We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gorilla Resort Camp

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gorilla Resort Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Start your review of Gorilla Resort Camp
 Click to rate
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 29 November 2015

The two nights in this "resort" ruined our stay in Uganda: Mold everywhere Terrible smell of mold Bathroom in catastrophic condition Disruptions of water supply Stomach problem after eating morning omelette No Wi-Fi The only pro was the location and the rain forest view

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomasZvara
James K, Guest Relations Manager at Gorilla Resort Camp, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know. Unfortunately, the camp is closed for renovations until the end of December 2015 and only construction workers are on site. You should check with your booking agent for a refund as we do not have a record of your stay. So sad that you had to go through these experiences. If you...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 25 September 2015

This lodge has many pros and cons. I would say the main pro was the location. It is technically not within Bwinidi Park we realized but actually has better views of the hills/ forest due to its location. Our tent had completely unobstructed views of the forest. Cons, the lighting kept going off. Our last night they fixed the bulb....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissJToro
James K, Guest Relations Manager at Gorilla Resort Camp, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review, Phased renovations are ongoing and changes are scheduled to be completed sometime at the beginning of December. We do believe that will better our guests overall experience while trekking the Mountain gorillas. Best Regards, Team.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went gorilla trekking at the beginning of July and stayed here in 'Tent 1' for a couple of days. Out of all the permanent tented camps we stayed in over our 4 week trip (and there were a few) this was by far the best. The staff were very attentive, great service, the room was very large, the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nume0875
Long Beach, California
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights while we went gorilla trekking. The staff treated us very well, and I felt that they cared. The room is a very large and nice tent and very basic. The bathrooms are minimal and the water is not very warm, I think that is because it is heated with a wood burning water heater....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ericg68
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We were excited to arrive here as we were so looking foward to Gorilla Trekking. However, although the lodge/restaurant area and tents were quite nice, no effort was made to make us feel welcome, in fact we felt more of a burden. No hot water the first night when we could have done with it, there was even a bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda P
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Loved this resort, really well situated overlooking part of the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest; luxury tents with large comfy beds and a freestanding bath for extra luxury. This was the only place in Uganda that we stayed that had a bath and almost the first thing I did was run a hot bath. The roads to Bwindi are almost exclusively dirt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carys4afrika
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent 4 nights here on a Safari package. The resort is in a very good position for the gorilla trekking from Buhoma, but is a very rough minimum 2 hour drive to other trekking points. You can actually walk up to then Buhoma start point. The staff here were very friendly and tried hard to make our stay good....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelvincraig
Calabasas
Reviewed 23 June 2013

There is NO reason to stay here. The bathrooms are not fully screened. The staff will lie to you and tell you that there is no malaria when the clinic (a few mud shacks down) is burdened with malaria and HIV. Be prepared for the destructive encroachment of the local community into the gorilla habitat. It is a dysfunctional, unprotected...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cindy H
Swindon
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Located inside the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest this hotel, part of the Sanctuary Group, is an excellent place to stay. As one family of Gorilla's lives nearby we were fortunate enough to have a visit from the family right inside the camp one morning during breakfast. It was truely amazing. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are very spacious with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Val A
Maldegem, Belgium
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at the Gorilla resort, it was our best location in Uganda, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The food was also delicious. About the location I just can say that it is great and the view is breathtaking!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiersi

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.5 km away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
100 reviews
18.7 km away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
77 reviews
0.6 km away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Trackers Safari Lodge
Trackers Safari Lodge
#17 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
10 reviews
7.6 km away
Ecomarvels Gorilla Resort Bwindi
Ecomarvels Gorilla Resort Bwindi
#22 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
2 reviews
0.0 km away
Bwindi Forest Farm Camp Site
Bwindi Forest Farm Camp Site
#21 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This Intimate, exclusive safari camp, with a breath-taking view of the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest is located at Buhoma - Bwindi Impenetrable Gorilla National Park on a Mountain side. The camp has been constructed and built to the highest standards whilst retaining sympathy with the local surroundings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gorilla Resort Camp

Address: Buhoma | Kanungu District, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Gorilla Resort Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gorilla Resort Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the tents closest to the forest for the best view. Will be more steps to walk up and down but worth the view.”
 of 5 bubbles MissJToro, 24 Sep 2015 | Read review
“No comment.”
 of 5 bubbles kelvincraig, 11 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Definitely stay out of room 6 until the wiring has been fixed and check wiring in other rooms carefully.”
 of 5 bubbles RobertH790, 30 Dec 2012 | Read review
3 of 3