We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Highway Inn Chula Vista

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Highway Inn Chula Vista
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Cleanliness could be better. Nice people and lively and helpful staff. The smiles made it happen. As I was waiting two young children provided assistance behind the counter with amazing attendance to detail.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jude R
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

Thank you, we are in an older building and we have very large rooms, we are in the midst of making some changes, we appreciate the heads up about the cleaning staff and will forward this on.

Reviewed 13 September 2016

I just want to share my experience about the Highway Inn at 70 Broadway, Chula Vista, Ca. 91910 I booked the hotel last minute, but that doesn't excuse the disgusting mess the room was in when we arrived. We got to the hotel at 9pm after a very long day. When we checked into our room, we had to stand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shauna G
J P, Owner at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

I am so very sorry for your experience and I will forward this over to the owners ASAP! There is no excuse for this type of customer service again, I apologize.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I checked into this place, once I was able to get into the room which said "No Smoking" of course the room smelled like smoke. The carpet was filthy, ants all over the sink, the furniture is old, the phone doesn't tell you how to contact the front desk, so you have to walk down there. Water is running everywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jcassanelli
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback, we are in the midst of looking into renovation.

North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

I can not believe that this kind of garbage is still operating. It was our last place for the early morning arrival in San Diego from LA. We paid $81 for supposed bargain price. Better places like Super 8 we only paid $65 with taxes. The key card did not work. The attendant had to re-program 3 times. I need...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jan M
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and will forward this to the owners.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 14 July 2015

We were in town for Comiccon and all the other hotels were ridiculously expensive, so we booked this hotel for $738 for 3 nights, which for the quality of the hotel was absolutely ridiculous. For one, I believe the rooms are rented, like an apartment building. For two, I didn't feel very safe, but that's not what this review is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Haley11213
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

We appreciate the feedback, we rent out the rooms daily and do our best to keep them clean, sometimes we have this happen and it happens at all types of hotels we do we do our best to check the rooms and we have already handled this problem, we have inspectors come regularly and I am very, very sorry that...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 23 February 2015

I will let the reader decide their opinion after reading the facts. On Sunday, February 22, 2015, my wife and I checked out of this establishment after a two night stay. We stayed there because it was the closest place available to be near a friend we wanted to visit who was not in the best of health. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

Yes we are a limited service budget hotel, which you were aware of prior to booking, we are very sorry that our hotel was not what you expected. We are not responsible for lost items, we did our best to find what was lost and we are very sorry that we were not able to find them. When you called...

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Due to 4th of July there was no reservations anywhere. I booked 5th of July at 11:45 p.m. And checked out at 11:50 p.m July 5th this place is gross and I would never recommend it to nobody, I payed $141.00 and they wouldn't refund my money. Very disappointed, had to drive back home for another 2 hours tired. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Juan A
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was not what you expected, This is a very limited budget hotel and as far as the prices we raise and lower them with fair market value of what is happening in San Diego and the season. We do however clean the room after every use. We cannot refund money if there is no way...

Twentynine Palms, California
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I suppose for a motel I shouldnt expect much but this place wasnt very good at all.Just pulling into the parking lot i wanted to leave.This place looks like a run down motel from a horror movie.The outside is really dirty and against the motel was the overflowing dumpster with a mattress leaning against it.That was just pulling into the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William B
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments, since this review this hotel has been updated and we do have some new staff, which has undergone additional training on customer service.

San Diego, California
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I booked this place for my dad on Friday night, because there was NOTHING available in San Diego due to a convention. When we got there, the "front desk" was a sketchy window with the staff behind glass, there was a mattress propped up on the outside of one of the rooms, the carpet in the room was stinky, everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YvonneSD
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

SInce this review, we have updated our rooms and we are more aware of our room cleanliness and customer service. Thank you for your information.

San Jose, California
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I have stayed here on multiple occasions across a several year span. The prices are very reasonable, staff is always attentive to my requests. Rooms are clean, not modern by any means but clean none the less. As far as safety, your in Chula Vista not La Jolla, I've always felt safe.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review

We are updating this hotel and we thank you for your feedback.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
1.0 km away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
512 reviews
0.7 km away
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
#12 of 20 in Chula Vista
46 reviews
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#5 of 20 in Chula Vista
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
2.9 km away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Chula Vista, this motel offers a 24-hour front desk, wake-up call services and on-site laundry facilities. Our guest rooms at the Highway Inn Chula Vista are air conditioned, We have Cable TV with HBO and Microwave and fridge are available on request. Our motel is closed to many attractions including the Seaworld Aquatica and Coronado State Beach. The Westfield Plaza Bonita shopping center is within a 5-minute drive from the Highway Inn Chula Vista.We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highway Inn Chula Vista

Address: 70 Broadway, Alpine, Chula Vista, CA 91910-1422
Region: United States > California > Chula Vista
Price Range: $88 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highway Inn Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Highway Inn Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Highway Inn Chula Vista staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay