We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley

Save
Share
1820 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703-1516
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Wyndham
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (12)
Bathroom (4)

About

#11 of 20 hotels in Berkeley
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Energize your next trip to the beautiful San Francisco Bay area and book a room at our Berkeley Travelodge hotel. Centrally located in the heart of East Bay, our Berkeley, CA, hotel is only 3 blocks from University of California Berkeley places you within minutes of great restaurants, shopping and top attractions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Golf course
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Full view
95Great for walkers
Grade: 95 out of 100
64Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
7Attractionswithin 0.5 km
355Reviews1Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 96
  • 90
  • 41
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tayatravels8 wrote a review Jul 2021
Berkeley, California1 contribution
This was the worst place I have ever stayed at, and i’ve even stayed in cheap motels that were way better than this. Its a dingy motel with remodeled rooms to look nicer on the inside and insane jacked up prices. Theres fat rats that crawl around in the evening and at night. It is absolutely disgusting I saw one right near my room and it came up to me. Im extremely traumatized that I payed $160 + $150 security deposit for a night to almost get attacked by a huge rat. The people who live in the back of the motel who work the front desk are horrible and extremely racist. And yes. They literally live at the motel. Got scared and called the police because my partner raised their voice because we were sick of the horrible service and treatment and refusal of giving us our security deposit when we did nothing wrong. Even the police thought he (the manager manny) was wasting their time by calling them there for no reason. Lol I wonder what he thought they were going to do. The only people who are nice here are the cleaning ladys. I had way more things happen to make it a horrible stay but in short, DO NOT stay here and save your money and just get an actual hotel room nearby. This place is a racket, scam and joke.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley
Responded 28 Jul 2021
Dear guest, thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are so disappointed to hear that you had such a negative experience during your stay with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies - you did not have a typical experience in our hotel at all. We promise to take appropriate measures regarding the issues highlighted by you. We will make sure to highlight the issues to our management, and we hope to take steps to avoid such instances going forward. We look forward to hosting you soon! Kind regards, Manny A. General Manager
Read more
jtorre724515 wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
I would like to recommend this hotel, based on its wonderful location and polite service, particularly from the cleaning personnel. Hopefully, I can return in the Fall and perhaps stay at the same hotel. I realize hotel prices are high, but it was fair by comparison. It is my expectation that maybe, just maybe, prices can become more accessible so that more people can return to traveling in the near future.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Dear guest, thanks for your positive feedback and generosity with that rating. We are pleased to know that your time with us was great, and we hope we have the pleasure of hosting you soon. Kind regards, Manny A. General Manager
Read more
jcruz444611 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Travelodge at Berkeley is a perfect place to stay if you have any business at the UC or visiting within Berkeley. The only issues I ran into were tripping over garbage left by the homeless, being asked for drugs by homeless, and connectivity issues with the wifi and TV. Otherwise the staff are very friendly and approachable. They will make your stay as comfortable as can be while answering any questions you may have about your stay. You can even ask about the surrounding businesses if you cant decide on dinner!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley
Responded 4 May 2021
Dear guest, thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad that your experience with us was great, and we hope everything was in order and things went smoothly. Also, we are happy that you liked the clean rooms and the staff. While we are happy that you chose to stay with us, we are disappointed with your impression of us. Unfortunately, homelessness is an issue in most cities throughout the U.S, as well as our beautiful city, and we are sorry that this was somewhat disconcerting for you. We hope that it will not deter you from staying with us again, to be honest, you are likely to see evidence of homelessness in all areas of the city. Kind regards, Manny A. General Manager
Read more
Reviewer123456603948 wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
Bed had dirty sheets, roomed smelled like cats peed in it. And someone’s hair was allover the place. I really did expect employee to so rude as well. Hopefully noons has to stay there the night. Keep yourself safe
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Owner at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley
Responded 18 Jan 2021
Dear guest, We are very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay at our hotel. It certainly does not sound as if you had the experience that we strive to provide for our guests, and we sincerely apologize for any failure in delivering on our commitment to provide you with a clean, comfortable, and pleasant place to stay. We do wish that you had notified our staff about this as they would have gladly taken care of the issue and switched your room to ensure a pleasant stay for you. Nevertheless, we have noted your feedback, and we will conduct an investigation within our housekeeping department to correct any lapses in current cleaning standards. At Travelodge Berkeley, we generally receive numerous compliments for our professional, friendly, and helpful staff, and we are disappointed to learn that this was not your experience. We will ensure that our team is aware of your impression and see to it that all of our staff members endeavor to make sure that each guest has the positive experience that we aim to provide. We know we can do better, and it would be an honor to have a chance to redeem ourselves with you and restore your faith in our hotel and hospitality. Kind regards, Manny A. General Manager
Read more
Richard L wrote a review Aug 2020
Santee, United States13 contributions2 helpful votes
Colorful building. My room was clean, comfortable and very Ikea. Didn't hear much traffic during this Corona pandemic except for the guys a few rooms down partying outside one afternoon. The hotel is next to a bike shop if you're on vacation with a bike and need service and across the street is Trader Joe's if you need grocery items. All staff members I had contact with were very nice. Will stay again when in Berkeley.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestTouch Inc, Owner at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Hey Richard, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and rating your experience as positive. We are glad that you found our accommodation affordable and the room clean and comfortable, and it's nice to read that our location suited you. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff. We apologize if some of our guests were disruptive on a particular afternoon. When you stay with us again, if there is ever any such issue, please notify our staff members and they will be happy to request the concerned guests to keep the noise level to a minimum. We trust that everything else was in order, and we hope to welcome you back when you return to Berkeley. Kind regards, Manny A. General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$94 - US$362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelodge berkeley hotel berkeley, berkeley travel lodge, berkeley travelodge, travel lodge berkeley
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaBerkeley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley?
Nearby attractions include Berkeley Repertory Theatre (0.4 km), Freight and Salvage Coffee House (0.4 km), and Aurora Theatre (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley?
Conveniently located restaurants include Eureka!, Imm Thai Street Food, and Berkeley Social Club.
Is Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Berkeley.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chapel of the Chimes Oakland (5.0 km), Camron-Stanford House (7.8 km), and Emeryville Shellmound Memorial (3.6 km).
Is Travelodge by Wyndham Berkeley accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.