We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea

Expedia.comUS$123*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$123*
US$123*
US$123*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 131: English reviews
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked one night to travel to SD for a family birthday party. Did not realize that a major conference was occurring that weekend. All the normal hotels that we stay at were already booked. This is motel is without a doubt the most mismanaged place I have ever stayed. It was dirty--and not just a few issues but the entire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie739405
Chula Vista
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Extended Stay Carlsbad finds it very difficult to honor prearranged agreements in regards to my mom's card being on file to pay for my room when when I visit her. She lives in an assisted living facility across the street and can't make it across the street due to her blindness and I don't drive. My mom, my self and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rascalcat16
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 2 July 2014

After checking in we found our bed to have dirty sheets! Since it was late at night, front desk lady could not leave desk (only one there), so we had to change the bed sheets ourselves. We should have just left then when we saw the mattress protector had different stains than the sheets! Bathroom sink leaked water underneath that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DanyelleTraveler
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The cleanliness issues in your room that you described are unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. I will be meeting with our housekeeping staff to review our cleanliness standards to ensure that your experience is not repeated. As well, I regret to hear about the...

Anaheim, California
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were there for the Memorial Day weekend to go to Legoland, The place is decent, even though it's right next to the freeway, we didn't hear any traffic at all during the time we were there. This is a budge hotel, so we didn't expect otherwise. The service is very minimal but again, it's a budget hotel so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OctaneGal
Dormont, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My Daughter, Wife, and I stayed at the Extended Stay property in Carlsbad Ca in June 2014 based on its proximity to Legoland. The property is located a short drive from Legoland and is also close to other attractions such as the California Surf Museum, Oceanside Pier, and antique row in downtown Carlsbad. It is an attractive building and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeawChan
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with our location, our grab-and-go breakfast and your fully equipped kitchen. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with another enjoyable stay in the future.

Fiddletown, California
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel butts right up against the Interstate 5, the room was very noisy due to the freeway. The bed, for being a hotel that one would spend longer periods of time in, was not at all comfortable. When I checked in there was not one person in the lobby or at the front desk. At another time I needed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BrownsEnglishToffee
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry that you were disturbed by noise from the freeway and that our staff was unavailable to attend to your needs. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that I am addressing these issues with the entire team and will be working to ensure that we enhance our...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We spent a week at this hotel while we were looking for a home. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The room was fine, the bed was comfortable and the cooking amenities were ample. If we had any needs, they were quickly met by the staff. The early morning coffee and snack items were fine. The hotel is located...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfoxca
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of our property. I am glad that you liked our grab-and-go breakfast and the service our staff provided. As well, it is great to read that our hotel's location was convenient for your needs, close to shopping and restaurants nearby. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should...

Tempe, Arizona, United States
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Sorry, but part of the value is grab and go breakfast. If you say you're open until 9:30am, I better find everything ready to go AT 9:29, 9:27, 9:26, etc. Don't get lazy and tear down at 09:25. That's at least $10 of lost value. And this is systemic. This happened in Phoenix a few times over a 2 month...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Michael - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that our grab-and-go breakfast was put away early throughout your stay. In response, I will be training the staff on how to manage their morning schedule better so that this is not an issue moving forward. We would love to have another...

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Currently laying in bed wide awake... can never sleep in dirty hotel rooms. At first glance the room seemed nice enough... then I went into the restroom and found black hair on the counter. I got over that and put the foot towel down and found another long black hair. I was officially grossed out. Then as we went to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsJessicaL
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. I apologize that our housekeeping services did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to ensure you are provided with a clean, comfortable room while you are our guest. Please be assured that cleanliness is of the utmost concern to us and feedback such as yours is taken...

MA
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed there for one night to visit Legoland next day. Hotel was looking like recently renovated. Very neat and clean. Location was also very wondefful, dennys was just outside the door and lot of grocery stores near by. Not too far from Legoland also. Staff was very nice, she was very helpful with any demands like extra blankets/pillows. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ips28
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you found your suite to be clean and comfortable. As well, it is great to read that our staff provided you with such great service and that you liked our hotel's location. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us....

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (90)
Viewed
Double Bed (29)
Viewed
King Bed (31)
Viewed
Queen Bed (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.3 km away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#25 of 36 in Carlsbad
328 reviews
7.0 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
5.1 km away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,007 reviews
7.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
1.0 km away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea

Address: 1050 Grand Ave, Carlsbad, CA 92008-1813
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Price Range: $142 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Extended Stay, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica San Diego-Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Extended Stay America Carlsbad
Extended Stay Carlsbad
Carlsbad Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
5 months ago
Minneapolis, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pets are allowed in ALL rooms (fleas) and be sure to ask for a non-smoking floor if they have one (ugh)!”
FemaleNavVet, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you want a quiet room, ask for top floor not to be on highway or pool side and ask that storm windows be lowered before you arrive.”
HelmetHead, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the pool”
Philipwhitehead, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“My first night was in a room next to a large freeway. I asked to me moved. The next room was very quiet.”
luannitalia, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For those travelling with small children, maybe request the bottom floor out of consideration for the below guest. We will next time.”
justapout, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$123* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$123
ExtendedStayUS$123
Booking.comUS$123
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates