We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
See the most recent reviews
Showing 121: English reviews
Montana City, Montana
Reviewed 27 July 2014

When you get off the interstate... this hotel is actually behind a gas station and car wash.... The room was very spacious and nice. Staff was helpful. Close to a few casinos that are very large. Which if you are into gambling is awesome.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pansy77th
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am glad you found us, yes I agree we are little hard to find tucked away from the main street, yet our location is close to all that San Diego has to offer, such as Casinos and other attractions. I am so glad you found our rooms to be spacious and nice along with helpful staff. I...

El Paso, Texas
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I made the mistake of booking at the last minute and arriving too late near sunset. Hotel lobby was spotlessly clean and the young man at the desk was professional and helpful to point out when the breakfast hours were. While in the parking lot I noticed some questionable characters at the nearby car wash. I had asked the gentleman...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eldorado M
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear M. Thank you for kind words, we appreciate your comments. I am so glad you enjoyed you stay and found our staff to be pleasant. I am sorry about the odor in your room and from the air conditioning unit. I will make sure it is cleaned and taken care off for our future guests. I am glad you...

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Was in town for my nieces wedding and this is where she booked us. I was a little concerned because when you talked to them on the phone they didn't seem very friendly and i got different answers, however this was just the opposite in person. They were very friendly and helpful and accommodating as I arrived very early before...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeanna l
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Jeanna, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. I glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found your room to be very clean. Our housekeeper will appreciate this comment, they work very hard to keep these rooms clean. Our housekeeper usually puts two sets of towels in a king room and four sets in room...

Visalia, California
Reviewed 16 July 2014

San Diego was booked full and just felt luck to find a room. The cost was a little high for the quality of the room but when any hotel is down to the last few rooms and every body is booked I am glad it didn't cost me more

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OBailey2014
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. I am glad you found a room during a very busy time in San Diego. In July due to demand for rooms in San Diego the rates tends to go up, specially if there is a large convention during July. To get the best bang for the buck it is...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The front desk personnel and the management needs some customer service training (actually they need a lot if it). Just after I checked in to the property I observed a couple being evicted because they were trying to ask for a room that was not right off the stairway since they had a small baby who awoke easily. After the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 337bobb
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Bob. Thank you for giving us your feed back. It is not our policy to evict guest because they want to change the room. I am sure there was a misunderstanding if would like to discuss this please call me at the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found our room be large clean and comfortable....

Yuma, Arizona
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I dont normally complain but this was a little out of ordinary for me as i have been to many hotels/ motels. 1st we attempted to check in early as we try to do at most hotels/motels i stay at. We were treated rudely and told you can never check in early maybe this is their policy but the way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Bill, Thank you for giving us your feedback, I am glad you found your room to be nice clean and comfortable. I am so sorry the front desk could not check you in early. We have 5 different room types at the hotel, if you heard the housekeeping saying room were clean most probably they were not the same...

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The manager is one of the blunt, rude, and unwilling person I've encountered in quite some time. I spoke to him on the phone 3 times and every time it was the same. I've worked in this industry and know that this hotel did the bare minimum to retain their econolodge name. I don't care about flat screen TVs but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 1mnwlfpk
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry you felt I was rude, frankly I don't even recall speaking with you. You mention the hotel charges $10 per extra person and does not offer breakfast. This is false. we do offer free continental breakfast to all our guest. To exceed guest expectation we go above and beyond by offering more items than required...

Brawley, California
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our room was huge (handicapped room) and the bathroom very accommodating to anyone who might be wheelchair bound. It was right off the freeway although it is sort of far out of downtown San Diego if that is your destination. I would recommend they extend the hours of breakfast to 10:00 am for those who sleep a little later. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Charlene, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our room to be large, clean and comfortable. You will be happy to hear we have made some changes to our breakfast offerings by adding, make it yourself hot waffles, this has been a big hit. We hope to see you soon again. Thanks Chetan Patel

Seattle
Reviewed 8 April 2014

In our haste to book what we thought was a centrally located and cheap motel - easy to access downtown San Diego and the golf courses we would be playing. We left after one night. Where it missed - area seemed suspect, room had that harsh, musty smell, location turned out not be convenient. BIG plus to the staff who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustOverPar
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and giving us feed back. I am glad you enjoyed our service, however I do apologize for the smell in your room. I wish you had brought that to our attention, we would have been able to fix it for you. We have many golf courses within 15 minutes drive, I guess...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Rooms were wonderful. Stayed for 3 nights price was great and so was the service. I only wished they had a little better breakfast. desk was always helpful anytime we asked questions was very handy to main freeway although further from MCRD than we thought

