We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn Bishop
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 56: English reviews
Viareggio, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

... well, there is nothing more to add to my title. The place is standard.... I mean, low standard. In a cold night, as nights can be cold in this area, we weren't even able to warm ourself up in the room. If you have no other choice you'll survive a night though...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naturalchoice
Roseville, California
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The night before getting to Bishop we stayed in an America’s Best Value Inn in St. George, Utah. It was everything we wanted, dog-friendly, wi-fi connection, clean and with a simple day-starting breakfast. So we booked another America’s Best for our next night in Bishop. Not the same. Apparently the Indian owner/operator had an agreement to use the America’s Best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newsboymac
SanDiego
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Could not get the internet to work.. had iPad and laptop. I dunced around with various Hot Spots and codes, after 3 trips to the front desk, I gave up. I was told all internet in Bishop is bad (satellite). Yeah, well , the hotel I moved to has fine internet. Room was OK, front door was kinda broken, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KJFromSan
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We, family of 4 with 2 teen girls, stayed here 1 night July 2016 while hiking and camping the eastern Sierras. Booked it on our phone after a few searches told us that we would not be finding value in any Bishop hotels. Something weird going on in Bishop- it's so far from cities but still ain't big enough to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AbiAdiMike
La Palma, California
Reviewed 7 July 2016

If you don't demand much, this place is ok. It is off on a quiet street. From here one can walk all around the town. It has a small microwave and fridge. The wifi doesn't work well and the free breakfast consists of coffee, ersatz orange juice, milk, small muffins, bad fruit, sugar donuts, and two types of cereal (Trix...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron R
Prangins, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Lady at reception friendly but it does not make up for the rest. Rooms don't look all that clean, bathroom needs to be redone, air conditioner very loud (we had to turn it off). Breakfast very cheap, we had to pick it up at reception and carry to room. Not much choice, coffee and muffin or cornflakes. Chairs outside our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prangins
Reviewed 18 June 2016

At check in informed owner/clerk that we were perhaps going to leave 1 day early and would need to cancel the last day of our reservation. We booked 5 nights or the highschool rodeo finals. The owner informed us it might take up to 30 days to get our money refunded for the last day..which we agreed to. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol Van Fleet V
Reviewed 13 June 2016

This place is an old motel that's been remodeled.Its a descent,ok stay for a place to shower and sleep.The mattress was not real comfortable and the shower didn't have hot water until I realized the cartridge was prob.the wrong one...cold was hot and hot was cold.It was quiet and walking distance to everything,Just ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tony g
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Made a very last minute booking when Tioga pass was opened earlier than expected. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Upgraded our room for free! Breakfast was basic but enough to get us going. Room was quiet and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muzicluver
Reviewed 5 January 2016

While the folks who helped us with this last minute booking were very friendly and efficient, the room was terrible - especially given we spent over $100 for it in December. We would never have stayed here otherwise, but this was a spur of the moment trip and we didn't reserve a room elsewhere in advance. All points below are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeni r
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for commenting. I'm glad we could accommodate you at the last minute. I'm also pleased that we offered a friendly experience with clean carpeting, a nice mattress and other positive features. I apologize, however, that the shower and heater malfunctioned and that you found other problems with the room. Our goal is complete satisfaction of all guests,...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.8 km away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,386 reviews
0.7 km away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
777 reviews
0.4 km away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Econo Lodge Bishop
Econo Lodge Bishop
#10 of 20 in Bishop
102 reviews
1.3 km away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
423 reviews
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 20 in Bishop
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in beautiful downtown Bishop, California. Bishop is known as the "Mule Capital of the World" and hosts a week-long festival called "Mule Days" that has been held annually since 1969 during the week of Memorial Day, celebrating the contributions of pack mules in the area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Address: 192 Short St, Bishop, CA 93514-3538
Region: United States > California > Bishop
Price Range: $106 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn Bishop staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are about the same.”
 of 5 bubbles RonR987, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the ground floor to save lugging gear upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles muzicluver, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“just don't book at this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles cpostali, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Get a non-smoking room--cleaner”
 of 5 bubbles veliagonick, 18 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Try staying on the ground floor motel part”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelW175, 4 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay