwen

Address: Ernesto Riquelme 1236 | Barrio Palafitos de Gamboa, Castro, Isla Chiloe 5700000, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Isla Chiloe > Castro
Price Range: $54 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palafito Waiwen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Palafito Waiwen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palafito Hotel Castro
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Palafito Waiwen staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Palafito Waiwen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are suitable.”
 of 5 bubbles oscarm951, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pick the main room on the water. A bit higher cost, but totally worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles AOB_MountainView, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The Suite Gamboa is absolutely stunning.”
 of 5 bubbles EllieFitzbairn, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Get the second floor rooms. You can listen everything from the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 954gabrielav, 24 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We took the large room with double bed and sleeping couch at the front of the hotel overlooking the bay which provides an excellent view”
 of 5 bubbles zitavskeho, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5