We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hideaway

0.4 km from Carmel centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921
Offers & Announcements
Book Now For Winter!
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Hideaway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 235: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came down for a pre- Valentine's weekend and were very impressed with the property, the service and staff and location. Unfortunately, the reviews we read about how noisy it is are all too true. The first night there was a pretty bad domestic disturbance upstairs and when we called the front desk, we were sent to an answering service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bunky415
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

I apologize that you weren't able to have a peaceful and relaxing time with us. Unfortunately there are times when people are not considerate of others. I hope that you will return and allow us another opportunity to provide you with a wonderful stay. Thank you

San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved our short stay at the hideaway. Big spacious room, nice fireplace which helped a lot because it rained :) The breakfast and wine in the lobby was simple but great space. We wished we could've used the bikes they had available but with the rain we couldn't. Perfect location to walk to almost everything downtown. Would definitely come...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank moniquestinson1976
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Monique I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It would have been even a greater time if the weather would have cooperated. You have a great reason to come and take a bike ride along the beach and really enjoy what Carmel has to offer. Thank you

West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Romantic, cozy, lovely. Fireplace in room made things nice and toasty. Very helpful, friendly front desk. Delicious breakfast, excellent choices. Great location, close to downtown and the beach. I only wish there were smart TVs and coffee makers in the rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerryg78
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Kerry I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Between our breakfast, team members and our location we have a lt ot offer. I'll be sure to pass on your kinds words to our staff. We are looking into the room amenities that you have mentioned. Thank you

Menlo Park
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellently located with well designed rooms. The courtyard was inviting with its fire pit even when it rained! The lounge with its inviting fireplace and well balanced breakfast that reflected seasonal ingredients gave our mornings the perfect start to a wonderful couple's getaway.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Paula I'm really happy that you enjoyed your property. The courtyard is great place to sit back and relax (even in the rain). Our breakfast is wonderful meal as we use fresh produce and eggs and we shop 2 to 3 times a week. I hope you come back soon. Thank you

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on our honeymoon road trip up route 1. The rooms are decent, clean, nice decor. The lobby is nice and they have a wine reception in the afternoon, coffee/tea all day, and a pretty good breakfast. The service was fine, nothing spectacular or super warm/nice (this stood out to us because we stayed in six different hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany G
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Tiffany I appreciate you taking the time to provide this valuable feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the accomodations and meal services. I do apologize for not providing you the level of service that you should have received. I will share your comments with staff. I do hope that you will find your way back and visit us again. Thank...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I chose this hotel because of the look of their courtyard and rooms. I loved the fire pit surrounded by cozy seating. It was the perfect place to unwind with the complimentary wine and cheese provided. The bed was extremely comfortable and I loved the large shower. The location of the hotel is slightly off the main streets so it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marolyn L
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Marolyn I'm glad you you chose our property. It is a great place to kick your feet up and relax. Our location does add to the appeal. You can get anywhere you in a 5 minute walk. I hope that you will be returning soon. Thank you

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been staying at, what is now called "The Hideaway" for over 20 years - It was called the Cobblestone Inn and had many owners over those years, who kept the charm but with each change did little or nothing to update rooms, sorely in need. The current owners, part of the Plump-Jack Group, had the vision to beautifully,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MCBW5875
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi I'm very happy that like the results of the renovation and that you will be returning to see us again. I will check and see what happened with the breakfast presentations. We added some new main dishes last year in order for us to rotate them daily so you aren't served the same thing daily. I apologize for this...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location. However, be aware they don't have their own parking just street parking which fills up fast. Try to get to breakfast early otherwise they run out of the good stuff. It was a dog friendly hotel so that's a plus...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U2379GUbrianw
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi Brian I appreciate you taking the time to respond. I do agree with you that parking can be a challenge at times for our guests. I will check into our breakfast operation, sometimes there is a slight delay as everything is freshly prepared. I do hope you will return soon. Thank you

Menlo Park, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Super location and effortless stay. Parking could be a bit more accommodating like reserved spots so you know you can park nearby. But we ended up always having it so that ended up not being a problem.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 521dinag
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi I"m glad your stay was relaxing. I agree that some designated parking would be a wonderful amenity. We are trying to get it but it is a challenge. I hope to see you back soon. Thank you

Medina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This inn has a everything you need for a weekend getaway. The fireplace warmed us on a chilly night and the outdoor fireplace kept the embers glowing until late at night. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this to friends and family. A++++

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bestfriends1018
Roy C, General Manager at The Hideaway, responded to this review

Hi I'm really happy that you had such a great time with us. Our firepit is a great way to spend the evening. We would appreciate your spreading the good word about us. Thank you

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
793 reviews
0.3 km away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,100 reviews
1.8 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#10 of 25 in Carmel
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.2 km away
Lamp Lighter Inn & Sunset House Suites
0.7 km away
Carmel Country Inn
Carmel Country Inn
#3 of 26 in Carmel
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are excited to introduce The Hideaway - re-imagined, rebranded and redesigned to perfectly complement the charming beachside community of Carmel. The 24-room boutique Inn recently underwent a massive redesign and now features sleek, yet comfortable interiors and an updated courtyard. Formerly the Cobblestone Inn, The Hideaway, is just steps away from the beach and downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hideaway

Address: Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Price Range: $326 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Hotel Carmel
Cobblestone Inn Carmel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hideaway staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Toronto, Canada

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Hideaway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“corner suite on the ground floor that was great because of three windows.”
 of 5 bubbles NancyVancouverCanada, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not - go elsewhere....”
 of 5 bubbles JohnC722, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We chose a second floor room. No view though. Windows are THIN, beware.”
 of 5 bubbles TiffanyG870, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I think rooms on 2nd floor rooms would be quietest. We had Room #10 which is tucked away in corner of patio on 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles gypsyheart23, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I liked being on the second floor. The room next to us had more space and some better views- it was a mini suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Dreamgirl013, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5