We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
26600 Oliver Rd Highway 1 At Carmel River Bridge, Carmel, CA 93923-9219
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct and Save!
US$163
View deal
Free cancellation until 13/10/22
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.comUS$163
TravelocityUS$163
PricelineUS$179
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (315)
360
Panoramas (11)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Carmel River Inn
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 27 hotels in Carmel
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located at the entrance of the stunning Big Sur coast, Carmel River Inn sits amid a pastoral river setting, providing guests with a basecamp to the adventurous areas around them and the opportunity to truly enjoy the natural surroundings of the Monterey Peninsula. Carmel River Inn offers guests two different experiences, our inn rooms suitable for a good night's sleep or a cozy cottage to unwind and relax, tucked into 10 acres of gardens, forests and meadows. If you have any questions about our facilities or services please contact us and we would love to tell you more! Front Desk is open 24 hours. Pet fee is $20 per pet, per day. Physical Address: 26600 Oliver Road Carmel, California, 93923 Most accurate address to use for GPS directions: Highway 1 at Carmel River Bridge Carmel, California 93923
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Iron
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:Book Direct and Save!
1266Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 675
  • 354
  • 117
  • 77
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LoBla82 wrote a review 5 Oct
London, United Kingdom
We stayed at a cottage at the Carmel River Inn for two nights and absolutely loved it. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and made our check-in quick and easy. We were able to park our car right outside our cottage which looked as charming from the outside as it did inside. The interior is a little dated but had clearly been repainted recently and was tastefully decorated. What amazed us most was how spacious it was - big sleeping area with reading corner and fireplace, large bathroom with tub and separate shower, and another dressing/wardrobe area at the back with a kitchen nook that offered fridge/microwave and cutlery. Windows to all sides (and in the bathroom) offer plenty of natural light when you want it and are fitted with plantation shutters for privacy when needed. Through a door at the back you access your own little patio area with bistro table and chairs - as an alternative to the communal firepit with adirondack chairs at the front of the cottage. The landscaping throughout the property deserves a mention too as it reflects the Carmel vibe and flora. We genuinely could have stayed here for a lot longer than two days, we felt so incredibly comfortable and despite its location just off Highway 1 it was ridiculously quiet at all times. Top marks!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded yesterday
Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott S wrote a review Jul 2022
Chicago, Illinois8 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
(Note: This review applies only to the cabins, not the motel). If you're looking for an alternative to the lodging in downtown Carmel or Monterey, this is worth checking out. The owners have done a great job updating the cabins which are spread out across the property, and have managed to keep the charm of the original 1930's cottages, while updating them with current amenities. There are cabins which are designated as pet friendly, which was was great for my daughter, who was able to bring her two small dogs along. The cabins are a combination of both renovated existing units, along with new prefab cabins (equipped with both heat and A/C), which have been customized to some degree to fit the theme of the property. The cabin we stayed in was located at the east side of the property, and had a great private outdoor patio. There are individual parking spaces for each of the cabins. The cabin was equipped with only a fireplace for heat, but was more than sufficient to take the chill off in the morning and evening, and provided a nice touch. The bathroom was completely updated and clean. Options vary for different units. Our cabin had a wet bar and refrigerator, a coffeemaker, along with dishes and silverware, which was perfect for our needs. Despite doing a significant renovation, the owners have managed to keep many of the old trees intact, and are in process of doing landscape upgrades. While there was a little bit of traffic noise from Hwy 1 during the day, at night it was dead quiet, and in the morning we enjoyed the birds that congregated around the trees adjacent to our patio. There is a fire pit located at the east side of the property, which is a nice touch. A pool is located next to the motel office at the front of the property. You can also walk down a pathway to the Carmel River from there. Did not check the channel lineup for the TV service, but it seemed to be fairly complete. Also didn't have a chance to check the internet speed, but didn't have any issues downloading files. Like many other motels nowadays, linens and towels are provided as needed, and rooms are only made up every three days by request. A great place for families, with easy access to Hwy 1 and the Crossroads shopping center. (The only thing to note is that there is currently a bit of ongoing construction (mostly landscape work) taking place during the day, but none of it detracted from our stay).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The older renovated cabins are really great!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Thank you for your detailed feedback!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ambassador228364 wrote a review 5 Oct
Hello, We enjoyed our stay. I had stayed with you in 2017, also for "Poodle Day" weekend. The cottages have been updated since then, very nice to have a full sized shower! That said, in cottage 34, the shower head seems to be clogged a bit (hard water?) and it makes it spray out at strange angles. May need replacement. The best thing about Carmel River Inn? It is so nice and quiet! Had great sleep both nights. The front desk staff are A+, always willing to help and very friendly. We will be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded yesterday
