We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

This was my first trip back to Wilpattu where I used to visit as a child and I wanted my family to experience a true safari. Mahoora did not disappoint us, they were very professional and had a very slick operation where every request was catered for. The accommodation was private and an introduction to true "glamping" from comfortable beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catriona_warner
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu, responded to this review

We are glad to see the details of your stay and that your glamping experience has been wonderful and meaningful, bringing back memories of your childhood. Thank you for the complimentary comments which are invaluable. We hope that you will be back to savour more in your future travels.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mahoora Tented Safari Camp. The people were very friendly and accommodating and the food was excellent, especially the evening BBQ. Our tent was very comfortable and had plenty of room which was needed considering we were 3 adults. The only disappointing element was the safari itself. We went on an evening and early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karmentarakeogh
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write and sharing your experience. We are glad that you had a great stay and more so for recommending us to other like minded travelers. We hope that you would be back to enjoy more in your future travels.

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 27 September 2016

we, 2 adults and 5 year old girl, stayed two nights in this tented camp. We were a little bit disappointed about the safari where we did not see the hoped for leopard, elephant or bear (this is not Africa) we enjoyed however the landscape, with nice lakes filled with lotus flowers. The stay in the camp was nice. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erik040264
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu, responded to this review

Thank you for the detailed review. Our staff at the campsite are really happy to see the details . We are glad you and your daughter had a great stay and hope you will be back to enjoy more!

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We had a lovely time at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp. Dhanula was a tremendous guide and naturalist. He took care to customize our activities and offer many options for experiencing the park and the local community during our stay . His knowledge of the animals was impressive and he made sure to answer our many questions about the park, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bm330
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu, responded to this review

We are glad to see the details of your review and to know that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking time to write and share your experience which is truly invaluable to us.

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed for two nights in two tents as a family with 16 and 20 year old. It was our first stop on a 20 day tour of Sri Lanka and a wonderful introduction to the wildlife and natural habitats of this glorious island. Wilpattu National Park is very beautiful and offered lakes, plains, and tropical forest. We saw wild...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janeandmo
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu, responded to this review

We are delighted to see the details of your stay with us. reading it we understand that the game drive and your stay in the wilderness has been extraordinary. Thank you for taking time to pen down the details. We hope you would be back to enjoy more !

Amersham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We stayed at Mahoora's Camp at Wilpattu in July 2016. We were at the camp for less than 2 days and were treated to at least 20 hours of safari in the national park in that time. I believe Wilpattu is one of the less visited parks in Sri Lanka, and it showed as we spent plenty of time with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian H
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu, responded to this review

We are indeed delighted to see your review and to know you had a marvelous experience with us. Our staff are very happy to see that their efforts to make your stay unique and memorable have been successful and that you are appreciative. Thank you very much for taking time to share. We look forward to hosting you at Mahoora...

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Mahoora was a well set up and well run permanent campsite with great staff. In particular their naturalist and driver that we went off with were incredible. The naturalist spoke beautiful English and was a font of information about the animals, plants, history and culture. We tracked one leopard back and forth until we were right at his spot! The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margotsmortgage
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu, responded to this review

thank you very much for sharing your experience and taking time to write. We are delighted to see that your stay was great , that you enjoyed the services of our naturalist, the driver and the game drive tremendously. We are equally appreciative of your comments on the service of staff and the Camp Manager and the comment on the...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Ideal place who wants to explore Wild Life (or Wilpaththu National Park). Don’t expect luxury, it is basic tent with minimal requirements (They may have some luxury tents as well). Attach bath and Fans available. Tasty food. Most of the days they have a BBQ dinner night and Bonfire. Friendly staff and the manager. You get a warm welcome and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sanediri
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide the details of your stay with us particularly the details of the mobile tented accommodation and the facilities as it helps other like minded travelers! We are truly glad that you had a good stay with us. Our staff and the Camp Manager on site are grateful for your appreciation of their service...

Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 May 2016

In april 2016 we did a safari in Wilpattu. For me it was already the fourth safari with Mahoora. The first one was in Yala in 2008 and the experience was incredible. Year after year Mahoora improved their already outstanding quality of services: - The campsites are really nice and quiet, close to the entrance of the national parks (I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mareijerse
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review ! more so we appreciate from a customer who has experienced our services over a long period of time. We , including our staff at the Campsite are glad to have had the opportunity fo servicing you again and to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to having...

Reviewed 8 May 2016

What a wonderful stay we had at the Mahoora camp in Wilpattu. We were warmly welcomed by the camp manager, who very quickly ensured they had our dietary requirements as vegetarians well recorded. We were so fortunate to have Dhanula Jayasinghe as our naturalist and Dinendra as our driver. Both were superb spotters, simply amazing! They were our lucky charm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BDN2414
Anuruddha B, Owner at Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to share a very detailed review... We are grateful as this helps other travelers a sharing of first hand experience of the Mahoora experience. We are glad taht you had a wonderful stay. Both Danula and Dinendra are appreciative of your recognition of their services.. Once again, we hope to see you back...

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (83)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (68)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilpattu National Park
26.5 km away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#4 of 12 in Anuradhapura
345 reviews
0.9 km away
Big Game Camp - Wilpattu
Big Game Camp - Wilpattu
#1 of 57 in Anuradhapura
123 reviews
5.6 km away
Wilpattu Tree House
Wilpattu Tree House
#2 of 7 in Wilpattu National Park
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Wilpattu Safari Camp
Wilpattu Safari Camp
#3 of 9 in Wilpattu National Park
28 reviews
2.1 km away
Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka
Leopard Trails Camp Sri Lanka
#1 of 9 in Wilpattu National Park
85 reviews
0.0 km away
Wilpattu House
Wilpattu House
#1 of 7 in Wilpattu National Park
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Wilpattu provides tented accommodations at the border of Wilpattu National Park, the largest national park in Sri Lanka and famous for its leopards. Fitted with carpeted flooring, all tents come with an outdoor living area and a private bathroom with hot-water showers. A fruit platter, umbrellas and mosquito nets are included. Mahoora Tented Safari Camp - Wilpattu is 205 km from Colombo City. It is 170 km from Bandaranaike International Airport. Wilpattu National Park spans over 425 square miles from western Sri Lanka towards the ancient ruins of Anuradhapura. Barbecued dishes are served by the nightly camp, providing an intimate jungle dining experience. Elite & Premium package Guests can also enjoy free drinks at the Jungle Bar. The all-inclusive safari includes an experienced naturalist, maintained jeeps and all relevant permits for safari drives. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu

Address: Pahala Keditokkuwa, Wilpattu National Park 41000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Wilpattu National Park
Price Range: $799 - $1,523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mahoora Tented Safari Camp Wilpattu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“manage your expectations about wildlife here, this is not Africa”
 of 5 bubbles erik040264, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Just go with the flow - and take your torch everywhere!”
  • Outside the tent
 of 5 bubbles janeandmo, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Watch for frogs in the toilet!!”
 of 5 bubbles NaturesMoments, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The tents are all adequately separated and private. Take the all-day game drive if possible. The game viewing and chance for leopards are actually very good in the middle of the day and the forest canopy keeps it from being too warm in the jeep.”
 of 5 bubbles JPStarr, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
“We preferred the all service tents.”
 of 5 bubbles Kennsington52, 5 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay