We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
SuperTravel
US$194
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/10/22
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
travelup.comUS$239
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (35)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (33)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Carmel Mission Inn
Updated 06/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#22 of 27 hotels in Carmel
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located off the Pacific Coast Highway and abutting the Barnyard Shopping Village, this casual hotel is 2.4 miles from Carmel By The Sea. The straightforward rooms have free Wi-Fi, iPod docks, flat-screen TVs and workspaces, plus minifridges and coffeemakers. Some add extra living areas and balconies. Room service is available. There's an on-site restaurant/bar with garden views that serves breakfast and dinner. Other amenities include a heated outdoor pool, a hot tub and a fitness room. Parking is free.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Hiking
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
297Reviews6Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 155
  • 60
  • 29
  • 32
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Margot L wrote a review 5 Oct
1 contribution
The hotel in itself was very nice. I was however very surprised and disappointed in how the staff handled our stay. This trip was meant to be a gift from a family member who had arranged this type of gift already three times with the hotel in the past month. At time of checkout the staff had us pay for our gift and I only hope we didn't double pay and they took advantage of an elderly person. It was a horribly embarrassing and uncomfortable situation as this hotel was out of our budget. The three staff members I talked to did nothing to try and correct this and I was not about to call my family member to confirm they would pay. That's just an awkward way to get a gift.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Lurie, General Manager at Carmel Mission Inn
Responded yesterday
So sorry that we put you in an awkward position. Our team is investigating what happened and will be reaching out to you shortly. Please accept our apologies. We do hope your stay was nice.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Breadmonkey wrote a review Aug 2022
West Wickham, United Kingdom11 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
First time in the States, staying with friends in San Francisco and doing road trips to Sequoia, Napa, Santa Cruz and Monteray. Stayed in a couple of airbnbs and a Quality Inn. This was the first place we stayed that felt up a notch and like we were on a relaxing holiday. Pretty, contemporary and with a touch of class. Staff were super friendly and helpful - particularly as we arrived late on a Sunday, hungry, with children, restaurants all closing early and needing vegan food options. They directed us to the Indian restaurant just behind the hotel, who were really accommodating and the food was great. Nice rooms. Enjoyed the pool. Had a drink in the evening around the firepit at the front. Would recommend to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Lurie, General Manager at Carmel Mission Inn
Responded 9 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for the kind review. We are so happy that you got to experience the Carmel area on your Road trip and hope you will return someday and tell all your UK friends. Safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jay P wrote a review Sep 2022
Newtown, Pennsylvania80 contributions6 helpful votes
We were passing through Carmel on vacation and this Inn didn't disappoint. It is modern, clean, and a short distance (5 minute drive ) from the downtown village. The rooms were great and well appointed. There is a large restaurant in the motel, but we only got coffee there. Only complaint---in this day and age, there should be a freebee coffee bar in the lobby instead of having to go into the restaurant and pay for a cup to go.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Lurie, General Manager at Carmel Mission Inn
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you chose Carmel Mission Inn during your visit. Although we do not have free coffee in the lobby we do have high quality organic coffee (Tayst) and tea (Bigelow) in the guest rooms that is free.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborah D wrote a review Sep 2022
Columbus, Ohio8 contributions
I stayed for 4 days along with my sister and my mom and we loved every moment at Carmel Mission Inn. Our room overlooked the beautiful pool area and we had a balcony. We thought the hotel decor was lovely and fresh (the lobby smells terrific) and our room was cool, clean and comfortable. However it was the people we met that made the biggest impression. Our server in the tavern, Elizabeth, was a gem. We got to meet the fabulous Chef Brooks - try the short rib french onion soup, you'll thank me - we spoke with the GM David Lurie and learned about the history and plans for the hotel and had the pleasure of Manager/Server/Overall Awesome Dude Joseph's company a couple times when we dined there. Overall we had a terrific experience and it meant alot to all of us as we were celebrating a milestone birthday and took months to plan this trip. CMI and staff made it a truly special vacation and we will be recommending them to anyone staying in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Best views are facing pool - rear of hotel faces parking lot and a shopping area.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Lurie, General Manager at Carmel Mission Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was so nice to spend some time with you and get to know you all. We know you have many choices when coming to the Peninsula and so glad you chose us and your experience exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your return to Carmel soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simsational66 wrote a review Sep 2022
13 contributions7 helpful votes
The boys and I were on a golf getaway and spent one night at the Mission Inn and we could not have been happier. The staff was great as well as the guests. We had a blast playing Corn Hole with some guest's The rooms were great. Big pat on the back to Angel our server at breakfast. Hands down the best server we had during our week in the area and 3 of those days were spent at Pebble beach. Thanks Mission Inn will definitely return. Cheers 🍻
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Lurie, General Manager at Carmel Mission Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the kind review and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly pass on your big pats on the back to Angel she is fantastic and an inspiration to all of us. We look forward to your return to Carmel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindgurn wrote a review Sep 2022
Pleasanton, California11 contributions5 helpful votes
I booked through Expedia and apparently the fact I was traveling with a dog did not get passed along. It was a problem signing in to find a pet friendly room. We ended up in a handicap room right next to the automatic sliding. The door opened and closed many times during the night right on the other side of our wall. It was impossible to sleep. Also I realize there was a $75 pet fee but on top of that another $50 cleaning fee. My dog slept in is crate and was probably neater than most. Anyway, the room was less that average and the location was horrible. Never again. Even the property did not look like the fotos.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: dont stay in room 125 if you want to sleep
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Lurie, General Manager at Carmel Mission Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