Thank you! See you next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave wrote a review 4 Oct
8 contributions
Our stay here was good, the place is a little dated and our room had a bit of an odor, but nothing I couldn't handle. They have a nice little fire pit area, good place for a night or 2. Close to gas station and grocery, would consider trying a cottage next time, we stayed in the main hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded yesterday
Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy M wrote a review 3 Oct
Sacramento, United States3 contributions
Excellent place to stay for Poodle Day. Great cottages- some with kitchens. Granite pathways throughout the grounds with huge cypress trees. Friendly staff. Great coffee in lobby! Pet friendly- lots of poodle less in October. We try to come every year!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Watch closely for the turn to Oliver Road. A bit hidden.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded yesterday
Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
casperntn1 wrote a review Sep 2022
Roseville, California30 contributions20 helpful votes
OK,,,we stayed here for four nights the middle of september. our original cottage, #41, a studio with kitchenette, was one of the older units, but was well kept and roomy. except for the bathroom, which was incredibly small and very cramped quarters. however, we decided to give it a try, but on the morning of the third day, we went to the desk to see if there was possibly another cottage available. Michael, the manager, was TOTALLY understanding, accommodating, and professional regarding our request. fortunately, there was another unit available, one of the newer cottages and we switched to that one,,,#54,,,,WONDERFUL in every respect....location, size, amenities, comfortable bed, etc etc etc,,,,even had a small deck/porch with a table and two chairs which was great for morning coffee and an evening glass of wine. the room change was definitely a game changer and i would absolutely stay here again when visiting carmel. HATS OFF TO YOU MICHAEL AND THANKS AGAIN!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you!!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
onspithia wrote a review Sep 2022
Ashland, Massachusetts84 contributions57 helpful votes
So unhappy to check in and immediately looked at our cabin and it was run down and shabby. Opened the door and it was HOT inside and SO musty. Multiple windows, but only two had screens to get fresh air. Shower stall was super small, dark and cramped. Knew right away we could NOT stay here and we have stayed at countless motels and modest cabins in the past. This was NOT what we expected and sadly since we already checked in we had to eat the cost of a one night stay which was ove $300; insanely overpriced for awful accommodations. Would NOT refer anyone to this place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Room Tip: DON"T stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 1 week ago
​Thank you for your recent stay with us! We apologize that you had not enjoyed your stay with us and that we fell short of your expectations. We have quite a few different options in cottages, we are sorry you did not find the cottage you were placed to your liking. We will discuss your comments with our staff and management. Thank you kindly for your feedback!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lovely Ysanta wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
This is an amazing property, especially the cottages out back! Our favorite getaway from the Bay Area and all the best Carmel restaurants doordash to this location. We just booked an upcoming trip and Michael who answered the phone when we called was so helpful in getting us situated with the right room for the length of our stay. Thanks so much, Michael!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Get a cottage!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you!!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jody wrote a review Sep 2022
San Jose, California4 contributions
Cute spot on the south end of Carmel by the Sea. Private small well maintained cabins. Beds were comfortable. The grounds were maintained and clean, shower had good pressure and water was hot. The online photos does not match the actual cabin you are receiving. I thought I was getting a bathtub, and come to find out very few cabins have bathtubs. If that the case, they should remove that picture from the website, I find it misleading. This site has a pool and no hot tub. Front desk (Richard) was kind, and was very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great for people with pets, a weekend get away, couples, and families
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott R wrote a review Sep 2022
San Francisco, California54 contributions46 helpful votes
A simple Inn with basic rooms in a cute setting next to the river. They have rooms and cottages. The rooms are basic but have cute back patios facing the river bed. Clean, but the walls are thin. Check in/out was easy. Free coffee but no breakfast (Starbucks across the highway).
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Innkeeper SLH, Other at Carmel River Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$173 - US$215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
carmel river hotel carmel, carmel river inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyCarmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Carmel River Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Carmel River Inn?
Nearby attractions include Crossroads Shopping Village (0.3 km), Stephan Cori (0.3 km), and Spencer's Stationery (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Carmel River Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Is parking available at Carmel River Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carmel River Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rio Grill, Sea Harvest Fish Market & Restaurants, and R G Burgers.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Carmel River Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Carmel River Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Carmel River Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Carmel River Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tor House (1.9 km), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (0.9 km), and Perry House (7.5 km).
Is Carmel River Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.