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robin K
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review

Robin, Thanks you for comments. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree we offer great room at reasonable rates in exchange for a short drive to all San Diego has to offer. We get many visitors attending graduations at MCRD and SDSU. Once again thank you for your comments, and we hope to see soon...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
0.2 km away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
1.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
#4 of 14 in El Cajon
135 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Continental Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego
6.7 km away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 14 in El Cajon
152 reviews
4.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Santee Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Econolodge Inn & Suites, El Cajon Hotel, where you’ll experience an intimate, casual atmosphere with personalized service, contemporary amenities and customer-oriented features. Whether you’re here on a relaxing getaway vacation or an important business venture, you’ll appreciate our peaceful ambiance, hospitable service and convenient location without spending a fortune. Our friendly, professional staff ensures that your stay will be a memorable and relaxing experience. This El Cajon hotel is near all the attractions and activities that make this place such a fun destination. If you are looking for a hotel near fun things to do this hotel near San Diego Zoo is the perfect location to stay. We are also located within miles from Knotts Soak City and San Diego SeaWorld. Offering comfort and convenience to business and leisure travelers, this El Cajon Hotel offers value with cozy accommodations, amenities and easy access to restaurants, shopping and local area attractions. We offer our guest a more affordable room rate with luxury & friendly services. Relaxing Retreat, take a dip in our private, crystal clear swimming pool. Econolodge Inn & Suites will ensure your family a comfortable and relaxing stay. We offer plenty of room options and features especially designed to serve families traveling together. We welcome you to our hotel, and hope you enjoy your stay. Make your family vacation more attractive to Southern California - treat yourself to the Econolodge Inn & Suites. Choose this El Cajon Hotel for your travel needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

Address: 588 North Mollison Avenue, I-8 Exit Mollison Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92021-6143 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Region: United States > California > El Cajon
Price Range: $84 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson El Cajon/San Diego Area Hotel El Cajon
Super 8 El Cajon
Super Eight El Cajon
El Cajon Super 8
El Cajon Super Eight
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Management takes just about 2 months to respond and I have questions. First, I will not accept your apology 2 months later. You had your chance at the time of arrival. Next, I will dispute your attempt at an explanation as it is not even close to what really happened that night. 1) If someone needed to extend their stay, they would have given you ample notice. Even if last minute (check out at 11), I arrived at 6PM. The bed should have been on the premises long before I arrived. 2) If this was true, why wasn't I informed by the front desk clerk that this was happening. If I was told this was happening, maybe I wouldn't have been upset. 3) I spent 2 hours on the phone with Corporate Customer Assistance as they worked to get me into your hotel after another hotel couldn't handle the bed issue. See items 1 and 2 and I ask again, with Corporate Customer Assistance working with me to get this solved, why wouldn't you tell them that you had an issue with your last known rollaway. 4) When Corporate Customer assistance called back the next day, they were not informed of this solution, yet you want to stay with your version of what happened. 5) You state I left the premises before you could get the bed from another hotel.......again, see all notes above where your front desk showed not an inkling of care as to whether they could/would/should share any information with me.

So, bottom line, please do not try to paint yourselves as a misunderstood hero when during the whole process, you were the villains.

I will not give you a second chance (as you really had it already when Corporate sent me back to you and was still treated badly), or a third or any other chances. First impressions...........especially in the business world.

NOTE: I did enjoy someone's comment that you should "dress professionally in order to get a clean room". Nice..........

over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles sunburnt_curt, 10 Nov 2015 | Read review
“King room with sofa sleeper can sleep 4. Upstairs rooms are quieter, less people noise.”
 of 5 bubbles redbeemer, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Find another place....just be careful if you do have to stay here”
 of 5 bubbles londons2015, 4 May 2015 | Read review
“We stayed on the 2nd floor which is always a plus for less noise. At this hotel staying second floor mid parking lot so your not to close to the pool would be best.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnC971, 17 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Book early (at least 2 weeks) before arrival. And use your choice hotels card for free nights.”
 of 5 bubbles JRGerry_Champagne, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5