So sorry you are correct. When booking through Expedia there are pet friendly rooms. If you did not book that room type we would not know that you are bringing a pet. In all case we upon arrival we will do everything to accommodate you and your pet. Yes there is a pet fee of $75 but not a cleaning fee. The $50 is a deposit authorization only that will come off your credit card approximately 3 days after your departure as long as you did not have any last minute incidental charges. Again, please accept our apologies for us not meeting your expectations and hope that you will give us another chance.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marc L wrote a review Aug 2022
Long Beach, California1 contribution
The hotel manages aggressive and rude. I had an air conditioning issue. It did not work. This manager can not be worse. This may not make it impossible to stay at this hotel, just hope that you do not need anything from anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Lurie, General Manager at Carmel Mission Inn
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Hi Marc, so sorry for your experience with the air-conditioning in your room. My team informed me about the incident and as I understand we were sold out that night so we moved you the next day and credited your account $210. Our team is extremely customer focused so I will review your comments with them as we know you have many choices when visiting our area. Our apologies and we hope you will give us another chance the next time you are visiting Carmel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1969Traveler wrote a review Aug 2022
Tulsa, Oklahoma14 contributions9 helpful votes
This is a darling hotel. Friendly staff. Has an open and airy feel... almost reminds one of a retro (but higher end retro) 1960's era California or even tropical motel. We came in at night, without a reservation, with the kids and just needed a place to lay down for a little bit and rest after having driven down the coast all day from San Francisco headed to LA. Staff let us go view a room before deciding to stay. Thankfully, it was lovely. I would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Lurie, General Manager at Carmel Mission Inn
Responded 29 Aug 2022
Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Troddie wrote a review Aug 2022
West Sussex, United Kingdom56 contributions30 helpful votes
Where do I start - we stayed here 5 years ago and I really liked it so when we returned to California this year the Mission Inn was an obvious choice for our Carmel stop. We arrived and the front desk was busy, the lady could not find my reservation (I had booked through Booking.com about 6 months previously.) Eventually she found my booking (!!!??!!) and we were allocated a room. I booked a standard double Queen - the room we were allocated was on the ground floor with a bush covering the entire front window - the room felt like a dungeon. I returned to the reception to complain and was provided with another room - this had slightly more light (not hard) but still resembled a prison cell. I returned to reception and complained further and was told there were no other double queens available. I asked to speak to the manager and was told she was not there. I know Carmel is expensive but I still expect to get value for money. This hotel is a remodelled motel but with boutique hotel prices (I pay less for a room in Manhattan!) We went out and when I returned I asked to speak the manager and surprise surprise she was there (contrary to what I had been told.) I explained my issues and we were moved to a new room on the first floor. What a difference- the room was modern, bright, spacious and overlooking the pool - lovely! If we had been allocated this room in the first place our stay would have been very different. So the pluses to this hotel 1. The pool area is lovely 2. The communal areas/lounge etc are nice 3. Situated at crossroads with shopping and restaurants facilities. 4. Short drive into centre of Carmel. The service is not great. On our last night we had a drink in the bar - the first time we went to the bar the server was friendly and engaged in conversation. I did not tip (I stood at a bar and was served a drink - no table service.) The second time the bar tender barely said two words and shoved the bill across the bar. So would I return - no. Although once we were moved the room was lovely and the stay improved if you stay here it is too much of a gamble depending on what room you get.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Lurie, General Manager at Carmel Mission Inn
Responded 5 Aug 2022
Thank you for your feedback. I have review this with our team and we have put together an action plan to address the service issues you experienced as this is not the norm for us. As we have some new team members at our front desk we are spending more dedicated daily training time with them on customer service and the same in our restaurant. This is not the experience we would ever want you to have. We continue to look at ways to upgrade our rooms and our services and hope that you would give us another chance on your return to Carmel. Please reach out to me directly so that I may assist you with your next reservation and also thank you in person for your feedback. The information you provided will only make us better and we appreciate you for being honest with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
989mollys wrote a review Aug 2022
Danville, California2 contributions
We have stayed at CMI several times and have enjoyed ourselves. I made a reservation using my United Miles and they gave us a room that was UNINHABITABLE. Small,dark room (425) by the elevators and the loudest ice machine. It sounded like we were in a wind tunnel. We called to get another room, offering to pay more but was told the hotel was fully booked. We were told by Essan that he would contact Expedia and my miles would be refunded. (I have this in writing from him).I called the hotel and they are taking no responsibility in contacting Expedia/United Hotels. BEWARE...Dont get stuck with the rooms on the backside of the hotel. Our room number was 425. This room should not even be an option for anyone to stay in. The good thing is that we left there and had a great stay at the Quail Lodge. Highly recommend it. Large , clean and quiet rooms. Friendly and professional staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from David Lurie, General Manager at Carmel Mission Inn
Responded 2 Aug 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We did refund your room but have no access to refund miles. We certainly hope you will give us another chance when you return to Carmel.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$223 - US$360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
carmel mission hotel carmel, carmel mission inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyCarmel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
165
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Carmel Mission Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Carmel Mission Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Barnyard (0.1 km), Steven Whyte's Sculpture Studio and Gallery (0.08 km), and Crossroads Shopping Village (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Carmel Mission Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Carmel Mission Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Carmel Mission Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carmel Mission Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include From Scratch Restaurant, Rio Grill, and SUR at The Barnyard.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Carmel Mission Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Carmel Mission Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Carmel Mission Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Carmel Mission Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Carmel Mission Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Carmel Mission Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tor House (2.1 km), San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo Mission (1.0 km), and Perry House (7.1 km).