We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tigh nan Saor

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Tigh nan Saor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 62: English reviews
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed for just one night but will definitely return, and hopefully next time for longer. Room one is spacious and extremely comfortable - but the main highlight is the view. Waking up to watch the sunrise across the bay is really very special. We found Martin and Louise charming and friendly, and enjoyed chatting to them after our (delicious)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DW67
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Martin and Louise Allen make you very welcome. Room No 1 and 2 have lovely views across the bay. Breakfast has everything, with the full Scottish perfect. Distance to restaurants and pub, roughly 30 seconds, 2 mins, and 10 mns. The Plockton inn and the the Plockton Shores, outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeilJ1943
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Our comfortable room offered a grand view of the sea framed by pine trees, but the highlight of the B&B is the library, where an excellent breakfast is served. An admiring comment led to a good conversation about the collection--the innkeeper's father's--and a wide range of subjects from books to baseball to cartoon art. Our hosts were genial and knowledgeable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maron W
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on the 3rd and 4th night of our honeymoon (our 1st and 2nd night of our Rabbie's tour.) I am always up for some light reading of reviews prior to staying at a venue. Always interesting to see others experiences and opinion, but I've never taken any to heart as I prefer to establish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Awesome view from our room. Delicious breakfast, especially the mushrooms. Not sure why the owners operate a B and B. Not a warm welcome and a bit stiff with customers the next morning. I felt like an intruder in their home. Why run a B and B? The last morning, the owner discouraged the use of a credit card. He...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMLevin
tigh39, Owner at Tigh nan Saor, responded to this review

I have just seen this, and frankly, I am surprised. He says: The last morning, the owner discouraged the use of a credit card. He wanted cash and was rather insistent about it. We had been told by our Rabbies tour company that we would be able to pay for rooms with credit cards. This is an embellished and hostile...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

My husband and I have just returned from doing the route 500 and stayed overnight in this lovely bed and breakfast as part of our journey north . We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Excellent breakfast too. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynn h
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

This small B & B has a great location on the harbour front at Plockton next door to the Plockton Hotel. Enjoyed our visit , we stayed for 3 nights in room 1 and loved the view from our window. Sitting watching the view was a very relaxing way to unwind after some excellent walking. Well cooked breakfast around a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MandL-Cheltenham
Hayward, California
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Plockton is such a cute harbor village, but we did not feel welcome by the owner, Martin, which was very unfortunate. Creaky floors... felt like we were walking on eggshells so as not to disturb the owners. Rather than feeling the home-like feel and welcome of a B&B, it feels like you are imposing on them, which does not make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melody K
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

This B&B had an excellent location in pretty plocton. The house is well decorated, though a little fussy for my taste, and very comfortable. If you have hayfever, there are a lot of flowers and air fresheners, be prepared! Breakfast was delicious. The customer service could be better, and a friendlier welcome provided.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
Napoli
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We stayed here for two nights as part of our Rabbie's tour. It is a small b&b with I believe only three rooms. We had two rooms-a double and a twin. The twin room is large with a nice bath including a tub. Our double was on the small side as is common in Scotland. But the beds were comfy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NapoliZena

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
7.4 km away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
314 reviews
5.8 km away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
344 reviews
23.3 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
White Heather Hotel
White Heather Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyleakin
450 reviews
22.4 km away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
514 reviews
7.6 km away
Lochalsh Hotel
Lochalsh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tigh nan Saor is a traditional stone house on the waterfront with spectacular views over Plockton Bay and Loch Carron. All our rooms are en-suite, with spacious shower-rooms or bathroom, LCD TVs, wireless internet access and hospitality trays. Our house is tastefully decorated throughout, with books and paintings everywhere, but still retains its character as a family home. Many stay with us as a base for walking nearby or exploring beyond Plockton, and we can provide full information on all these and more. View up-to-date booking availability and book on-line at our web site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tigh nan Saor

Address: 39 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Price Range: $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tigh nan Saor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 1 and 2 have great views”
 of 5 bubbles NeilJ1943, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The front rooms have a lovely view.”
 of 5 bubbles mar0nw, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you want a nice tub ask for the twin bed room-it's also larger if you have big suitcases.”
 of 5 bubbles NapoliZena, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is probably best for couples.”
 of 5 bubbles dundiving, 23 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for one of the rooms with a harbor view.”
 of 5 bubbles peege04, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5