We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cedar Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,904 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cedar Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,218: English reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here as part of a road trip booked through virgin. Rooms dated, staff not really interested at check in/out and wifi chargeable. On the plus side, location excellent and barman a really great guy- friendly and explained what can be seen in yosemite. Unfortunately we knew about the history of the place which concerned us a little (security seems...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Clembo81
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently returned from a trip to California and spent a few days in Yosemite. We had hoped to stay inside the park, but we are a family of six and couldn't find reasonably priced accommodations that could fit our family. We opted to try the Cedar Lodge, which wasn't cheap at $188/night but reasonable for our family size. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fourkids4us
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My review is from the point of view of a teenage girl so if you're traveling with teenagers hopefully my review will be helpful to you. We stayed in Cedar Lodge for 2 nights straight after staying at THEhotel - Las Vegas, so obviously our opinion was somewhat distorted before we'd even check in. Overall I guess the word to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thesugarpeachfairy
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I really like Las Vegas too. All of our 2 queen deluxe rooms and rooms with Kitchens and Junior Suites and King Spa rooms have coffee makers. Our standard rooms do not . We hope to have coffee makers in all our rooms this year. Thanks Colleen

Cannock
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have just paid a another visit to Cedar Lodge and received the usual warm welcome from Geoff & Susan Wych. They are alsways very helpful and nothing is too much trouble and are willing to help out in any emergency. The accommodation is first class, the rooms being adequately furnished and comfortable. The meals are excellent. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter H
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Cedar Lodge is one of the closest hotel value if you're visiting Yosemite Valley (the Yosemite View Lodge is 10 minutes close but a lot pricier; the Tenaya Lodge is closest to Yosemite's South entrance, a good 40 minutes away from the Valley). Just stayed a couple of nights in the junior suite and was happy enough that I...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ALTippet
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We do have rooms with flat screens, but you are right not all of them yet. We are adding more. We just recently added some new sofa sleepers too. We look forward to your return stay to see our other improvements. Thanks Colleen

Fleet Hampshire
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Cant argue with the price of the room. Poor service from reception staff. Restaurant was average and expensive, but the only local option. Indoor swimming pool was great. Hotel is outside El Portal, and about 10 miles from park entrance. Good cheap accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeyMG
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We will make reception our top propriety to improve. We look forward to your return visit. I will let the owner of restaurant know about your review. Thanks Colleen

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We booked to stay here for three nights (only made it for two nights as there was a road closure and we had to sleep in the car overnight....a long story.Will try and leave details elsewhere on Trip Advisor). We were umm-ing and ahh-ing over Yosemite View Lodge over this one. Am so glad we went with the Cedar Loadge...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Olives333
cedar002, General Manager at Cedar Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I'm so glad you have a good stay. We Just received a new shipment of magnets with different price ranges. We hope to have you stay with us again. Thanks Colleen Griffin Manager Cedar Lodge

Lake Hughes, California, United States
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The location is good, less than ten minutes from Yosemite entrance. It's nice that it has an indoor AND outdoor pool, plus and indoor jacuzzi. The food from the bar & grill was really good, but the restaurant's was not great, and extremely overpriced, even with the $4 salad bar price added on to everything, the salad bar was poor...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leigh N
Berkeley, California
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I booked a room for two nights in Cedar Lodge, but due to a car accident could not arrive on time, so I was late one day. I called to the hotel right after the accident to ask them to move my reservation to one day later and they said that they could easily do it. However when I arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria K
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This is a motel campus, 6 buildings of rooms plus a gift shop, indoor and outdoor pools, restaurant, bar & grill, and many bear sculptures spotted around the property. There is a Yosemite Regional Transportation System (YARTS) bus stop on the property so you can get to Yosemite Valley by public transportation if you choose. (You can also take YARTS...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anne A

610 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (516)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (144)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (171)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (93)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (1)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (8)
Viewed
Private Pool (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Standard Two Queen (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
24.2 km away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,562 reviews
24.0 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
26.3 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Big Trees Lodge
Big Trees Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
1,998 reviews
8.0 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,534 reviews
13.0 km away
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Cedar House Restaurant
Cedar House Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge

Address: 9966 Highway 140, PO Box C, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Price Range: $116 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Hotel El Portal
Cedar Lodge Yosemite
Cedar Lodge El Portal
Cedar El Portal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cedar Lodge staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Boulder, Colorado
Leek, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Glendale, California
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Cedar Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is scenic all around ... maybe the room facing the heated pool could add more value.”
 of 5 bubbles RanjanGoenka, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a queen room with two large beds for two of us - very spacious and beds were comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles GardenerCook16, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Because of the location I would say all rooms are quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Sals1701, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Recommend waiting to visit Yosemite until you can stay in National Park accomodation”
  • unclean bed linen
  • trash left outside my door
  • Filthy carpet
  • unclean bed linen
 of 5 bubbles PJF842, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Donʻt stay at this hotel. Too expensive for the crummy room you will get.”
  • Peeling wallpaper in bedroom.
  • Old water damage along one wall in bedroom.
  • Peeling wall paper in bathroom.
 of 5 bubbles katebE3910AU, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay