We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Junipero Street Corner Ocean Avenue, Carmel, CA 93923
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$395
Hotels.comUS$395
TravelocityUS$395
PricelineUS$395
FindHotelUS$397
Trip.comUS$397
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (125)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (7)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 28/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 28/06/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 27 hotels in Carmel
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Getaway, formerly known as the Carmel Village Inn, has been fully renovated with brand new rooms and common areas to welcome you. Perfectly located on the edge of downtown Carmel on popular Ocean Avenue, across from Carmel Plaza and Devendorf Park, The Getaway is steps from shopping, restaurants and Carmel's beautiful white sand beach. We are dog-friendly and offer parking on-site, plus daily breakfast. Nestled in a pine forest above spectacular Carmel Beach, the one-square-mile village of Carmel offers endless opportunities for visitors. Highlighted by more than 100 art studios and galleries; numerous antique shops; hundreds of boutiques; and small intimate cafes and restaurants - Carmel promises many hours of discovery.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Breakfast available
Hiking
Outdoor fireplace
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
273Reviews10Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 222
  • 28
  • 10
  • 9
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Laureen S wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
I have stayed at The Getaway several times. It’s small, clean, classy and very accommodating. They have a wonderful handicap room with a roll-in shower that I find very convenient. Great small parking lot, so you don’t have to wrestle with street parking. Wonderful breakfast delivered to your room each morning, and the staff are very kind and want you to be comfortable. Highly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for the kind review, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything Carmel by the Sea and The Getaway had to offer. Thanks again for the kind words about our staff, we will pass this along to them as we love to hear how great they are. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
julias wrote a review Sep 2022
los angeles, ca133 contributions132 helpful votes
The hotel is cute, rooms are on the small side. Our rate was high season and it was not a good value. Location excellent for walking to dinner, wine tasting, etc. Room 19 is very loud as the room faces Junipero St. and the bathroom faces Sixth Ave. The hotel is located at possibly the busiest intersection in the area so you really hear cars from very early in the morning to very late at night. The windows are old and not double pane so you also hear people talking on the street below.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Avoid Room 19 as it is noisy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all feedback and will use this to improve the experience for future guests and we hope that you will join us in the future again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathy A wrote a review Aug 2022
Glen Ellen, California1 contribution
This place is so cute and clean. Nice fireplace and nicely decorated, you can walk to everything. The staff was so nice and helpful, nice breakfast as well. We would stay here again. I’ve been to Carmel many times and would definitely this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed everything The Getaway has to offer and the staff was great as well during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Customshelves wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
The Getaway is a great place to stay. Walking distance to shops and restaurants, bikes and beach blankets to use, and a great fire pit to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine. Room 2 has a private entrance off 6th!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway
Responded 25 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property. We look forward to having you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
April S wrote a review Aug 2022
Costa Mesa, California3 contributions
My young daughter and I stayed here on a trip up to see the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The Aquarium was very close, maybe 15 min. Everything in town is walking distance. Restaurants, shopping. Even a little market just behind the motel. Coffee, tea and water are always available in the lobby, as well as a happy hour. Parking is tight, literally, thw spaces are close and on a slight hill so that was always fun to maneuver in my mini van, but its free. The rooms are clean and include a small table and chairs to enjoy the complimentary breakfast they bring to the room each morning. I would definitely stay here again if we are ever in Carmel. Oh, the walk to the beach is doable, but the walk back is multiple blocks uphill. Great stay over all
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway
Responded 25 Aug 2022
Hi April, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit to Carmel by the Sea.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katharine W wrote a review Jun 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Our room was small but well equipped, nice bedding and toiletries. The down side was the room we were allocated had not much natural light. Room number 10 is tucked behind the stairs. We also faced into the cleaning cupboard so not much privacy with all the comings and goings with cleaners taking out their equipment to prepare the rooms. The biggest surprise of our arrival was the lady on the front desk. In stark contrast from all the happy greetings we had received during our trip around states she was miserable and decisively unwelcoming. We were pleased we were only staying 1 night.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid room 10
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway
Responded 12 Jul 2022
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your room, we hope that you will give us another chance and for your return trip, our team will work with you to make sure that you are in a room that has light and if possible placed where best suits your needs for your stay. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CraigM wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The room is nice. The front desk check in person was robotically polite and later in the evening was rude. Here is what you can expect, if you want to sit by the fire pit at your $450+ a night hotel — at precisely 11:00 pm they will tell you it is “bed time” and you are not allowed to sit outside anymore. They will take away the cushions, turn off the fire pit and tell you the police will “probably come and chase you away.” This is the treatment for adults who are quietly enjoying an evening on vacation. Is it true? Probably not. It’s probably just the treatment you get from a rude front desk attendant who wants to go home. But either way the experience is garbage. Expect to not enjoy yourself, even if you are a responsible quiet, mature adult.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t do it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Thanks so much for your review - Our outdoor public areas close at 10:30 pm as a courtesy for all the guests at the property. You have the option to sit inside our lobby till 11:00 pm, go to your room, or head into Carmel as there are some places still open past 10:30 pm that are big favorites of Locals and Guests. We thank you for staying with us and as a courtesy to all guests, we like to make sure the noise levels are low late in the evening. Safe Travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John F wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I had such an amazing experience at The Getaway in Carmel this past weekend. The service, the room, the amenities and location were all top notch! I highly recommend staying here whenever visiting Carmel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Thank You so much for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed the property and everything Carmel by the Sea has to offer during your stay. Safe Travels and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda H wrote a review Jun 2022
Magnolia, Texas9 contributions
We had the best time at The Getaway. Such a quaint little hotel. It’s in the perfect location walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and right by the beach. We loved all the little touches like bringing us breakfast every morning to our room and wine and cheese served in the evenings. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Happy Anniversary and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us while in Carmel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leanne B wrote a review Jun 2022
Highland Park, Texas91 contributions61 helpful votes
Rooms was nice , but for 700$ I would’ve expected ALOT better … yes it is high season I get that , but this was a total rip off. Not worth more then 300$ a night. The location is really great and it’s clean. The staff at the front desk are very unfriendly and unwelcoming ….. wish I spend my 700$ elsewhere!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chris Whitman, General Manager at The Getaway
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Thank You for your feedback and we will use your feedback as a training tool. We hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in Carmel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$354 - US$609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
carmel village hotel carmel, carmel village motel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Carmel Village Inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyCarmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Getaway
Which popular attractions are close to The Getaway?
Nearby attractions include The Cheese Shop (0.1 km), Ocean Avenue (0.1 km), and A.W. Shucks Cocktail & Oyster Bar (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Getaway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Getaway?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a fireplace, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at The Getaway?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Getaway?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Getaway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flying Fish Grill, Treehouse Cafe, and Dametra Cafe.
Is The Getaway located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Carmel.
Are pets allowed at The Getaway?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Getaway?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tor House (1.9 km), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (1.4 km), and Cannery Row (6.9 km).
Is The Getaway accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.