We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rose Garden Inn

Show Prices
#11 of 20 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rose Garden Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 337: English reviews
Start your review of Rose Garden Inn
 Click to rate
Santa Monica, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Rose Garden Inn was like a mini estate situated in the middle of Berkeley. The room was not too small and was nicely appointed with a good queen sized bed and a properly amenitied shower. Parking seemed to be abundant but I still had to park at metered parking. The estate itself is well appointed though it is large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGoneLocal
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Ok, kind of funky. Not quite as spic-n-span as I like; but definitely adequate. Nick, helped us check in and gave us dining suggestions. He was very hospitable. The location Is good if you are going to see UC Berkeley (for us close enough to walk).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greta P
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

During a road trip, we ended up in this inn. Some rooms are incredibly strange, and they have very old furniture, that probably belonged to the previous house owner. It was a fun and quirky experience. We enjoyed it. One morning, there was no hot water in the bathroom, but the personnel was very nice and promptly solved the problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giuls74
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for providing us with a review of your stay. We do have an unusual building, and, as you say, quirky furniture, but we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. The age and layout of our building can mean that hot water is slow to reach some rooms, but I am happy to hear that we...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What an awesome place to stay. It's a very old inn which is divided in cabins. Every individual cabin is a room. The whole place is just supercute and romantic. Some rooms have their own fire places (gas fired, on with the flip of a switch). The staff is helpful and friendly, breakfast is decent. When in Berkeley, don't even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edwin H
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hi Edwin, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Your kind words mean so much to us and we are so happy to hear we were able to accommodate all of your needs during your stay. Thank you so much for your glowing recommendation, we hope to see you again in the future! Best wishes, Hotel Management

Chicago
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel was good but very disappointed with the pool area. The pool room was so cold that i may as well been outside swimming. I booked this hotel just for the pool and was bummed out that I couldn't enjoy it..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura M
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hi Laura, We are happy that you liked our hotel so much, and that you enjoyed your stay here. We are very sorry that the pool was not heated sufficiently for you - many of our guests enjoy the refreshment that our pool gives them. We would love for you to stay with us again, please do contact us when...

Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When the toilet does not flush, the television requires a degree in electrical engineering, and the in-room clock radio goes off at 2:00 a.m., there's a problem. Our call for help fell on deaf ears. We reported the toilet and TV to the front desk man who promised to have matters corrected "right away". By late evening, the toilet and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jersey850
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

We are very disappointed to read your review, to see that your room did not meet the standards that we wish to provide for our guests. Our staff should obviously have taken care of the issues right away for you, or provided you with an alternate room, but it clearly seems that we dropped the ball in this case. This...

Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's interesting to read the reviews of the Rose Garden Inn, which are all over the map. I enjoyed my stay here. Some aspects could maybe use a little updating, but I had no problems. I didn't wake up covered in bedbugs or water from the ceiling, and the breakfast, Wi-Fi, and bed were all excellent. The front desk people...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LarryJ917
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Larry for your honest review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us so much, and that we met all of your needs. We obviously love to hear guests say that they would stay with us again, we hope to welcome you back very soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management

BronxMom2
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Front desk called us at midnight (3 am where we flew in from) and woke us up to tell us our credit card was no good. My husband went down to front desk, they ran card again and it was just fine. (Credit card company said there was no problem with card and didn't see any declination on their end)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BronxMom2
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

We apologize sincerely for disturbing your night with, as you say, something that should have been clarified and sorted out much earlier in the day. We are very sorry for this bad experience; it is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. Thank you for choosing to stay with...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This may have been quaint at one time but now it's just shabby. The room is in dire need of refreshing and repairs. The heater was so loud you couldn't sleep. The bathroom needed a good clean. The breakfast was embarrassing in a city that values food and healthy living. The staff were not helpful. The only reason I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SRQtraveler520
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you didn't particularly enjoy your stay with us, despite our great location. We do have an older property, which some people love, and our team maintain and clean it to the highest possible standard. We are sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations, and we appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Thank you...

Forest Lake
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here one night and had a beautiful room with an amazing amount of space. The inn is a collection of restored cottages. The free breakfast was very good and included potatoes, eggs, bacon, sausage, bread, french toast, juice, coffee and fruit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DougHMn
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Rose Garden Inn, responded to this review

Hi Doug, We're really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to provide all of our guests with a clean, comfortable room and a great breakfast, and we're really happy that's what you received. We hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again - we'd love to welcome you back. Warm regards, Hotel Management

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,193 reviews
5.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
0.9 km away
Graduate Berkeley
Graduate Berkeley
#4 of 20 in Berkeley
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
0.9 km away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#6 of 20 in Berkeley
248 reviews
2.4 km away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#9 of 20 in Berkeley
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Rose Garden Inn

Address: 2740 Telegraph Ave, Berkeley, CA 94705-1131
Region: United States > California > Berkeley
Price Range: $189 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Garden Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rose Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Hotel Berkeley
Rose Garden Berkeley
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rose Garden Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
over a year ago
Seattle, Washington
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Rose Garden Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room, 304, was quiet.”
LarryJ917, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you do stay, pay extra for the decent rooms”
MathTraveler2014, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check out your room before taking your bags, lots of steps ,no bellman”
161stevem, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed behind the main facility, away from Telegraphy Avenue, and did not hear any traffic.”
edudellsr, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room was outside the main hotel area. I think that i would choose a house in the main section.”
freetherefugees, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5